We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid it if you want to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Bozeman
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid it if you want to sleep”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Rumbling thunder, rushing waterfalls and pounding hooves – meaning: heavy, old sliding glass doors are the way in to every room and they rumble like thunder every time that they are opened and closed. Along with very old plumbing that creaks and crashes with a rush of water every time a neighbor uses it. Add to that the creaking and thumping in the floors/ceilings every time someone takes a step. The night we stayed was clearly musical room party night, because from 2-4am there was coming and going and flushing and showering and the stampede of a herd of hooves in the rooms overheard. The lack of integrity or accountability of the staff just added insult to injury – gotta love that “there is nothing I can do” line. We’re willing to put up with a lot, we're not squeamish about dirt, but there is nothing worse than paying any amount of money for a place where you get zero sleep. The Lewis & Clark Motel is not funky or retro or hip, it is just dirty and old with a lot of differed maintenance. Saying that it is a rip off would be kind – take your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Spend a little more time looking for a better hotel and take your money elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    69
    24
    13
    30
See reviews for
57
67
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I don't do motels, I mean I really don't do motels. I usually pamper myself with four star accommodations when I travel, but this really isn't available in Bozeman. Upon my sisters request I conceded for a cheaper lodging accommodation and booked a room at this motel. I think the last time I stayed in a motel I was still a college student. All doubts are erased the minute you walk into their family owned, historic lobby. You can see the love and care of each generation that this family owned business has put into it. The customer service rivals that of some of the best resorts I've stayed at. The amenities are jaw dropping for a "motel". And everything is clean, really clean. For anyone that has ever traveled through Montana, it doesn't take long to realize that cleanliness isn't on everyone's top priority list. If I haven't been able to convince you by now, it's your loss, not theirs. Thank you Lewis and Clark for such a memorable stay. Tippy

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWarrior1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

From the nostalgic 50's music to the proximity to downtown Bozeman, The Lewis and Clark Motel was the perfect location for the first night of our recent vacation to Montana. We wanted to be within walking distance to downtown. We felt right at home the moment we entered the lobby. Lisa, manager, was very friendly and helpful. We immediately felt like we had known her for a long time. We took advantage of the many resources available in the lobby. Lisa even went out of her way to get us directions to a store we had asked about. She also recommended a great restaurant for dinner. The nostalgic 50's music was perfect for the setting. We had a lovely room on the first floor. It was large and clean. I loved the bed. We had a comfortable nights sleep. We enjoyed the continental breakfast, especially the banana bread. Check out the coffee, Cravens. Had never had it before. It was great. As we couldn't purchase it locally, Lisa even sent us on our way with some. This was a great place to start our vacation. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broberts2453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I liked this place - it was great to have a change from the chain motels and stay somewhere locally run. They were very friendly, the rooms were reasonably priced, large and clean, with comfortable beds. Especially liked the piped 50s music in the car park! Sure, it's a bit older, but I thought it had a lot of charm and the location is great - you can walk to all the restaurants and shops. The home made banana bread in the morning was lovely too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meleze74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The price was right, the lady at the front desk was friendly and helpful, the beds were just OK, and the refrigerator and microwave were nice. But, this place needed remodeling 20 years ago. The fuzzy wallpaper is peeling of and the carpet and upholstery are absolutely disgusting. The walls are paper thin. Find someplace else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bobr412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bozeman hotels

oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

my husband and I stayed here on our way to Fargo ND. we had already drove for 14 hours and were more than ready for some rest. this motel was the only one with any rooms as a basketball tournament was going on that wknd. the price of our room was $80 by time we checked out. the door to the room was a slider right off the parking lot... we were not pleased but it worked for a single night stay. the room was large and the walls where thin.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Cloud, MN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Support local businesses and avoid the chains-great place to stay in downtown Bozeman! The lobby is great-very homey. They have books and games available for guests to check out, snacks and beverages for purchase, and a nice fireplace and coffee area. In the morning, homemade banana bread and other baked goods are available. The staff was great-really friendly. Our room was large and comfortable. The room was clean but the furnishings were a little outdated-part of the charm though. They left a crossword puzzle on our desk-loved that idea! We had a great view of the mountains! There was a hot tub and small game room and exercise area. Great location-easy to walk or drive to restaurants and bars. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelsmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
0.4 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal 7 Budget Inn
Royal 7 Budget Inn
#24 of 31 in Bozeman
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Bozeman
Comfort Suites Bozeman
#4 of 31 in Bozeman
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman

Property: The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman
Address: 824 W Main St, Bozeman, MT 59715-3359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewis And Clark Hotel Bozeman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing