We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough for the price”
Review of Dude Rancher Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dude Rancher Lodge
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Golden, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Decent enough for the price”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I wanted a cheap place for a quick overnight as I passed through Billings. This hotel was the cheapest with the least terrible reviews. It is not fancy, it does not have free breakfast etc. What it did have was a bed with clean sheets, tv and a bathroom with hot water. The bathroom shower doors and slider trays were not well cleaned but the tub part was clean to have a shower. The toilet was clean and so was the sink. The walls were pretty thin so you could hear the other showers going, fortunately I never heard any other noise - inside or outside. The front desk clerks were quick and decent too. This hotel is located right downtown so when I went to grab a quick bite to eat there were a LOT of groups of people loitering about. I didn't feel very safe so I would recommend driving where you want at night even thought there are a lot of options within walking distance. There is a semi- enclosed parking area that is not obvious at first but after checking in I moved my car there. Seems a little more safe to park there.

Room Tip: There are rooms that are ground level and the doors open to the semi-enclosed parking lot if you pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Errbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, Front Office Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I will let the head housekeeper know about the shower doors. This information will help us in the future. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    93
    61
    48
    25
See reviews for
69
80
36
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bonner Springs, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The hotel is designed with a western motif. The walls are wood paneled and the carpet is has a branding iron pattern. The room was clean and comfortable is a little small. The bed was very comfortable and our room was conveniently located on the first floor. Staff were courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and invite you to comeback again soon! We appreciate you taking the time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here because they advertised free parking and airport transportation because Billings airport charges $8.50/day for parking. Turns out they only pay for ONE person's taxi ride to the airport and NO return trip to the hotel. We ended up paying another $6 going and $11 coming for a Yellow Taxi which took 30 minuted to pick us up. The hotel was $85 on a weeknight in April and although our entire wing was designated Non-Smoking, it smelled really strongly of an ashtray. Rooms were clean, but tiny, tiny and lots of outside and inside noises from neighbors and traffic.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. I am not sure what happened with your taxi service; this is not normal and I will definitely look into it. I apologize for your room smelling of smoke; we are a non-smoking facility and do not tolerate smoking in any of the rooms. Housekeeping is working to eliminate any smoke smell that might be lingering for whatever reason. I appreciate you letting us know about these issues so we can work to improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Billings hotels

Sidney, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I can do old and outdated but not for this price. We paid $78 per night before taxes and fees. Came because they were pet friendly ($7 fee) room was small and cramped but clean. Bathroom was decent and clean. Bed was very uncomfortable. The air in the room was stuffy and stale, we tried to turn the thermostat to cool and it blew even hotter. Later in the night when we wanted heat we ended up turning it off because it kicked on and sounded like a gun shot ever 45 seconds. (I felt my husband jump in his sleep every time) No fridge or microwave, spare pillow or blanket. I would have been completely fine with this room had it been $50 or so a night, not the price I paid. Overall it was ok but wont be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadowsmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaHalpin, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and bringing these things to our attention. We would have been happy to have our maintenance man look at your heater for you to resolve that issue. We are also in the process of upgrading all of our rooms and would have been happy to put you in a room that has a refrigerator and microwave. We also are happy to supply extra pillow and blankets upon request. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to address your concerns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was "arranged" for us. I didn't know what to expect but soon found out. We had to wait 10-15 min at the front desk to be greeted apparently the lady running the night shift was dealing with the police because some undesirable people were hanging out around the hotel. The rooms themselves look like they haven't been updated since they were built and the walls are paper thin. I was not impressed with this place despite the high score it was given by others.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sbuxreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for bringing these things to our attention. We will address the unacceptable check-in wait with the appropriate staff. We are actively working to get every room redecorated and updated. Thanks again for your feedback! We appreciate your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yellowstone, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Homeless people sleeping in the hallways? Terribly rude service, Paper thin walls, no laundry, no breakfast, and again, drunk transients in the halls. Hotel Impossible? Impossible that I would ever recommend this "hotel" ...so overpriced, only makes Billings worse than it already is. Oh and the guest directory is full of false information, like saying the hotel offers mail service.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toaster47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. I do apologize for the transient situation. With the colder weather, we have had a problem with this but are actively working to remedy the situation (cameras, different locks, etc), and this situation is already much better. There must have been a mis-communication regarding the mail service as we do offer it. We will speak to the appropriate staff and make sure everyone is communicating correctly about this and other services we offer. Thank you again for bringing these issues to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The venerable Dude Rancher Lodge has been around a long time... and, as such, it has some good things... and also some not-so-good things. First, the good: Great hot water and lots of it!! (We appreciate this in a motel.) They have jetted tubs, if you're into that sort of thing. They also provide good, ample mini-shampoos (other motels often provide such crummy shampoos you can hardly get the liquid soap out of the tiny containers.) There were also two recently refurbished, additional restrooms very close to our room, which was a plus, because there were three of us sharing one room (with two queen beds). We also liked the fact that they have an on-site restaurant for all three meals. They also will arrange Yellow Cab round-the-clock service to the airport wherein the motel pays part of the cost with a voucher and the guest pays the (not very large) balance. Not-so-good things at the Dude Rancher? Well, there are hardly any outlets around in the room... only one in the bathroom that we could find. And yes, the front desk people do tend to vary... from very friendly and helpful to (shall we say) 'distracted'. It's so handy to the airport, though, that we'll continue to stay at the Dude Rancher if we need to make Billings airline connections in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heanyjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon! We are in the process of making sure ALL of our staff are friendly and treat our guests as the valued customers they are! Thanks for pointing this out so we can address it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.3 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#10 of 51 in Billings
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riversage Billings Inn
Riversage Billings Inn
#13 of 51 in Billings
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
#28 of 51 in Billings
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Billings
2.4 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#6 of 51 in Billings
213 reviews
1.9 mi away
Boothill Inn & Suites
Boothill Inn & Suites
#2 of 51 in Billings
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dude Rancher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dude Rancher Lodge

Property: Dude Rancher Lodge
Address: 415 N 29th St, Billings, MT 59101-1245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dude Rancher Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dude Rancher Lodge is an historic downtown Billings hotel. We are proud to be listed in the National Register of Historic Places, which is America’s official list of important properties that provide a valuable link to the past and have been deemed worthy of preservation. Built in 1949, our hotel near downtown Billings is a rustic ranch that features weeping brick mortar and full-length porches. Our interior is designed with knotty pine paneling, custom-built western-style furnishings, decorative lampshades and carpeting that is adorned with the brands of local ranchers who originally invested in the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Dude Rancher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dude Rancher Hotel Billings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing