We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went once, never came back”
Review of Watanabe

Watanabe
Ranked #98 of 237 Restaurants in Bozeman
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: This is a small Japanese restaurant on west Main street in Bozeman. The food, service, and atmosphere are great, I have eaten here many times and always left happy. I think the sushi is much better than the other touted sushi restaurant in Bozeman.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a small Japanese restaurant on west Main street in Bozeman. The food, service, and atmosphere are great, I have eaten here many times and always left happy. I think the sushi is much better than the other touted sushi restaurant in Bozeman.
Bozeman
Level Contributor
141 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Went once, never came back”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

One visit is probably not the basis for a fair review. But the soup was watery and the other items just didn't appeal to me. Prices seemed a bit high for the look of the place. I probably won't go back.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BozemanTrudeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese Served With Pride”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I eat at Watanabe's once a week. I usually go with family or for business. I find the food and service at Watanabe's to be excellent. Mr. Watanabe is usually in the kitchen every time I go in and he always comes to greet us and ask how the food was. I am fond of the Ebiten Udon or the tasty Shrimp Yakasoba Noodles. The Shrimp and Vegetable Tempura and the Curry is also quite good-as is the sushi.
I have Japanese relatives and friends that I have brought in for lunch and they always find it very good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WayOutWestMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

After a long drive finding Watanabe was like a gift. The miso soup was just as my mother makes it (she was with me and is from Japan) and delicious. We don't care for mayo in our sushi but there wasn't any problem asking for a change. The nigiri unagi was wonderful. I also had the gyoza, which was crispy (we make ours fried and steamed) and made a tasty appetizer. We had other sushi and enjoyed them as well.

The waitress was extremely friendly and came by enough to tend to our needs. Service was quick. It is clean and neat.

I'm positive I would frequent this place if I lived anywhere near Bozeman.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple and Tasty”
Reviewed March 6, 2011

My spouse and I eat here often and have never been disappointed in the quality of the food. I love Watanabe's sushi and udon noodles; my husband loves all the vegetarian options. We are now regulars.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tfg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
“Great food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed November 22, 2010

The sushi at Watanabe is very good, and I love their tempura. They are always friendly and food comes out relatively quickly. The location isn't the best and the focus is definitely on food, not atmosphere, but the food is great. The selection of Japanese cuisine is amazing considering it's Bozeman, and everything I've had there has been good. Where else can you get a nice hot bowl of real ramen in Bozeman?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank owlie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Watanabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing