We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Passing through 8/12/12” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dude Rancher Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dude Rancher Lodge
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Passing through 8/12/12”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had booked online. When we arrived all went well with check in. Room was semi-clean...carpet & drapes pretty gross & funny smell in room.. But for the price it was ok. A ways from freeway& had I known this & known how old & dirty feeling it was I'd definitely stayed some place else. Tons of noise coming from room above us...we were in 124. Sounded like they were doing jumping jacks & running around. Maybe they were just jumping on the bed? Or the ghost? If having a nice room isn't a big deal to you & value matters more, this place is fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property. I've given a copy of this to our Executive Housekeeper because these are strictly housekeeping issues....except for the ghost of course! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    88
    56
    44
    22
See reviews for
66
75
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Having seen the improvements that are being made (due to it's appearance on the TV show Hotels Impossible), this place still has a chance to become a good value for an older hotel. However, at the moment, they have a long ways to go. The air conditioning was abysmal, the room too cramped with furniture and the old questionable bedspreads still being used. The bathroom while moderately clean were very outdated. The staff was friendly, but the restaurant (which opened late) staff seemed to not want to be bothered.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KLS656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thanks so much for reviewing the Dude Rancher Lodge! Yes, we are in the process of renovating our guest rooms. We've just completed phase 1 (6 rooms) and are beginning the next 6. Renovations include paint, new carpet, new furniture, new bathroom tile and vanities as well as new lighting in all rooms. COMPLETE! Wish it could be done overnight but unfortunately it takes much longer! So, the old bedspreads will become a thing of the past as well as the outdated bathrooms. Yes, our AC has been abysmal! We couldn't agree more - we're still waiting for a very important new part! We do hope that you will return at some point and enjoy the improvements!
MJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Booked this room last minute while sitting in SEATAC knowing our arrival would be around 1am and we would be hosed after 17 hours of travel. Great location downtown, direct shot from the airport and the rates were reasonable considering the last-minute nature as well as summertime travel.
This place is campy, hands down, but much more character than the homogeneous cardboard chain motels that litter the interstates and roadways these days. Personally, I would rather give the local 'mom and pop' establishments my dollars, but that's just me.
Air conditioning was fair-to-poor, but coming from Alaska, anything above 60 degrees is warm for us, so it was what it was. My 5 year-old-son loved it, he said it was like being in a lodge...The shower pressure was good and the bright red octagon sink in the bathroom is right out of a Dolly Parton/Burt Reynolds flick from the 1970's.
I would definitely stay here again, however would take full advantage of the free breakfast, which we didn't do this time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrVeegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Hi Mr Veegas! Thanks for the review and we're glad your son felt like he was staying in a "lodge"! That's part of the charm! Just a note that the campy red, green, yellow and blue sinks are gradually being replaced by, of all things, WHITE SINKS! So, no more 70's feel! We are renovating, 6 rooms at a time! I remember talking with you and I hope you and your Son had a great time at the Ranch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Everyone that works here seemed very nice, they went out of their way to be helpful and make me feel welcome. But this wasn't enough to overcome the stained carpets, stale cigarette smell and the general grunginess of the motel. During my stay the daytime highs were in the high 90's and the little AC unit in my room sighed a little cool air in the room, but it wasn't enough to keep the room cool enough to sleep comfortably. There have been a few happenings in the motel that hopefully will result in renovations, after the lobby bathroom was closed indefinitely and the filming of a motel makeover show. My room was not one that had been renovated during filming!
When I was offered a room in a friends house I took it, even though I had prepaid for the final evening of my stay. The staff didn't offer a refund even though they probably rented it that night, thus getting double booking of the room. My allergies thanked me for leaving.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept an interior room on the first floor. You will not want to open your window to let air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FridayTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for posting this review. We are deeply concerned regarding your comments about the cleanliness of the hotel. The fact that you posted a picture will greatly help us in tracking down problems you mentioned in the room. We will address this with our housekeeping department today. We only wish you would have expressed your concerns to our Front Desk Associates so that we could have moved you to a different room. We are a completely non-smoking hotel, so the smell of cigarette smoke is a great concern as well. As far as a refund is concerned, since I have no way of tracking your reservation I cannot tell if you made in on line - it sounds though as you may have made it on Expedia and in that case we cannot issue a refund because the fees have been paid to Expedia. We're glad that you found our staff to be very nice and helpful and that you were made to feel welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Billings hotels

Spokane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very disappointing, carpets stained, furniture worn. Air-conditioned yes, only the air conditioners could not be adjusted as their controls had been REMOVED! Guess they are trying to save on the electric bill - penny wise-pound foolish. Spent a very uncomfortable night - no fan in bathroom, odd odor in room. Maybe some of the rooms are clean...ours wasn't. Restaurant serves a good breakfast.

Room Tip: inspect the room carefully before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
My goodness it was so nice to read a review where your room was cool! You mentioned, however, that there were no controls. We wish you had inquired about this as we would have been more than happy to show you the controls mounted to the wall (thermostat). We did inspect your room and yes, that carpet needed to be shampooed and has now been taken care of. We addressed the odd odor issue with our Executive Housekeeper as well. Thank you for posting your review!
MJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have no one to blame but myself for not getting a good nights sleep. I read the reviews before I went to Billings and, though there were a number of complaints about the air conditioner, I went ahead and booked it. I was/am impressed that the manager responded to the majority of comments here on Trip Advisor and I figured the problem would be solved because they were aware of it and there had been a number of complaints. I stayed there the night of July 20th and had planned on two or three nights. When I checked in, it felt hot and I asked about the room. The front desk person was very friendly and helpful and assured me that, if it wasn't comfortable, they would give me a fan. I went up to the room and it WAS too hot for comfort, even with the fan, but it was too late to move (~11:00 PM). The place has great potential, but they're missing it. Everything was just a little worn out, but fully functional (except the air conditioner), but clean. Oh - and if you're planning on spending any time in the room, don't plan on watching TV - there were only ~10 channels. One was a movie channel, that was OK if you liked the movie that was on; two were shopping/infomercial most of the time; one was a weird sort of PBS thing that got old fast (I watch a lot of PBS at home -this was some artsy thing, mostly very, very old films and dances and such - interesting for a bit, but...)...no weather channel, no discovery, no history, etc....

Other than that:

Front desk/personnel service was excellent.
Value was overpriced for a room that was too hot to sleep in, had crappy cable, no fitness center and no pool.
Sleep quality - poor, see above.
Cleanliness - very good, no complaints at all.
Location was good if you wanted to be downtown.
Rooms - interesting, very 'montana'ish feel, except for being downtown. If it had been in a small town or somewhere remote, it would have been more appealing.
No swimming pool or fitness center.

Room Tip: Don't go when it's hot unless they've fixed the air conditioner. If they HAVE, it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BROCIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks so much for posting a review! It's important for you to know that we ARE working diligently to rectify the air conditioning problem. As I've stated before, unseasonably hot temperatures are really taxing our system and after inspection we found that it was not running at full capacity. The parts necessary to fix this problem have been ordered and we're just waiting for them to arrive. It is not always easy, especially this time of year, to find parts in stock and they can never just be purchased locally. The last thing we want is for our guests to be uncomfortable so this is very difficult for us as well. Not sure about your TV! To quote our GM, "We have more channels than God" -so I have a feeling your TV remote was not set to cable. Wish you would have asked the Front Desk about it as they would have made sure you had all channels! We're glad that you were pleased with our excellent front Desk personnel. MJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
187 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

In town for work and checked in at the Dude Ranch Lodge - everything else is booked. It's small, cozy, clean and everything works. It's located downtown and it's rather a picturesque location - like something from the 50s. I'd stay again. I ate dinner in their Resturant - it's convenient with a limited menu but the food was fresh and well prepared and the waitress was friendly. 

I had breakfast in their cafe as well And at first I was concerned about how long it would take. The cafe is very prompt and efficiently run and the food is basic stick to your ribs country breakfast style and very good. The waitress was very good - excellent service.

Checking in was slow but folksy and friendly atmosphere. Check out was very efficient and the lady in the lobby was expecially friendly and engaging - I thought she was expecially good with coustomers. I liked their clean remote concept that used a generic remote that could be easily cleaned.

Overall the experience was excellent and an interesting experience and I would visit again. Nevertheless, the room was just a bit too small and cozy for my taste.
I also liked the HDTV, refrigerator, and microwave oven. The place also appeared to have had recent work which I also found appealing.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bringstheeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you so much for posting a review and pictures! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Historic Dude Rancher Lodge (and yes, we WERE built in the 50's!) Our restaurant has been serving our guests and the Billings community for 63 years! We do hope we'll see you again soon! MJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.3 mi away
Riversage Billings Inn
Riversage Billings Inn
#22 of 51 in Billings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
#28 of 51 in Billings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#8 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#4 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dude Rancher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dude Rancher Lodge

Property: Dude Rancher Lodge
Address: 415 North 29th Street, Billings, MT 59101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dude Rancher Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dude Rancher Lodge is an historic downtown Billings hotel. We are proud to be listed in the National Register of Historic Places, which is America’s official list of important properties that provide a valuable link to the past and have been deemed worthy of preservation. Built in 1949, our hotel near downtown Billings is a rustic ranch that features weeping brick mortar and full-length porches. Our interior is designed with knotty pine paneling, custom-built western-style furnishings, decorative lampshades and carpeting that is adorned with the brands of local ranchers who originally invested in the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dude Rancher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dude Rancher Hotel Billings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing