We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I probably have a flesh eating bacteria from being here.”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The dirtiest place I have ever stayed. Room cost $91 save money sleep on the floor at the rest stop you will feel much cleaner. I wish I could post photos of the crumbs in the bed, hair on the walls, graffiti on the furniture or years worth of dirt on the floor. Other peoples stuff under thr bed! Don't make the same mistake we did don't let being tired allow you to stay in what should be condemned.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cagollehon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Cagollehon78,
Thank you for your comments concerning your most recent stay. I appreciate your feedback and apologize for the condition you say your room was in. We sure could have moved you into another room to meet your needs and expectations. I have addressed your concerns you expressed with the hotel and would like to have the opportunity to earn your business back. We here at the Econolodge continue to strive to be the best.
Thank you so much for your comments and have a great day.
Stacy McLaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 228 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

The bed size was wrong, smelly rooms,carpet dirty, bathroom floor sticky with hair, bath tub had dirt and hair in it . We asked for another room and they changed rooms for us only for us to find the same type of things in it. I have lung problems and the smell was making it hard to breath so asked if we could get refund and leave before we even sat on the bed or unpacked. Told we would see credit on our card only to get home and find out they lied. Called talked with old manager and the new manager Stacy who was very rude, she said nothing they could do. The old manager said one thing and new different. How can they charge twice for the same room, maybe they need their books reviewed by IRS. Sleeping in a box is better than staying there. Staff were all so rude and no one wanted to get off their chair to check you in , that's lazy.

Room Tip: Ask to inspect the room before you agree to stay there.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Kim M,
Thank you for your respons on trip advisor. I appreciate your feedback and apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced. We are currently in the process of shampooing the rooms and training staff. With comments like yours we take them as learning opportunities and I appreciate your comments. Thank you for your time and I would like the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
Stacy Mclaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Beware -- This hotel is still listed as "Kelly Inn" in some phone books; Kelly Inn changed location 2 years ago but Econo Lodge hasn't updated their listing. We made the mistake of making a phone reservation thinking it was Kelly Inn. When we tried to cancel the reservation, we were informed that they have a 24 HOUR CANCELLATION POLICY. Ouch! The room was less than one-star lodging at a three-star price. The bed sagged about 6" in the middle, one of the table chairs fell apart, and the floors were so dirty that my feet left brown smudges when I stepped in the shower (there was also debris on the floors from a previous guest). One bright spot was the shower... excellent pressure and about 5 gallons per minute -- I haven't had a shower like that for a decade! Oh, and be prepared for lots of traffic noise... even on the side facing away from the highway!

Room Tip: Good room? At this hotel?
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Desp76,
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for your discontent with the hotel. I appreciate your feedback and have taken steps to assure that these issues are addressed and remedied. I would like to see you at our hotel again in the future and once again thank you for addressing your concerns and letting us know what we need to work on.
Sincerely,
Stacy McLaughln
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Good value for money.
Clean room, friendly service, hot breakfast inluded with waffles and biscuits and gravy. Good location off the highway for a nights stay, close to restaurants and services. Indoor hot tub and outdoor pool in summer.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AN4RCHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear An4archy,
Thank you for your most recent comments on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your comments and have shared them with the staff. I look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,
Stacy Mclaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Well, the pool was outdoors and we stayed in the winter. It was a nice place, except we were right above the hot tub that was indoors and it made it humid, but itwas ok becuase it was the winter. There wasnt very many parking spaces but what could you expect? there were internet which was nice. Also, there was the free continential breakfast. The stay for two nights was about 160 dollars so about 80 dollars a day.so that was pretty good. they gave me this thing to fill out for about 50 percent off which would be just fantastic if i can use it for more than one night. If it does work i think i will stay there again for my next trip that i am planning. The hotel was just off the interstate, wasnt too hard to find. nice place.

Room Tip: the rooms furthest from the hot tub are the best
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Jacob F,
Thank you for your most recent comments concerning your last stay. I appreciate the feedback and have let the staff know your compliments. Once again, thank you so much and we look forward to serving you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Stacy McLaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We recently stayed at Econo Lodge during our sons basketball tournament. Upon arrival, the desk clerk was pleasant who checked us in but the woman at desk that evening Sat Jan 26 was extremely rude to all the motel patrons. We asked for an extra blanket and she just rolled her eyes at us!! She left the desk and 2 people who came in left because there was noone to attend to them. Our room was dirty with hair bands on the floor and not vacuumed. Breakfast area was dirty the next morning so we just checked out and left. We travel quite a bit a but will NEVER be back here nor recommend it to others. Was the worst stay we have ever had in a hotel/motel!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKH0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear DKH0480,
I apology for your displeasure with your most recent stay with us. I take each comment as a learning opportunity and am addressing your current complaints with the staff. We want to make each guests stay as pleasant as possible and once again i apologize that yours was not this way. I would like the opportunity to earn your business back.
I look forward to hearing from you in the future.
Sincerely,
Stacy M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were able to enjoy the Econo Lodge in Billings, MT the night of Sat. Jan. 19, 2013. Upon checking in the attendant was very kind and personable. The next morning - after waking from a WONDERFUL sleep on the nicest mattress EVER - we enjoyed a very fine (more than) continental breakfast. Not only was our room clean - but ALL of the facilites were. Thank you for an enjoyable stay. ~ Michele D

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Michelle D,
Thank you for your comments on trip advisor. I appreciate you spending the time to publish your comments about the hotel and will be sharing this with the hotel staff. Your comments let us know that all of our hard work is showing. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,
Stacy M
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Billings - West End
0.8 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#5 of 51 in Billings
226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#30 of 51 in Billings
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Billings
Days Inn Billings
#16 of 51 in Billings
619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Billings
3.1 mi away
Dude Rancher Lodge
Dude Rancher Lodge
#34 of 51 in Billings
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 5425 Midland Rd, Billings, MT 59101-6347 (Formerly Kelly Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range: $58 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econolodge is conveniently located off of exit 446 off of Interstate 90. Fast food as well as family dining are within a 5 block radius. We are centrally located to shopping and Billings area attractions. We are pet friendly, offer free wi-fi, guest laundry services, free continental breakfast, expanded cable and have an indoor jacuzzi and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Hotel Billings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing