We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay you Bozeman peeps listen up!!”

Starky's Authentic Americana
Ranked #5 of 239 Restaurants in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At Starky's, you'll find the handmade foods you crave that nourish and satisfy body and soul, the community connection that energizes, and the appreciation of our staff for your visit. Visit us in Historic Downtown Bozeman for lunch, happy hour, and dinner or come enjoy an ice cold beer or glass of wine on our large outdoor patio! Vegan and Vegetarian menu items are available daily.Thanks for being here... eat, drink, gather, at Starky's.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Okay you Bozeman peeps listen up!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Starky's has THE BEST calamari fries we have EVER eaten! Not the little chewy, tough rings...I'm talking small drumstick sized pieces of the best white meat you'll ever eat!! They are served with sliced pepperoncini and capers. And if you go between 4-6pm for happy hour they are almost free!! Stark's "happy hour" menu has a great selection of items that are "over the moon" delicious...you could have an early dinner on the appetizers alone!! AND to top it off we had a huge scoop of homemade vanilla bean ice cream...yes I said homemade...and carrot cake that made us glad we saved room. (We took part of our dinner home in a bag so we could have coffee and dessert!!) Our thanks to Kyle, too, for the phenomenal service. 5-Star evening all around!! Did I mention they make their own bread and pastries, too??

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DianaF1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    101
    33
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Our Visit to Starky's 3/8/2013”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Kathy, my wife and I visited your restaurant Friday night 3/8/2013. I will give you 2.5 stars out of 5 for the following reasons:

1. The waitress was very sweet, but she didn't bring us waters until we asked. I saw her bring other tables water, so ???
2. The spring roll appetizer was very cold in the middle. We asked for her to take it back and bring us another hot one. She or the the kitchen staff forgot and it never showed up. I finally had to ask the waitress about it when dinner arrived. She apologized and took it off the bill.
3. My wife asked for extra black beans for her $9.50 salad (which contained no meat!!!). The salad came with few black beans. Very expensive for what was received at the table.
4. Halfway through the meal I asked for a second beer. The waitress, again, forgot. I had to ask her about that too and then she went and obtained the beer.

I think my wife and I have reasonable standards of quality and service. The restaurant didn't deliver. Frankly I'm surprised the place was busy with the quality of food and service we received. The waitress was the red-head who graduated about 3 years ago with a degree in photography, if that helps you figure out who she is. I felt very bad, but I gave her no tip for the above reasons. I would recommend you take a look at your staff and food...in a competitive market you have to be at the top of your game!

Thanks

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarkysBozeman, Owner at Starky's Authentic Americana, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hello, you may remember me, I did speak with you at your table about the mistakes that happened during your visit to Starky's and appreciated your willingness to be specific. For all the hard work we put into training and managing, sometimes things do not go as planned for every guest. As you mentioned, we were slammed on a Friday night for a reason, we try hard to deliver great food and great service and Bozeman knows that they can rely on us for a great night. Once in a great while, a server can have an off moment or the kitchen can make a mistake. We apologize that unfortunately, a few of those happened to ruin your dinner experience with us. We have already convened a management review and have posted this review in our kitchen and with the servers. We try our best to do what's right including our commitment to the community, our staff and our guests. We hope that you when you return to Bozeman, you may come again and experience why we are so busy! Best of Luck to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches, service and THE BEST Cookies!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I love this place for lunch, it has very unique sandwiches, something for everyone. I love thier new service to the tables, used to be you would walk up and order, but now they wait on you and they added beer and wine. They have outside seating for summer which is really great. They have the best cookies in town. It is my "go to" place when I am in Bozeman.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Always a delight, though I miss the chicken and waffles. Had their Cuban Rueben last time and the crab cakes the time before both very good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarkysBozeman, Owner at Starky's Authentic Americana, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks, Shelby! It was our pleasure to create food for you and we are thrilled you enjoyed Starky's. We are thinking about revisiting the chicken & waffles, so many people did not understand them, but we are glad you did! Keep posted for new and exciting dishes coming this spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
“Standards of excellence”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Starky's is great!! The food is amazing and the staff are excellent. The owners are always at the door ready to greet and seat you, as well as take the extra effort to come around and strike up a conversation as well as making sure your food is perfect. The wait staff are quick, efficient, and also provide great customer service. I eat here regularly and one day on a large lunch rush I wasent able to be seated immediately. My usual waitress ensured I had a drink while I waited and to my supprise had my order ready for me just as I was able to get a table even though I wasent seated in her section!

I have tried almost everything on the menu, and this is a place that you can close your eyes and drop your finger on something and you will be sure to enjoy it. My favorite are their hamburgers, they are the best in town! They are seasoned perfectly and bring out a great flavor, nicely sized, and very juicy. Their sweet potatoe fries are excellent and come with a great dip that adds the perfect kick!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JakeM59718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starky's Authentic Americana also viewed

 

Been to Starky's Authentic Americana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing