We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice selection, good food.”

MacKenzie River Pizza Grill & Pub
Ranked #98 of 346 Restaurants in Billings
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Transporting you to the very heart of the Northern Rockies, the casual, rustic atmosphere with unique Montana Lodgepole furniture, stunning panoramic canvas and historic photographs sets the tone for distinctive, creatively prepared food served by vibrant employees renowned for passing their upbeat attitudes on to our customers. The MacKenzie River menu features an incredible array of delectable dishes, always flavorful and fresh, and served up in heaping portions. The acclaimed gourmet pizzas are offered on a variety of crusts – sourdough, natural grain, thick and thin – with toppings from classic pepperoni to pesto, ricotta, and sun-dried tomato. With nearly two dozen pizzas on the menu, you are bound to find at least one you’ll love. MacKenzie River also offer hearty sandwiches served warm on fresh-baked bread, full and half-sized salads, pastas that will wow your taste buds. You will find everything from Pulled Pork Nachos and Buffalo Chicken Mack n’ Cheese to a fresh Cobb Salad, housemade soups and Wings. Be sure to save room for the Mack Lovin dessert, gooey chocolate chip cookies topped with ice cream and chocolate sauce; it’s great for sharing. To complement the menu choices, select from a variety of microbrews, fine wines and specialty cocktails.
Tucson, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice selection, good food.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Environment is a little noisy, but nicely decorated.

They have a large variety of food and beverages, and everything we had was good. Some of the items were a little expensive, but they give you a lot of food.

Good parking and easy in/easy out.

I would eat here again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MoobyTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    19
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“not my cup of tea”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

have eaten here several times and just never been impressed with the food. Service was average we ate with a group just was not what I enjoy

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Each dining experience is worse than the last :(”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

When I first moved to Billings my bf and I tried out MacKenzie and really liked it! We ordered the Athenian and got it with thin crust. It was really good and we were pleased that we had found a go-to pizza place in town. The second time we came in because we were such fans we signed up for their mobile club and had received texts for free Lodgepoles. The Lodgepole themselves were fine but the marinara that came with was rather bland (we had yet to try their marinara because the Athenian doesn't have any). They definitely weren't terrible, especialy because it also comes with ranch and come on, can anything be terrible drenched in ranch? The pizza we got that visit was ok, somewhat flavorless but we thought maybe we just chose the wrong pizza for our tastebuds. The third time we went everything we got was pretty much below par. The beer cheese soup was watered down and kind of grainy. Like it left little particles on your tongue. Then we ordered the wings and asked for them to be well done. I hate nothing more than a soggy buffalo wing. Unfortunately, that is what we got. The texture was somewhat comparable to Jell-O. Almost gag-worthy. If anything, they were probably under done which is odd since we specifically asked for them to be well-done. Then we got a pizza that was on special called The Humble Pie. It was quite possibly the blandest pizza ever made. Given it only had 5 cheeses, spinach, garlic and olive oil it wasn't suppose to be extremely flavorful but literally we tasted nothing. I think the waitress may have had people complain about the lack of taste because before we could ask for something to dip the pizza in she came over and asked us if we needed something to dip it in. Now, I wouldn't say I will never come here again because the Athenian was really good. I just now know not to deviate from what we have had and know we like and to not order anything from their appetizer menu. The service however has always been pretty good. Occasionally you will get your appetizer with your pizza instead of before but that kind of thing doesn't bother me as much as I know it does some people. Definitely worth a try, but make sure you pick a pizza with lots of toppings and therefore will be flavorful. Sometimes simple pizza (like a margherita) can be awesome but here they can't pull that off.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcrox04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Meet friends, eat pizza, drink beer.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a great place to meet friends for a good time. The menu has good variety of pizza, sandwiches and salads. The drinks are good and there is a good selection of local beers on tap. There are 2 locations in Billings that I know of, and we have eaten at both. Service is very good, especially at the heights location.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MontanaHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We loved the MacKenzie River Pizza place in Missoula so we thought we would try it here. The ambience is not near as nice and the service was not as efficient and friendly. We walked up to this restaurant from the Country Inn & Suites where we were staying. The restaurant is located at one end of a shopping mall (close to the road). Not the easiest to find as their signage is quite small (Look for an all wood building). The food was good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank leslie026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacKenzie River Pizza Grill & Pub also viewed

 

Been to MacKenzie River Pizza Grill & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing