We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #36 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Reviewed July 22, 2012

First stop of vacation. Booked through Choicehotels.com. My wife and three kids in a double queen room with frig and micro. Room filthy a/c doesn't work. Had maintenance repair but still didn't work. Told to open windows. I had to call to speak to the manager, no manager there. They actually told my wife to checkout and find another place to stay. Put them into a king room no pullout or roll aways. When asked if they could get a microwave and refer the guy actually told them to check out he was tired of dealing with them and the faster they left the better. Wife had to pack up three kids at 9:30 at night and move to another hotel. I have been using Choice Hotels for years. This one should be removed as one of their properties. Stay at your own risk. Here you will get far less than you pay for.

Room Tip: Stay away even if you are desperate for a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 236 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

We only needed a place to sleep between Mt. Rushmore and Yellowstone. I wish we had gone elsewhere. The check- in gal did not know how to process our Choice gift card. She woke me up with a call at 10pm to say that this hotel does not accept those cards (?) and I would have to use a different payment method. The hotel was not especially clean and the breakfast was so-so. I would not stay again.

Room Tip: There have got to be better places to stay in Billings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Econolodge
5425 Midland Road
Billings, MT 59101

7/29/2012

Dear Pat M,


Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor concerning your recent stay. I appreciate your feedback and utilize each comment as a teaching and learning opportunity. I do apologize for the inconvenience with the Choice Hotels gift card. I am looking into this matter as to alleviate further guest dissatisfaction as you experienced.

The breakfast menu at the Econolodge is regulated by our brand name and we strive to meet and exceed the breakfast requirements. Thanks to guest comments like yours we continue to improve on this.

I apologize for the lack of cleanliness as you stated. I personally discuss guest complaints with the housekeeping staff as to alleviate any further issues.

Once again, we do apologize for the inconvenience. I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Stacy M.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

After having trouble with reservations at another motel I finally got checked into this place for two rooms at an outrageous price from Tuesday until Sunday... I had to go upstairs plus pay $20 a day for my little dogs. Ok sounds normal but on Friday afternoon the manager informed me that my rooms will go up $70 a night because it's the weekend!! I wasn't informed of this at checkin and I'm upset!! The manager can only say its the owners policy! It's too late to find other arrangements and I think they know that. I called Choice Hotels and all they can do is call the manager and inform the manager that there is a complaint!! This is an Econolodge and a bit shabby, spots on the carpet,very low water pressure,and ancient televisions. If this was a beautiful hotel maybe I wouldn't be so upset but actually a really nice place would not have done this. The owner can't be contacted for any reason and the manager is only doing what he says! I would not have stayed here had I been informed. I am a frequent traveler and this place should be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alboise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Econolodge
5425 Midland Road
Billings, MT 59101

Dear Alboise1,

Thank you so much for your recent review on trip advisor. I have spoken with you at length and I do apologize for any misunderstandings and miscommunications that occurred. Our pet policy is noted several places throughout our reservation policy and in areas during check in; as is an undeclared pet fee.

Our rates do increase during stays, especially on weekends and during special events occurring in the surrounding areas. At check in this rate is printed on the guest registration and the guest must acknowledge this by initializing. I have spoken with my staff and instructed them to review these rate changes with guests upon confirmation of the reservation and also at check in to alleviate any further miscommunication.

I also appreciate your comments about our hotel and your housekeeping and up keep concerns. I have spoken with the appropriate staff and assure you that your comments are taken seriously.

Thank you, once again for commenting on trip advisor and I hope you will allow us to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Stacy M
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nice, quiet, clean, comfortable rooms. I believe mine was a king-size bed with a microwave and refridgerator. In-door pool with washer/dryer on the premises. Great tasting, hot breakfast which includes waffles and oatmeal. Very convenient rooms, some with two doors so you can access room from outside parking lot and then as well to inside of hotel from room. Fast, friendly service from the hotel staff. Want a great, relaxing night's sleep, choose THIS Econo Lodge!

Room Tip: Some rooms have two doors for convenient access to inside hotel or parking lot which ever is needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathski35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Econolodge
5425 Midland Road
Billings! mT 59101

Dear Cathski35,

Thank you for your recent comments on TripAdvisor. We strive to make each guests stay as enjoyable and comfortable as if they were at home. We do take pride in our amenities and appreciate that the guests enjoy these items also. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Stacy M

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Since I have worked for Choice Hotels for sometime, I decided to book all Choice for my move East. While I wasn't expecting an Econo-Lodge to be luxurious in any means, I was kind of hoping for a okay room to crash for the night and a friendly face if/when I encountered a problem. First room- did not match pictures put up, but for a cheap room wasn't that bad, sticky spots on floor were a bit unsettling... The wireless wasn't working at all and when I complained I was told pretty much just figure it out. When my dad complained he was told that they would reset the router. Which would mean unplug and then replug. Therefore taking the networks down, they never did that. Later, I heard strange noises but decided to write it off as just crappy hotel noises. Until I had to use the bathroom, and discovered it was raining dirty bath/toilet water through the ceiling.(Literally POURING brownish/yellow rain) When I told the night auditor, I was told they could switch my room, which they did. But once again I was pretty much just shrugged off. Second room smelled like dog. But I wanted to sleep so wasn't going to complain. It seems I burdened the Front Desk Agent when I asked for a dollar that would work in the vending machine, luckily for me he was a doll and neglected to tell me the machine was completely sold out. I've done their jobs, and I think they poorly represented Choice Hotels. NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Very clean, comfortable room. We stayed 1 night in June 2012.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Pool was inviting, WI-FI was fast, and quiet. Rooms clean, and up to date.

Room Tip: Ground floor, and ask for rooms in the back of grounds. The sun does not hit this area early in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sursumcorda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Billings
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Billings
Days Inn Billings
#17 of 51 in Billings
641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Homestead Park
Quality Inn Homestead Park
#21 of 51 in Billings
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Dude Rancher Lodge
Dude Rancher Lodge
#34 of 51 in Billings
294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#6 of 51 in Billings
237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#30 of 51 in Billings
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 5425 Midland Rd, Billings, MT 59101-6347 (Formerly Kelly Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range: $47 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econolodge is conveniently located off of exit 446 off of Interstate 90. Fast food as well as family dining are within a 5 block radius. We are centrally located to shopping and Billings area attractions. We are pet friendly, offer free wi-fi, guest laundry services, free continental breakfast, expanded cable and have an indoor jacuzzi and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Hotel Billings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing