We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing !”

Montana Grizzly Encounter
Ranked #4 of 62 things to do in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Montana Grizzly Encounter is a grizzly bear rescue and educational sanctuary.
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing !”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We drove from Calgary just for this & we were not disappointed. We are big fans of nature & loved every minute with the bears! We stayed for about 4 hrs. the 1st day & came back the next day to visit Lucy for a couple hours. The whole experience was very overwhelming & emotional !! The bears are so happy & very well loved by their caretakers. It was exciting to watch them play, find & eat almonds,swim,& just act so cute!! It was nice to actually meet Brutus the famous bear!! Would definitely go back! I hope their gala/fundraiser was successful (Aug.10 ) We had to leave for our 8 hr. drive home so couldn't stay long. Would have liked to meet Casey Anderson!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    81
    35
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small venue, but fun”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Cool place. Definitely worth the $7 for admission. Small venue with single, but large, enclosure to view grizzly bears. We got to see Jack and Maggie during feeding time. Fun stuff. Good for kids. Informative guide told us about their backgrounds, habits, and the care they receive. Best opportunity to see bears.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank urfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We'd read about Grizzly Encounter on Trip Advisor, and we made a special effort to go there to watch the bears. It's east of Bozeman, and only 1-2 bears are out at any one time. But your admission fee is good for 2 days, so you can return 3-4 hours later and observe another group. While that seems a little odd, we enjoyed observing bears behave as you might find them in the wild, so it was a good find. There is always someone available to explain the bears' behavior, and most of the admission fee goes toward care & feeding of these very interesting animals. Our favorite bear was Maggie. (She & Jake took the 12-3pm shift.) She is one clever bear!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well loved bears”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Only 10 minutes from Bozeman. One viewing area with two bears out at a time. You get great pictures and you are within yards of these beautiful creatures. The owners are very knowledgeable and clearly care a lot for the welfare of these animals. Spent about 45 minutes just watching them play and swim.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelCT354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Most Active and Healthy & Happy Looking Bears I've Ever Seen Not in the Wild”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very glad we decided to visit Montana Grizzly Encounter on our cross country trip. The bears are fascinating to watch, especially since bears Lucy and Brutus played together actively almost non-stop during the time we were there, and though you are safely outside their enclosure, you feel as though you are only a few feet away.

Great, great photo ops of the bears in a very cute habitat. Close enough for a tiny Canon Power Shot Elph to take pretty nice photos. SLR would have gotten superb shots.

The bears seemed genuinely happy and looked very clean and well kept - almost as if they had been groomed. Bill was very informative and personable, conveying much information with a humorous wit. Sometimes after seeing animals in a zoo or other facility, you leave feeling bad for the animals or guilty for having visited. Although small, this is NOT that kind of place!

We enjoyed ourselves, wished we could have stayed longer, were glad for the opportunity to view safely such magnificent creatures so up close, and we would definitely return if we are ever in Bozeman again. It's a cute little place with a reasonable fee that bear lovers will be glad they found.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RealFussBudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana Grizzly Encounter also viewed

 

Been to Montana Grizzly Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing