We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the good reviews are true!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bozeman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 12 Bozeman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Coast Gal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All the good reviews are true!”
Reviewed July 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Howler's Inn as part of a summer cross-country trip. We'd heard Bozeman was a great place to visit, so we put it on our list. Bozeman is great, but the highlight of our trip was certainly Howler's Inn. We stayed for three nights. After traveling the country from the East Coast (and staying in B&B's all of the time) I can confidently say that Howler's Inn ranks as the best we experienced. Mary-Martha and Chris are very warm and friendly, so much so that we remarked to family, "it feels like we're staying with old friends!" That being said, one should note that the owners live on-site. If you don't like the experience of sharing common space with owners and other guests, or if you prefer a B&B that is more like a hotel (hands-off owners; limited face-time with other people) then this may not be the accommodation for you. We enjoy the aspect of talking with other guests, so staying here was just wonderful. The breakfasts are delicious and the rooms are beautiful and comfortable. (I should add that I appreciated hand-made soaps and shampoo provided!) We stayed in the Western room and reveled in our top-notch view of the mountains and the wolves. And, ohhhhh, the wolves are fantastic. Howler's Inn is truly a unique, yet at the same time, familiar place to be. We have already made plans to return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlove2081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
211
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at Howlers at the end of our Yellowstone holiday , we only stayed one night but it was a memory we will not easily forget. When we arrived we were given the guided tour of the lovely house by Mary-Martha who is a very warm and genuine host, and then offered a glass of wine as we asked plenty of questions about the wolves who are obviously the stars of the show! The wolves are very well loved and well kept and we even had the chance to hold the young cub who had just recently arrived at the sanctuary. Our room was clean and spacious with a large cozy bed overlooking the wolves enclosure, my husband heard them howling during the night which is why we wanted to stay, so that was great. The location was also gorgeous and not far from town. I would love to stay here again the next time we are in Montana, what a find!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LooseMooseDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2009

This was the Best place we could have ever imagined to stay in Montana, especially since we have a 6 year old daughter! Not only is the place child friendly, the owners have young children of their own that are polite and played well with my daughter. The Rec room downstairs was good for the evenings after playing all day at Big Sky, Moonlight Basin or Yellowstone National Park! The Howler's Inn is not too far from anything, if you are willing to drive and experience the beautiful scenery of the Montana Mountains. Mary Martha's Breakfast's were INCREDIBLE! I couldn't wait for breakfast every morning- Spiced pancakes with lemon maple sryup to Orange French toast with powdered sugar etc. Every breakfast was delicious and a hit for both me and my spouse. Also, Mary Martha, the owner, would allow us to use her oven to cook pizza's for dinner if we didn't feel up to going out for dinner every night. The Howler's Inn was so accomodating to our every day needs! My daughter was also especially fond of the Wolf sanctuary there at the Inn! The howling of the wolves at night is really cool! Not irritating at all, if you are worried about that! We just got home late last night, and I already miss the inviting atmosphere at the Howler's Inn, it was as though it was a "Home away from Home" but without the worries and ALL the Relaxations of a resort! I really miss Mary Martha and her good natured spirit! We can't thank them enough!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookiescrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2008

This is what a B & B should be. A wonderful, beautiful, peaceful place where you are, indeed, treated like family. Very comfortable accommodations, great breakfasts from Mary-Martha, a glass or two of wine in the evening-just get the whites from the fridge, truly part of "the last best place". I sure expect to return!

In winter, if you are "antsy" about possible snowy driving, stay in Bozeman...otherwise, 20 easy minutes from Bozeman, 20 from Livingston, 15 from Bridger (ski area).

  • Liked — Overall comfort and ambiance
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights during a 10-day vacation that included Jackson Hole and Yellowstone. Bozeman, Montana is a pleasant, scenic drive just over an hour from northern Yellowstone, so we worked it into our trip.

When I heard about the Howlers Inn and read all the wonderful reviews from guests, I knew it would be a memorable place to stay ... and it was!

The inn is a charming place with a spacious front porch and clean, cozy and comfortable rooms. The owners are personable and engaging hosts. Mary Martha prepares breakfast meals that are delicious and filling. You won't be hungry for lunch. Matt the Cat is their friendly and entertaining pet who will show you to your room, but he doesn't go in the rooms. And of course the wolves are a very special attraction.

It was interesting to learn about the wolf pack and the personalities of the wolves. We pulled up chairs to the windows in our room and watched them for hours at twilight. I highly recommend the rooms that overlook the wolf enclosures if you're here to enjoy the wolves.

You will definitely enjoy your stay here! There's nothing not to like.

A final note: I'm from New Jersey - where one town flows into the next - so I will add that this place is a little out of the way (although pleasantly so). It's maybe a 15-minute drive on the highway to get to Bozeman in one direction and Livingston is 15 minutes the other way. You're not walking distance to any restaurants or stores ... just the serene countryside.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Route31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

The Howlers Inn is a lovely property, outside of the downtown area of Bozeman, about halfway between it and Livingston. The property is beautiful, with mountain views. Each night, when we went into Bozeman for dinner, we saw deer grazing in a field just past the inn. At the time of our visit (August 2008) there were two wolf pens, one housing two pups, and the other for the six adult wolves. Our room, the Western, was nicely appointed, with a comfortable king sized bed, and good views of the wolf pens. We had a jetted tub, and nice amenities, such as the robes in our large closet. The sound of the wolves howling outside our window each day will not soon be forgotten. Because we faced the wolf pens, we were able to get many good pictures. You can also walk around the pens to see the wolves. The kitchen window is another good viewing spot. We spent two nights, and it was one of the the highlights of our trip. Chris and Mary Martha are gracious hosts who make you feel comfortable and want you to have a good time. They have many good suggestions on what to see and do in the area. Breakfast was prepared by Mary Martha, and it was delicious. In the evenings, you may choose to have a complimentary glass of wine, and to sit on the porch enjoying the peace and quiet. All in all, it was a wonderful experience, and we highly recommend it!

  • Liked — The wolves
  • Disliked — No air conditioning, but the weather was cool when we visited
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dvdcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

Howlers Inn is a great B&B! It's located in a pristine, rural area between Bozeman and Livingston, and an easy drive to either town. We stayed three nights in the Western Room, a large, beautifully decorated room overlooking the wolves in one direction and the Bridger Mountains in the other (still snow-capped, which was really neat). Our room had king bed, comfortable oversize upholstered chair, huge closet, twin vanity sinks, and a jetted tub. We saw the other rooms in the Inn, and believe you will be happy with any one you choose. The views are amazing from the Inn, and the wolves - what can we say? They are beautiful animals and it was so interesting to watch them. We were lucky enough each day and night we were there to hear them howl, which was very haunting and melodious. Chris and Mary-Martha are wondeful hosts and really care about the wolves and the B&B. The breakfasts every day were creative and delicious. We highly recommend Howlers Inn. Thank you Mary-Martha, Chris, and family for sharing it with us.

  • Liked — Wolves, views, room, breakfasts.
  • Disliked — Nothing - everything was great!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jjw.jmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
10.2 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
18.3 mi away
Gallatin River Lodge
Gallatin River Lodge
#8 of 31 in Bozeman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
10.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
11.5 mi away
My Place Hotel-Bozeman, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary

Property: Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Address: 3185 Jackson Creek Rd, Bozeman, MT 59715-9659
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience. Visit a beautiful log home B&B with wolf sanctuary set on 42 acres near Bozeman, MT. All rooms have a private bath and mountain views. Some rooms overlook the wolf enclosure, home to five wolves, offering an up close opportunity to enjoy their singing and antics. Children of all ages welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing