We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great traditional place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Bozeman
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“great traditional place to stay”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

It was great pleasure to be back at the L&C motel in downtown Bozeman MT. No fancy chain motel but a proud owned family business for many years. The did a lot on redecorating and refurbishing. The lobby is wonderful. Lots of people who come in for a chat from all across the US. The have a great wine tasting in the afternoon with snacks, bites and tea if a sip of wine is too much. If you want a real taste of the non-chain American family owned business you stay here and not one of the Interstate chain motels which are very very boring. This place is getting better every time I visit it. Walking distance from down town and local grocery stores. It's a 15 minute drive from BZN airport so ideal for a late check in. Very helpful and friendly staff and owner (Lisa).

Room Tip: Take an upper level room for great sunsets and sunrises in early morning. Great mountain view. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    66
    24
    12
    29
See reviews for
56
65
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The rooms are absolutely terrible! There were two different types of rooms booked with the group I was with that stayed at this hotel/motel within the past two weeks. One of the couples had their dog with, so they got a 'pet room'. The pet room somehow cost less than our room that we stayed in (just a regular double queen bed), and was in better 'shape' than the room we stayed in. Our air conditioner didn't work, the rooms are completely outdated for the price (the cost of the room was almost $200 for a night!). It was ridiculous! When we went to complain about the ac not working, the one employee at the front desk even admitted that they wouldn't stay at this hotel/motel! I don't know how this place has an overall rating of even 3.2 stars. The only good part was the location, it was an easy walking distance from downtown.
The lobby was the nicest part of this whole place, it's super deceiving. Would never go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bozeman hotels

Madison, WI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I loved this place despite all the quirks I am about to describe. But I'm the type of traveler that tends to avoid big chains when possible and experience local culture. This might not be the place for you if you're just traveling through and just need a quick sleep near the Interstate.
This place was fun and hilarious as soon as we drove up to it...the big neon Motel sign, the 1970s style 3-story motel architecture, and the cluttered lobby with all sorts of local products and knick-knacks surrounding seating areas that included couches, desks, a dining table, and a lemonade bar. There were maps, puzzles, and a slot machine, to entertain the lobby-goer. Be sure to try the huckleberry ice cream!
The rooms are campy and look like they haven't been updated since the 70s...it feels like sleeping at grandmas house. Nevertheless they are comfortable, and have everything one needs (AC, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, etc.) The best part was the amazing view of the mountains; the room's sliding glass doors open onto the continuous balcony running in front of the rooms where the view can be enjoyed. The local food Coop is next door, and historic downtown is just a 10 block walk down Main St. The main downside of this motel definitely is the out-of-date rooms, and the non-existent breakfast, but its made up for completely if you're up for a quirky, retro experience in the middle of one of Montanas coolest towns. Note: The rooms vary quite a bit...some more updated than others, so check a few before choosing one!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank orchidbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a delightful stay with Lewis & Clark. The comfortable, inviting lobby, the complimentary breakfast and the other amenities alone would be sufficient to make this motel worth the price. The world class customer service we experienced at Lewis & Clark was extraordinary and made this one of our favorite places to stay. When making reservations over the phone I mentioned that we would be coming in from Seattle that day on our way to Yellowstone. It would be our son’s 10th birthday and he would be spending the entire day in the back seat of our family SUV … not a great way to spend any birthday. When we arrived at our room he was welcomed with an amazing custom painted Star Wars themed mural on the glass doors announcing his birthday. Inside our room were other signs and special “coupons” just for him. He was completely surprised and made this a birthday he will never forget. The Lewis & Clark have life-long loyal customers who will stay there anytime we need accommodations in Bozeman. THANK YOU!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

On our way out of Yellowstone, we needed an easy, affordable place to stay! Lewis and Clark was perfect.

The checkin girl was BEYOND friendly and helpful. The room was basic, but clean and much bigger than expected. Free wifi and very fast speeds. The beds we're clean and VERY comfortable. The AC unit was effective too. Continental breakfast and coffee with homemade bread was a nice touch. Smiles all around the whole time we were here.

I'm not sure where some of these reviews came from, but I wouldn't be scared to stay here!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mab45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I really wanted to give the place a chance, so a few of the little details like the sink knobs coming off, a dirty hair drier, the mirror on the door almost falling off and the age of the decor were overlooked. But after a night of sleeplessness and finding out the bed I wasn't in had a huge hole in the comforter... HEARING EVERY NOISE FROM EVERY ROOM AROUND ME as if they were in my room... the piano playing all night.... pillows that feel like you are sleeping on lumps of rocks and a bed that I assure you was far more than 10 years old.... NO ONE SHOULD SUFFER THROUGH THIS PLACE.... THE END. Go out of business, close your doors or update your motel. THE END!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here last week for MSU graduation. i was happy before I saw our room-The location next door to the Co-Op and right near downtown was perfect. The lobby was full of interesting collections, puzzles, a lemonaide bar, fresh snacks, and a B&B vibe. However, when we got to our first room on the third floor my jaw dropped. It reeked of mildew, the wallpaper was curling off the walls (it was a mustard yellow velvety 1963 sort of look), the bed was 18 inches off the floor and collapsed in on each side in the shape of a body, thin dingy covers on the beds, carpet torn and tattered, and DIRTY. I called and asked if they had another room and the sweetest clerk was able to help us move to another room that had a new bed and TV at least. I still cannot fathom that the grout between the tile in the bathroom could be so dirty. All they need to do is clean it with some bleach!!! My gosh!!! I used towels (old thin and dingy towels) as a rug bc I didnt want to stand on that floor. Bc it was grad weekend, the town was booked, so we sucked up the 159$ a night price. Sleep was difficult as I heard every conversation on each side of our room and every step above us. In the end, I was so horrified with myself bc I didn't check trip advisor before booking our rooms there....never again.

Room Tip: renovated rooms are slightly better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yotrustman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
0.4 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal 7 Budget Inn
Royal 7 Budget Inn
#24 of 31 in Bozeman
151 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bozeman
Hampton Inn Bozeman
#7 of 31 in Bozeman
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman

Property: The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman
Address: 824 W Main St, Bozeman, MT 59715-3359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewis And Clark Hotel Bozeman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing