We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great educational experience”

Museum of the Rockies
Ranked #1 of 61 things to do in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Museum of the Rockies at Montana State University is a Smithsonian Affiliate, recognized as one of the world's finest research and history museums. It is renowned for displaying an extensive collection of dinosaur fossils, including a T. rex skeleton! MOR delights visitors with changing exhibits from around the world, permanent indoor and outdoor regional history exhibits, planetarium shows, educational programs, insightful lectures, benefit events, and a museum store.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great educational experience”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Well organized and informative exhibits. Very interesting for adults and children. Excellent planetarium shows. Extended daily hours make it easy to fit this into your day. Entrance fee gives you two days of visits, which is great, as there is much to see.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank akuaSaintPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    804
    255
    61
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinosaur exhibit & the rest was great too!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We toured the homestead (pumped water, poured on the gardens), watched a blacksmith making a chain, saw a 'Dynamic Earth' planetarium show, then a cool exhibit on the history of Montana with some interactive displays that the kids really enjoyed (identifying different objects), learned a lot about geckos, and of course we spent a lot of time in the dinosaur exhibit. I've seen dinosaur exhibits in NYC and Washington DC and though this one was smaller, it was every bit as good (or better) because of the way the information is presented. It's very user friendly and more interactive (for example, what did scientists learn when they found a set of leg bones? Why do scientists think dinosaurs were warmblooded? Why are birds considered dinosaurs?). Rather than simply showing bones or even skeletons, this museum did a great job of explaining what scientists learned by studying those bones. There was a clever Yellowstone room that's really intended for younger kids, but mine liked it anyway. Tickets are good for two days but we only were able to spend about three hours. We'd certainly return if we're back in the area someday -- and would recommend it to others as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaMinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“MOR”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Great collection of dinosaur fossils, they have an area for traveling exhibits that is always interesting. They have a pioneer section that is also interesting. Have made a visit every year I make it to Bozeman.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sagamore73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Level Contributor
282 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Dinosaurs !”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Rooms and rooms filled with dinosaur exhibits. Children's play area with lots of replica dinosaurs. Planetarium with several shows. Living farm outside with large garden and live characters in period dress

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ninetyninevette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just the right size, and deep!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Very helpful staff started our visit off right. Informative and varied planetarium shows (e.g. the local night sky, detecting neutrinos, dynamic earth); my 9-year-old son could not get enough of them. Brilliant and interesting dinosaur exhibits. Informative section on early settlers and Native Americans. Temporary exhibit on geckos was fascinating and well-designed. Nice interactive area for kids as well; I thought it would be more appreciated by a younger crowd, but my 6- and 9-year-olds enjoyed it. Would definitely return on a future trip.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the Rockies also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the Rockies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing