We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional, family- and dog-friendly lodging”
Review of Dude Rancher Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dude Rancher Lodge
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Helena, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Traditional, family- and dog-friendly lodging”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Tired of the same old, boring chain motels? When in Billings, Montana, try the Dude Rancher Lodge instead. With its brick construction, bunkhouse layout and traditional, Western ranch decor, the Lodge offers a welcome respite from the cookie-cutter style of the chain motels. Located in downtown Billings, the Lodge is classy but inexpensive. The staff is friendly, and dogs are welcomed. The rooms are not fancy, but comfortable and genuine. Spend a few minutes in the large sitting room near the front desk and enjoy the craftsman-style decor with a Western ranch flair. Then eat in the Lodge's cafe, just a few steps away. The entire experience is sincere, low-key and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rehoboth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a lovely review of our property! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    93
    59
    47
    25
See reviews for
68
79
36
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Overall the property is in need of some cleaning. Though it is a little dated, the location in historical downtown makes it a prime property for tourism, however, who wants to stay the night breathing years of dust and dirt.
Our room, 201, had to be the hottest room...the heat was either on or off, and opening the window didn't bring much relief. We left it wide open all night in March! The bathroom is not only small, but has no fan to extract the moisture, which only compicates the bedroom heat. The room itself was certainly not made for 2 full sz beds, much less with the other bulky old furniture stuffed in there. It left barely any room to out our things!
The good...it allows pets. So if you're on a budget and traveling with Fido, this is the best of the lower end hotels that allow animals. If you can spring for better, do so...you won't be sorry about the good nights sleep you get!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sstewart10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write this review. It's my understanding that you had a lengthy conversation at check-out with our General Manager. I am so sorry we were unable to meet your expectations. If you have any other comments or concerns we would love to hear from you. Please don't hesitate to call us at 406-259-5561.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Billings hotels

San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed for 1 night at Dude Rancher Lodge; it's a clean hotel very close to the airport at reasonable cost. I mainly used it as a stopover for flying out of Billings and will stay again if an opportunity arises.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrasunChoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferintosh, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

So many reviewers of Billings hotels complain about the noise from the highway and the trains. If that's a concern, then this downtown hotel is a good alternative. Our room was on the main floor, right next to the office. There was a wee bit of noise from conversations outside, and we could hear people walking up the stairs. It didn't bother us, but a room farther from the office would be better if you're bothered by other people's noise. The staff were very friendly. We were able to walk to restaurant, grocery and drug stores. My only complaint is that while black fridge and microwave are fashionable and more discreet than white, they're difficult for us older folks to operate in poor lighting.

Room Tip: The room closest to the office will have noise from the stairs and from people entering and leaving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twobirdnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I like to stay in this historic hotel. I love the western appointments. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beejaymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Good location situated in town with on site parking and within easy walking distance of downtown,Staff where very good hotel was OK maybe a bit dated but quite comfortable, Great old fashion lounge with open log fire
Would stay again and have no problem recomending

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johngwyn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Glad your stay was comfortable and that you were pleased with our staff. We hope to see you again, perhaps during the winter when we have the fire burning!

MJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The Dude is a simple and decent hotel/motel. The staff is very friendly, free WiFi and cable in room. No fridge or microwave but small coffee maker is included. No frills and appropriately priced.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogperson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thanks for taking time to post a review. We hope to see you again! If you would like a micro/fridge, please request one when reserving your room, as over half of our rooms DO have them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.3 mi away
Riversage Billings Inn
Riversage Billings Inn
#16 of 51 in Billings
246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
#26 of 51 in Billings
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#8 of 51 in Billings
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Billings
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Billings
1.9 mi away
Boothill Inn & Suites
Boothill Inn & Suites
#2 of 51 in Billings
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dude Rancher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dude Rancher Lodge

Property: Dude Rancher Lodge
Address: 415 N 29th St, Billings, MT 59101-1245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dude Rancher Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dude Rancher Lodge is an historic downtown Billings hotel. We are proud to be listed in the National Register of Historic Places, which is America’s official list of important properties that provide a valuable link to the past and have been deemed worthy of preservation. Built in 1949, our hotel near downtown Billings is a rustic ranch that features weeping brick mortar and full-length porches. Our interior is designed with knotty pine paneling, custom-built western-style furnishings, decorative lampshades and carpeting that is adorned with the brands of local ranchers who originally invested in the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dude Rancher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dude Rancher Hotel Billings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing