We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our group's needs, we came back for a second stay.”
Review of Dude Rancher Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dude Rancher Lodge
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Billings
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Met our group's needs, we came back for a second stay.”
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Confirming what folks have been saying lately about "The Dude," its old-school, well-located, has great restaurant, nice staff, neat rooms, and PERSONALITY! Its not the Ritz, so if you're looking for a fancy place, go elsewhere. If you're looking for clean, quaint, no-frills and a great deal, the Dude Rancher is your spot. Its really convenient to downtown, as well--three blocks.

I'd also recommend The Dude for groups. They gave us a fair group rate and were patient and helpful with logistics.

Thanks MJ and the Dude Rancher staff! You're great! We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tromboned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Thank you for taking time to review the Historic Dude Rancher Lodge! We have been home to many groups, especially entertainers, who find it refreshing to stay in an authentic Historic property. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    91
    57
    45
    24
See reviews for
66
77
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ellensburg, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I love the Dude Rancher. Great location three blocks from downtown, which is perfect as downtown Billings is noisy and bustling (at least on the night I was there). Super easy to get to despite all the one way streets. Lobby is attractive and efficient. Room key was just that, a real big brass key. Hope they don't change to key cards any time soon, I loved the sentimentality of it. Room was spacious, clean, quality furniture, bed perfectly firm. The a/c was already on so the room was pre-cooled, much appreciated on a hot summer day. Linens were outstanding: sheets smooth, blankets soft, pillows not too flat nor too full. Nice sized refrigerator, could get several freezer packs in it, kept food and beverages nicely chilled. Bathroom was decent sized and had everything you needed. Carpet was appropriately dude-rancherish with ranch brands woven in. And talk about pet friendly! The pet fee is quite reasonable, and was made to feel like my dog was actually welcome by suggesting places to take her for walks. Restaurant is nothing special, but it's perfect when you want a quick, convenient meal and not got through a franchise drive-through. I had the cowboy scramble for breakfast, special sauce is salsa and if you order it, have them go easy with the cheese. In the future I will make every effort to make sure I stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceangal_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
We're glad you love the Historic Dude as much as we do! And, yes, we will keep our big brass keys! Did you know the furniture is the original, ranch oak furniture? And the branded carpet actually contains the Cattle Brands of area ranchers who backed the hotel financially when it was built in 1950. Your pets are your family and next visit you will enjoy special treats for your furry child (a suggestion from a guest). Ah, yes, the Cowboy Scrambler! I tend to agree with you on the cheese but my co-workers who are cheese lovers feel differently!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Except for finding an empty beer bottle and a soiled pair of mens underware under the bed the hotel was O.K however when reported to the front desk the anomoly was rectified immediately.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
Oh my, that WAS an unpleasant surprise indeed! Thank you so much for bringing this to the attention of our Front Desk Associate! And the positive in this is that they took care of it immediately. Of course, we have brought this to the attention of our Housekeeping Department. A big WHOOPS and APOLOGY from all of us! And a big lesson learned to never forget to check under the beds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed here for two nights. The location is very good - more or less in the centre of Bilings. It was Memorial Day so nearly the whole town was shut - we managed to find a place to eat at night (Montana Brewing Co) - great burger. The staff on duty were really friendly and the coffee shop on the premises had excellent breakfasts but of course you had to pay (got a discount though). Very good value and not far from the airport - all we had to do when we arrived at the aiport was use the phone on the wall there and a taxi was sent for us - Dude Rancher paid $6 and we paid the rest.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calamityjane2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Thank you for this lovely review! Yes, our breakfasts are FAMOUS in Billings and beyond - and now guests receive a coupon worth 20% off. We're so glad we helped make this visit to "the other side of the pond" a good one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Chose the Dude Rancher based on other TA reviewers, the other recent reviews are pretty accurate. The room was clean, nice western ranch style decor. The bed was a little hard for my taste. A few blocks walk to downtown Billings attractions including galleries and good restaurants. It's not fancy but a nice alternative to the cookie-cutter chain hotels. Would stay here again.

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank RangeviewRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, Direcftor of Sales/Assistant GM at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2010
Thank you so much for your feedback. We've tried to maintain the authenticity of the original decor and most of the furniture are original pieces from our opening in 1950. Yes, we are not a "cookie cutter" hotel, but a historic property filled with many many stories! Next time you stay, ask about the "branded" carpet! A great story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St. Lucie, FL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2009

Arrived late and thought I had made a mistake in booking at lst sight in the dark.
The "motel" is an older motel in the center of town that has been extremely well-maintained! Carpets, all linens, bathrooms and adjoining restaurant were spotless. Comfortable bed and pillows. We found the reception desk to be extremely helpful. Ask for a 2d floor room with the vaulted ceilings. This is a typical 1940s-50s 2-story motel that provides partial payment of taxi ride from the airport (we paid $4 of the $10 fare in City Cab.) Gave the cab driver a $3 tip and he looked surprised and said it was not necessary. We told him it was. We just needed a place to sleep for the night before heading out. We paid $58 and had cleaner and nicer accomodations than some we have paid triple price. Breakfast not included but great and reasonable in restaurant at motel. Staying in a motel that reflects the laid-back west and not the usual chain was a delightful departure in this instance.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloria772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, Assistant GM/Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2009
We would tirelessly to ensure that each and every guest will have this kind of experience. We appreciate the positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, SD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2009

What a fantastic find! Built in 1949, during one of the "peaks" in Billings' colorful history, this place feels like a visit to a bygone era.
With one of the most comfortable beds ever, great Montana hospitality, and an on-site restaurant that makes everything from scratch, you cannot go wrong here!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binderowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, Assistant GM/Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2009
We thank this guest for appreciating the rich history of the Dude Rancher Lodge -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.3 mi away
Riversage Billings Inn
Riversage Billings Inn
#19 of 51 in Billings
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#8 of 51 in Billings
389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
#28 of 51 in Billings
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Billings
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Billings
1.9 mi away
Boothill Inn & Suites
Boothill Inn & Suites
#1 of 51 in Billings
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dude Rancher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dude Rancher Lodge

Property: Dude Rancher Lodge
Address: 415 N 29th St, Billings, MT 59101-1245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dude Rancher Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dude Rancher Lodge is an historic downtown Billings hotel. We are proud to be listed in the National Register of Historic Places, which is America’s official list of important properties that provide a valuable link to the past and have been deemed worthy of preservation. Built in 1949, our hotel near downtown Billings is a rustic ranch that features weeping brick mortar and full-length porches. Our interior is designed with knotty pine paneling, custom-built western-style furnishings, decorative lampshades and carpeting that is adorned with the brands of local ranchers who originally invested in the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Dude Rancher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dude Rancher Hotel Billings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing