We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Cafe

Western Cafe
Ranked #16 of 234 Restaurants in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located in downtown Bozeman.
Arizona
Level Contributor
155 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“So good...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Terrific family breakfast restaurant with reasonable prices, generous portions, and excellent service. The Bobcat special was delicious, especially the cinnamon roll French toast. Easily recommend. Don't let the modest exterior deter you from going in...The food and service are well worth it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TomL911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    44
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alamosa, Colorado
1 review
“Great place to stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I had researched this cafe on trip advisor before we left. When we got there, the other 9 people with me did NOT want to go in. Moral of the story, never judge a book by its cover. The food was fantastic and the prices were very reasonable. It was almost closing time, and they welcomed us in and got right to work on our food. It was a short wait. It was a great experience and my family was all glad they went after all. Also, a big shoutout to our waiter, Bryan (with a Y). He was very friendly and did a super job of serving us all. Thanks Bryan and Western Cafe!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaylene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walden, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Favorite Breakfast Place in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Western is timeless! Such a great little cafe with amazingly huge cinnamon rolls, and the usual cafe breakfast and lunch items. Gets a little crowded sometimes, but that's part of the enjoyment.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MountainMom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A Great Old Time Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place is the read deal. I had heard about it for many years but my wife and I finally went in for breakfast. I guess I had the mistaken idea it was a "greasy spoon" type of place. I WAS WRONG! The place is very rustic and down home, and the staff is super friendly. And what a deal!

You want to go in with a big appetite. For 7 or 8 bucks try their special for the day. The waitress will keep the coffee coming. OJ is big and relatively inexpensive compared to most places. And it is premium OJ.

For a great breakfast in Bozeman, I would rate the Western and the Nova as the two best places in town. The atmosphere is completely different at each place though. For a down home, Western atmosphere with great food, you just can't beat the Western Cafe!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank xckier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLOTTE
Level Contributor
117 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cafe & Owner must be southern.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

This breakfast café was a hit right from the start. There were waiting lines in every restaurant we check and finally after arriving at the Western we took a seat at the counter. The owner-manager, (can't remember her name)was really friendly, served us coffee and continued to come by to chat when possible. I told her she was so friendly I believed she was southern. The eggs were done right, the bacon very good, and the home-fries filling with large portions. For a good restaurant I recommend this café. Please identify the owner and give her my southern hello.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TARHEEL37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Western Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing