We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay elsewhere!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Bozeman
Truckee, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stay elsewhere!!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here last week for MSU graduation. i was happy before I saw our room-The location next door to the Co-Op and right near downtown was perfect. The lobby was full of interesting collections, puzzles, a lemonaide bar, fresh snacks, and a B&B vibe. However, when we got to our first room on the third floor my jaw dropped. It reeked of mildew, the wallpaper was curling off the walls (it was a mustard yellow velvety 1963 sort of look), the bed was 18 inches off the floor and collapsed in on each side in the shape of a body, thin dingy covers on the beds, carpet torn and tattered, and DIRTY. I called and asked if they had another room and the sweetest clerk was able to help us move to another room that had a new bed and TV at least. I still cannot fathom that the grout between the tile in the bathroom could be so dirty. All they need to do is clean it with some bleach!!! My gosh!!! I used towels (old thin and dingy towels) as a rug bc I didnt want to stand on that floor. Bc it was grad weekend, the town was booked, so we sucked up the 159$ a night price. Sleep was difficult as I heard every conversation on each side of our room and every step above us. In the end, I was so horrified with myself bc I didn't check trip advisor before booking our rooms there....never again.

Room Tip: renovated rooms are slightly better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yotrustman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    66
    24
    12
    29
See reviews for
56
65
28
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Your first impressions of this motel might be negative, but definitely give this establishment a chance! They have a great breakfast in the lobby. They are also centrally located to almost everything in Bozeman. If you desire a 'college bar' vibe, you can just head across the street to what the locals call the 'Barmuda Triangle'. There are three bars of equal individuality. One being a dive bar with local music, another that is more for cheap drinks and good music, and another that has quite a few gambling machines and a plethora of pool tables. All of these establishments have low prices and decent bar food. There is also a Community Co-op right across the street on the west side of the building. They have a deli, great natural and organic food, and when it's nice out you can sit out on their deck and drink a beer! The only odd thing about this motel are the glass sliding doors for an entrance. You have a thick curtain for privacy, and it does a great job of keeping the light out if you want to sleep in. Overall just a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTgolfer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Timber
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Glass doors do not give much privacy. Needs a renovation. Wallpaper peeling from walls,fixtures dated. You can hear everything your neighbors do and say. Bed was great seemed like it was new. Next trip to Bozeman I will have to try a different place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigtimber14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed four days at the Lewis and Clark and found it somewhere between satisfactory and good. The location is great - on the edge of downtown, close to the university and, best of all, right next to the Community Coop Organic food store and deli! Easy to walk over for a snack or a meal.

I wish I could give it a higher rating because the staff is very nice and helpful, and it is a friendly, local landmark, but it is a bit run down. The furniture in the rooms is old, the carpets worn, and the paint peeling a bit. But, having said all that, I would stay here again. My room was clean and they provide good coffee and a fresh fruit salad with homemade banana bread in the morning. The "lobby" is an eclectic mix of collectibles, nicknacks, potted plants, and silk flowers.

If you don't need modern and new, for the price and location, this is a good place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestCoastGreengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Booked LC motel on short notice due to the positive reviews and was NOT disappointed! The staff is amazing, especially the owner, Lesa! The lobby is like a museum that you can browse for hours. The morning banana bread is to die for. The rooms are quite comfortable, and I slept like a baby. The location is perfect, so close to downtown Main Street. We will stay here again! Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Butch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is the first hotel that I have ever stayed at with sliding glass doors to each room which is really a little strange. Our first room was pretty bad with non-functioning heat and very dated decor. In the second room, the heat worked and the decor was better, but still very worn. The banana bread and fruit salad for breakfast tasted great, but that was the total extent of breakfast. The lobby is incredibly cluttered so you don't know whether you are entering a used furniture store or a hotel. It was fairly clean, but very worn bathroom door and bathroom fixtures. There should be better choices in Bozeman to consider if staying there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBiz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bozeman hotels

Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying here a few times and it may be a little 'dated' but it has character. Great for any locals in the area looking for a night out on the town within walking distance to main street. All rooms I've stayed in have been clean and service is friendly. The lobby kinda reminds me of my grandmas house but, that's part of the charm!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for one of their newly remodeled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayaMonatana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
0.4 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal 7 Budget Inn
Royal 7 Budget Inn
#23 of 31 in Bozeman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bozeman
Hampton Inn Bozeman
#7 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman

Property: The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman
Address: 824 W Main St, Bozeman, MT 59715-3359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewis And Clark Hotel Bozeman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing