We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tour highlight”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bozeman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 12 Bozeman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family of 4 (including our 2 older teens) spent 2 nights at Howlers Inn just prior to Christmas and our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. The spectacular location set against the backdrop of snow covered Bridger and Absaroka mountain ranges, yet an easy drive to Bozeman, Livingston and the northern entrance to Yellowstone was perfect for our needs. We opted for the 2 bedroom, self contained Carriage House which was a pretty, cozy and very well appointed haven to come back to after a day out in the cold weather. Our son made good use of the home gym and DVD collection in the evenings. Chris and Mary-Martha were very welcoming and informative about the areas attractions and places to eat out. The well cared for wolves were a fantastic additional attraction. They are magnificent animals and fascinating to watch with their individual personalities and their pack behaviours. How lucky we were to be able to get up so close to observe them as the wolves in the Lamar Valley proved to be quite illusive or were too far off to be easily seen. We would definitely recommend Howlers Inn to family and friends.

Room Tip: The Carriage House is very private and gave us space to relax. The shower unit is quite small and ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 414 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

Bozeman was our first stop on a 10 day long road trip. We wanted something remote but not too disconnected. We were living in San Francisco and were craving peace, quiet & nature. Howlers was the perfect place to start! The drive out there is so lovely. The house is cozy, warm, clean & tastefully decorated. Mary Martha and Chris are very nice people and super accommodating. We loved our room- The Southwest. Nice big cozy bed! Our window overlooked the wolf sanctuary & we enjoyed watching them play in the morning. I also got some great pics of them from there. We spent one night and enjoyed one breakfast there, which was delicious. They also have a recreation room for guests which I had never seen at a B&B before. I highly recommend this place. We had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We love our stay at Howlers Inn. The wolves are amazing and very well cared for. Our room was great, we had a fantastic view of the wolves from our window. Breakfast was very yummy and we were made to feel very welcome. The Inn is not very far out of Bozeman and on the way there we also stopped at The Grizzly Encounter to see the beautiful bears. Great choice for a quiet weekend away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I took three 12 year old nephews to Montana and stayed at the Howlers Inn. What a great experience for all of us! We enjoyed the wolves, the mountains, the proximity to Bozeman, Livingston and Yellowstone. Breakfasts were yummy! The hospitality of the hosts was second to none. We highly recommend Howlers Inn. I know we will return!

Room Tip: The carriage house worked well for us--private and room to spread out. The boys found a lot to do o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricial43501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We enjoyed this delightful bed and breakfast. It was fun to watch the wolves and the conversations with our hosts and other guests were interesting. Next time we are in the Bozeman area we would certainly plan to stay here again. It makes a good base for exploring the region and is not too far from Yellowstone National Park.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Can't say enough about Howlers. Room was great comfortable and decorated nicely. Remote but easy to get to location. Great to wake up to hear bugeling Elk, coyotes howling and the wolves howling. Brfeakfasts were wonderful. Wolves on site and can walk down to the enclosure which is large. Can watch them get fed in the evenings and the interaction between them and the owners is wonderful. Mary Martha and Chris were great hosts. Very relaxing environment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of October. Due to a scheduling error (mine!) we were only booked for one night, but, thankfully, Mary Martha & Chris had an opening for our second night. We had chosen the Western Room and I would definitely recommend it. Gorgeously decorated, it overlooked the wolves enclosure and we had great fun watching them. The second night we stayed in the Carriage House, which, with two bedrooms, a living room and a full kitchen, would be great for a family.
Views are terrific from any window. The B&B is located about 15 miles outside of the city, and a great spot from which to see the Bozeman area without being in all of the noise and crowding you'd find in the heart of the city. At night we could hear the wolves howling...what a delightful sound!
There is a path to walk around the wolves' enclosure and see them up close. On our second night Chris was inside the enclosure feeding them. We chatted for a bit and a couple of the wolves came up to the fence to meet us. I asked if it was OK to pet them and Chris said sure. What a thrill! One loved having his ears scratched, and even turned around to give me his other ear to scratch! Another just leaned against the fence and seemed to be saying "ahhhhh" as I scratched his back. Definitely a once in a lifetime event for me!
Breakfasts were delicious and, due to an early departure flight, Mary Martha prepared us a terrific earlier than normal breakfast on our last morning. It had snowed during the night and from her kitchen window we watched the wolves in the snow. She tossed them some food from the kitchen window and, as I was taking photos of him, one gave me a look as if to say "more, please". I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B-RTravelers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
11.3 mi away
MountainView Lodge & Suites
11.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Bozeman
Comfort Suites Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
370 reviews
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Springhill Suites Bozeman
10.2 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
669 reviews
18.3 mi away
Gallatin River Lodge
Gallatin River Lodge
#9 of 31 in Bozeman
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary

Address: 3185 Jackson Creek Rd, Bozeman, MT 59715-9659
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bozeman
Price Range: $105 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience. Visit a beautiful log home B&B with wolf sanctuary set on 42 acres near Bozeman, MT. All rooms have a private bath and mountain views. Some rooms overlook the wolf enclosure, home to five wolves, offering an up close opportunity to enjoy their singing and antics. Children of all ages welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing