We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Local Ownership Makes a Difference!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Bozeman
East Lansing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local Ownership Makes a Difference!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Lewis & Clark Motel, 824 West Main Street, Bozeman, MT., is evidence that local ownership (not just a local franchise of a national chain) makes a difference. Rates are reasonable, accommodations are fine, but the real value lies in the home-like feeling of the place. The theme is tradition; the music is old fashioned (e.g., Sinatra); the fitness center actually is a "rec room" in the basement (complete with fooseball); the lobby has a jig-saw puzzle in progress for any to work on, a collection of antique Life magazines, and the proprietor's doll collection. The proprietor herself, Lisa, the daughter of the founder, succeeds in warmth, customer service, and competence. I am especially indebted to her for single-handedly managing a fouled up FedEx delivery of an important package. If you're ever in Bozeman, stay at the Lewis & Clark Motel and enjoy the local ambiance!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_Moch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    62
    23
    11
    29
See reviews for
50
62
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

It was July 14th, 2012 at 10:30 PM and I had to stay at the Lewis & Clark motel because it was the last room in town. The room was on the third floor but the elevator was broken. Tried to catch the news but the TV remote was broken. Tried to dry my hair but the hair dryer was broken. The bathroom was filthy, showering in the morning I found used soap left from the last guest. When checking out I asked to speak to the owner as I felt that $150 was too much to pay for such a dirty and poorly maintained room. When I was finally able to speak to Lisa on the phone she said there was nothing she could do. Really? Nothing? Please do not stay at this motel…you will regret every minute and feel taken for having paid $150 for the experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bozeman hotels

Portland, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We ended up at the Lewis and Clark after stopping at the major chains. Everyone was booked for the night. It was late and we were so thankful to get a room. The Lewis and Clark is older so take that into consideration. They have done a lot of updating, however. There were new faucets, lamps and artwork. You could tell the paint was fresh. The lobby area is so nice with a beautiful wood dining room table where you can enjoy your coffee, muffins, nut bread and juice. The wireless was fast and easy to access. The young woman at the desk was so nice. The price was under $100 and as we have stayed in a lot of places on our road trip, this was a nice place for the money. For an older motel it was clean and we slept fine even with the sliding
doors, they blocked all of the street noise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This motel was incredible! My partner and I were moving from NC to WA and stayed in 6 or 7 other motels across the country. The Lewis and Clark was by far the best. The rooms were big, clean, and cozy. There is a coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. The hotel its self has free wifi, a guest computer and printer, free coffee, tea, and cookies. It also has toiletries, snacks, and beer for sale in the lobby. And it's in downtown bozeman!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesssica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Rumbling thunder, rushing waterfalls and pounding hooves – meaning: heavy, old sliding glass doors are the way in to every room and they rumble like thunder every time that they are opened and closed. Along with very old plumbing that creaks and crashes with a rush of water every time a neighbor uses it. Add to that the creaking and thumping in the floors/ceilings every time someone takes a step. The night we stayed was clearly musical room party night, because from 2-4am there was coming and going and flushing and showering and the stampede of a herd of hooves in the rooms overheard. The lack of integrity or accountability of the staff just added insult to injury – gotta love that “there is nothing I can do” line. We’re willing to put up with a lot, we're not squeamish about dirt, but there is nothing worse than paying any amount of money for a place where you get zero sleep. The Lewis & Clark Motel is not funky or retro or hip, it is just dirty and old with a lot of differed maintenance. Saying that it is a rip off would be kind – take your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Spend a little more time looking for a better hotel and take your money elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I don't do motels, I mean I really don't do motels. I usually pamper myself with four star accommodations when I travel, but this really isn't available in Bozeman. Upon my sisters request I conceded for a cheaper lodging accommodation and booked a room at this motel. I think the last time I stayed in a motel I was still a college student. All doubts are erased the minute you walk into their family owned, historic lobby. You can see the love and care of each generation that this family owned business has put into it. The customer service rivals that of some of the best resorts I've stayed at. The amenities are jaw dropping for a "motel". And everything is clean, really clean. For anyone that has ever traveled through Montana, it doesn't take long to realize that cleanliness isn't on everyone's top priority list. If I haven't been able to convince you by now, it's your loss, not theirs. Thank you Lewis and Clark for such a memorable stay. Tippy

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWarrior1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

From the nostalgic 50's music to the proximity to downtown Bozeman, The Lewis and Clark Motel was the perfect location for the first night of our recent vacation to Montana. We wanted to be within walking distance to downtown. We felt right at home the moment we entered the lobby. Lisa, manager, was very friendly and helpful. We immediately felt like we had known her for a long time. We took advantage of the many resources available in the lobby. Lisa even went out of her way to get us directions to a store we had asked about. She also recommended a great restaurant for dinner. The nostalgic 50's music was perfect for the setting. We had a lovely room on the first floor. It was large and clean. I loved the bed. We had a comfortable nights sleep. We enjoyed the continental breakfast, especially the banana bread. Check out the coffee, Cravens. Had never had it before. It was great. As we couldn't purchase it locally, Lisa even sent us on our way with some. This was a great place to start our vacation. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank broberts2453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
0.4 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 30 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 30 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Bozeman
Comfort Suites Bozeman
#2 of 30 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal 7 Budget Inn
Royal 7 Budget Inn
#24 of 30 in Bozeman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman

Property: The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman
Address: 824 W Main St, Bozeman, MT 59715-3359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewis And Clark Hotel Bozeman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing