We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific tapas”
Review of Over The Tapas - CLOSED

Over The Tapas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Over The Tapas is a fun, casually elegant restaurant in historic downtown Bozeman, Montana offering tapas-style, small plate cuisine fusing Spanish ingredients with international and American flavors. Complement your meal with a beverage from the fantastic beer and wine selection (or Sangria!) including an unmatched selection of Spanish and South American varietals. Homemade from scratch food and sauces are sure to delight (and include a large variety of gluten-free options.) Come experience consistently fabulous food and stellar service in the lively, yet intimate environment. Over the Tapas also hosts private parties and provides catering. Happy Hour is Monday through Saturday 3:30 - 6:00.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Can't go wrong with this restaurant. Excellent food and wine. Perfect portions. Nice staff. As good as it gets in Bozeman which is darned good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Over The Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing you great experience with others. We appreciate your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 240 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We tried Over the Tapas on an early Saturday evening after a day at Museum of the Rockies. While our small dishes (patatas bravas, chorizo-stuffed mushrooms, chicken skewers, lamb sliders, and two different salads) were flavorful and appealing and the available brews were good, the tiny restaurant quickly became crowded. Servers -- in little black dresses in sync with the all-black decor -- seemed disengaged and not very friendly. And despite the fact that almost everyone in the place was in shorts and T-shirts, I never quite got over the feeling that we were underdressed. Food, while somewhat pricey, would be worth returning for, should we ever pass through Bozeman again. Ambience and service could both be improved.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cadenzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Over The Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We usually hear praise for our service so it's unfortunate you didn't have the same experience. It's helpful to receive honest feedback so thank you for sharing. We're glad you enjoyed your dinner and appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The food was good but not up to the standards set by other tapas places we've eaten. The patatas bravas, for example, were drizzled with sauce rather than serving it on the side, and they didn't have the paprika flavor you'd expect. It was also a little noisy. That said, it was a pleasant enough dinner and we'd probably go back.

1  Thank WYOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Over The Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We value your opinion and will take it into consideration. Thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great little discovery while passing through Bozeman, and was quite unexpected. We tried the goat cheese, the dates in bacon, fish and chips and burger sliders. All were great and filled us up. The bar is very small, so it was quite noisy trying to converse. There are a few tables on the sidewalk, but no alcoholic beverages are allowed. Prices are a bit high, but the food was good.

Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Over The Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We appreciate your business and your detailed feedback. Thank you for finding us and sharing your experience with others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

It was early dinner service, and the place was almost empty except for a few tables. Four(4) staff members collected at the end of the bar and chatted, compared notes, and even worked their receipts. After ten(10) minutes we raised our voice to ask if someone could bring us water and take our order for bar drinks. That was the low point. After that we had attentive service, a collection of no fewer than six or seven small plates that were delicious, and even placed a reorder of the lamb empanadas. Yum!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank InWineTruth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Over The Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We're glad you enjoyed our food so much. We are sorry to hear about your experience waiting for service. We pride ourselves on our customarily good service so that is definitely feedback we appreciate hearing. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Over The Tapas also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing