We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tripe”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Milaca, MN
1 review
“Tripe”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It was a very good and reasonable place to stay. We had a good time while we were there and enjoyed our stay. Nice and clean and quite. We found the people very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, vetry good with a very good choice to chose from, we went away full.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Frank V,
Thank you for your response concerning your most recent stay. I appreciate your feedback and with guests like you, this lets me know that our hard work and efforts are showing. Once again, thank you for your time. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,
Stacy M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    46
    30
    23
    58
See reviews for
72
50
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Premise:
I just stayed one night, over the Labor day weekend (2012) as a rest stop. For what I paid online w/ AAA discount (from Choicehotels.com rsvp...which is the parent company), its wasn't too shabby. In fact, it was pretty good. I noticed that outside were a stacked of mattresses...all being replaced. Could this be a start of a full remodel??? hope so.

General Overview:
My room was clean. Though it is an older property so it has some dated décor. Oh btw, all economy hotels and motels should rid the flowery bed covers. lol. And go with a simple white sheet and accent blanket thing at the foot of the bed (like high end hotels). This will be easier to wash...and eliminate the horror stories of "stains" on the bed cover. yuck. The paint, wallpaper and carpets are ok. looked clean...but outdated. I didn't get freaked out....which is good.

Likes:
- The bathroom was clean. Though the water drain in the shower/tub drained very slowly. However, hot water and pressure was very good.
- This is the first lodging place I have ever seen to give sampler toothpaste. next to the lotion, shampoo, conditioner. Thought it was neat. I did bring my own though.
- free breakfast was available....hot and cold. (note: Hot is biscuits and gravy (no meat) and waffles).
- Pool is outside in back, fenced.
- Hot tub was in a room right in the lobby - full view. is big brother watching???? lol
- Bed was comfy. slept well.
- Though the AC/fan unit is older (in/through wall type), it worked fine. Again, just outdated look and technology....not central or wall panel climate controlled.

Concern:
- The staff is very quiet almost unsociable. I didn't get one hello....unprompted. Seemed odd. Oh well.
- Also something I have seen in other places as well is that there is that weird smell in the side exit/entrance stairwell areas. Can't pinpoint it. Carpet cleaner??? adhesive??? Ventilation??
- Since Billings is primarily industrial, trains go through the city...sometimes at inconvenient times (11pm) blowing the horn. Don't think you can avoid this regardless of place.

Other than that. Not bad. Quick access to restaurants and freeways.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XplorerMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear XplorerMike,
Thank you for your comments concerning your most recent stay with us at the Econolodge in Billings, Mt. Guests like you assist us in making sure that their stays are as comfortable and pleasant as possible. Updates and currently under way at our hotel and the damages you reported have been repaired. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,
Stacy M. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendive, Montana, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had doctor appointments early in morning so we stayed overnight. Little spendy for the room, it was clean but stained, which was okay as we had a pet. No soap, unless the shampoo did double duty. The breakfast was good, biscuits/gravy, waffles and the usual non cook items. My husband witnessed a ?manager? hollering at a front desk employee about making a sign regarding breakfast hours. Not cool!! You don't holler at employees infront of customers. We stayed here four years ago for a month when my husband was working through the union hall. The hotel was under a different name, I think Kelly? Will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for Fridge, not all rooms have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MnMMcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear MnM McIntyre,
Thank you for your comments concerning your last stay here at the Econolodge. I apologize for the incident with the front desk staff and assure you that this issue is being addressed. We are currently remodeling and updating the hotel to better serve our guests needs. We look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you for your time.
Thank you,
Stacy M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Billings, MT was my first stop on a 5 day cross-country road trip from Tacoma to Orlando. The morning before I left, I checked motel prices online at choicehotels.com and found this room priced at $76. Thinking I could do better finding a motel on the fly, I didn't book the room. Arriving in Billings 12 hours later, I found plenty of motels, but they were either full or filling up fast. The two Motel 6's across the road were booked with two people waiting in line. Heading to the Econolodge, I found the rate now at $119, even with a senior discount. I couldn't believe it. $119 a night? In Billings?? On a Thursday??? Fearful that I wouldn't find any place else after an hour of searching, I bit the bullet and got the room.

The room was OK. It was worn and in need of a remodel. There was damage on the wall in the bathroom, but it appeared clean. Logging on using the free wi-fi, I found the room online priced at $107. I went down to the desk to inquire about why the difference. The girl was friendly and listened, but said that the price online is cheaper than showing up at the motel. She said she could not refund the difference, but that I could talk to the manager in the AM.

I wasn't expecting much, but found that Stacy, the manager, is a real pro. She was friendly and personable and refunded me $12 on the bill. I told her about the damage in my room and she took note of it and thanked me for letting her know. This definitely helped make up for a rather expensive one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank County-Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear County Hunter,
Thank you for your comments concerning your most recent stay with us at the Econolodge in Billings, MT. I appreciate your feedback and assure you that guests are always put first and I take seriously customer dissatisfaction. We are updating several items throughout the hotel and the maintenance issues you addressed have been remedied. I appreciate you taking the time to list your concerns with me. I look foward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,
Stacy M. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Gull Lake, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

First stop of vacation. Booked through Choicehotels.com. My wife and three kids in a double queen room with frig and micro. Room filthy a/c doesn't work. Had maintenance repair but still didn't work. Told to open windows. I had to call to speak to the manager, no manager there. They actually told my wife to checkout and find another place to stay. Put them into a king room no pullout or roll aways. When asked if they could get a microwave and refer the guy actually told them to check out he was tired of dealing with them and the faster they left the better. Wife had to pack up three kids at 9:30 at night and move to another hotel. I have been using Choice Hotels for years. This one should be removed as one of their properties. Stay at your own risk. Here you will get far less than you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Kirk T.
Thank you for your most recent response to your most recent stay with us. I apologize for the dissatisfactions you expressed. I am available 24/7 and do apologize that I was not able to speak with you before your departure. I have spoken with the appropriate staff and assure you that these issues have been addressed. We strive to attempt to make each guests stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. From what you said, we did upgrade your room and I apologize that this was not to your satisfaction. I would like to earn your business and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,
Stacy M. Genereal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Billings hotels

Mafra, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Oh my. We can deal with a lot, but this was beyond the pale. The room itself was okay, but the sink area, which is immediately on the right as you enter, was chipped as though someone had chewed on it (a while ago). There was only one water cup instead of the usual four, and one coffee cup, and the coffee machine was broken. The facial tissues were empty after the first pull. When we opened the drapes, the view was horrible. (See photo.) Finally, the air-conditioning was very loud (think 747 takeoff), so we put in earplugs. But as the night progressed, another, extra-terrestrial sound periodically added to the din. What a disaster. We wouldn't return if back in the area unless we could first vet the room.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before agreeing to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaPimental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Patricia Pimental,
Thank you for your response to your most recent stay. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. I have spoken with the appropriate staff and am implementing new policies to continue to improve our services to improve guest satisfaction. Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,
Stacy M. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I paid almost $100 per night for a single room with a noisy air conditioner, a clogged up bathtub, dripping water in the hall outside my room, a little girl behind the front desk who was too busy reading her aesthetics textbook to be bothered with helping customers, and no one cleaned my room after the first night, not even clean towels? AVOID THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Roscoe C,
Thank you for your recent comments. I appreciate your comments and have addressed your concerns with the appropriate staff and am remedying the situations. We strive to continue to be better and with customers like you making us aware of concerns we can only become better. I apologize for your dissatisfaction and would like to continue to see you in the future. Thank you for your time.
Sincerely,
Stacy M. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#31 of 51 in Billings
228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Billings - West End
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Homestead Park
Quality Inn Homestead Park
#24 of 51 in Billings
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Billings
0.8 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#7 of 51 in Billings
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kelly Inn Billings
Kelly Inn Billings
#27 of 51 in Billings
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 5425 Midland Rd, Billings, MT 59101-6347 (Formerly Kelly Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econolodge is conveniently located off of exit 446 off of Interstate 90. Fast food as well as family dining are within a 5 block radius. We are centrally located to shopping and Billings area attractions. We are pet friendly, offer free wi-fi, guest laundry services, free continental breakfast, expanded cable and have an indoor jacuzzi and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Hotel Billings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing