We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb tapas”
Review of Over The Tapas

Over The Tapas
Ranked #20 of 239 Restaurants in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Over The Tapas is a fun, casually elegant restaurant in historic downtown Bozeman, Montana offering tapas-style, small plate cuisine fusing Spanish ingredients with international and American flavors. Complement your meal with a beverage from the fantastic beer and wine selection (or Sangria!) including an unmatched selection of Spanish and South American varietals. Home-made from scratch food and sauces are sure to delight (and include a large variety of gluten-free options.) Come experience consistently fabulous food and stellar service in the lively, yet intimate environment. Over the Tapas also hosts private parties and provides catering. Happy Hour is Monday through Saturday 3:30 - 6:00.
charlotte
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb tapas”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The food at this restaurant was outstanding! Just know that if you want to sit outside, you are not allowed to have wine.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank sadiecharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    65
    15
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun dinner experience!”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We arrived in Bozeman on a Thursday afternoon, after driving up from Yellowstone. We had narrowed our dinner choices to 3 places, but after shopping for new hiking boots we opted to get the opinion of the staff at Northern Lights outfitters before deciding. Their unanimous recommendation was Over the Tapas, so off we went!
Obviously we had not made a reservation and really didn't think it would be necessary on a weeknight - but the place was very busy. Fortunately another group was really late for their reservation, and we were graciously seated - even though we were rather under-dressed compared to the rest of the crowd. Many of the diners were young professionals in work attire, but we also saw a couple of families with small children who seemed to be enjoying their meals as well.
Our server was friendly and did a great job of making suggestions. The three of us ordered about 8 items to share - everything was WONDERFUL. Even my husband, who is not usually an adventurous eater, thoroughly enjoyed his meal (we had ordered the elk sliders for him, just in case, but we ended up sharing because he liked the other selections so much). We really didn't have room for dessert, but the temptation was impossible to pass up. Will definitely return the next time we're in Bozeman!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 4vatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Bozeman”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We are frequent visitors to Bozeman and Over The Tapas remains our favorite dinner spot. The tapas style makes for a customized and intimate dining experience. We have yet to be disappointed in an item, and some are to die for (goat cheese croquettes).

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great place to enjoy fellowship”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We arrived for a small party of folks by reservation earlier in the day. We got a table in the back dining area, which was about half full. this is a tall-ceilinged place, and has a welcoming quiet atmosphere. I can imagine if full that is would be a bit noisier.
The food, staff and overall experience is truly what i have experienced in a larger, more expensive place in a metro area.
In summary, next time I am in Bozo, I will come back and try more things. This has my unqualified rating for a must-eat place. Everybody, including several fussy eaters in the party, had a great time... this is semi-casual and somewhat expensive by Bozo standards. It is within 2 blocks of the major eateries here.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alwynbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very good food, reasonable prices.”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Service was good, if a bit slow considering there were only two occupied tables with a total of three people. The paella was quite good.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ITravelMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Over The Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing