We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, but not a 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The BW Clocktower in was ok , clean , friendly service , but seemed to have constant noise ,all night, even the toilet would sometimes splash up, mentioned this to front desk staff , they sort of brushed it off as this was unusual, but nothing was done about it or even mentioned again. coffee maker in our room didnt work , again mentioned to front desk ... never fixed. Room was always clean, but this shouldn't be a 3 star, the Country Inn suites is at least a star above this one and it is only a 2 1/2 star, and you get breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damargin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

I am very sorry about the constant noise, the coffee maker, and toilet. Without knowing your specific room I can't specifically address the problems. However, we had been notified of several toilets having problems in a section and have since been replaced. This sounds like you may have been in one of those rooms prior to use becoming aware of the problem and I truly do apologize for that. As for the coffee maker, ours are situated on a tray which can be moved around and as such are not plugged in. I can understand it to be a hassle but we found many guests normally moved the coffee maker around so we tried to just make it a quick second easier for the early morning risers. I appreciate the honest comments and assure you we take guest comments very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

974 - 980 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

My room, with a single king bed, was very nicely appointed. The bed was super comfortable, with a plethora of pillows. The room itself was quite spacious, with a writing desk and a comfy couch. The towels were plush and soft, and the coffee provided in packets was quite good. The HVAC system had a fan that could be set to run all night, effectively blocking noise from late arrivals.

Room Tip: It would be a noisy stay right by the pool during summer; my trip was in October so there wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watergirl34145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

It is nice to see you enjoyed your stay and the room was to your liking. we are currently remodeling our pool rooms so they be even better by next summer. I am also really pleased to see that the HVAC system worked well for you and allowed you to get a good nights rest. You are correct that summer the pool area is our most popular area, but we take noise complaints very seriously as one of our main job is to provide a good night's rest for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a room with a single king bed. The bed was comfortable. The room had a small desk, reclining chair and mini fridge, but no microwave. I appreciated the sitting option. The 'closet', luggage rack and adjacent sink area is very cramped. Bathroom is small. The people at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. I would stay here again. The adjacent restaurant 'Stellas' is very good, but is not open for dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

I am glad you enjoyed your stay though you felt a little cramped. We do offer several different types of king rooms and would suggest if you would like more space in the room and bathroom go with a king room by the pool as they are our largest king rooms with a pullout coach, large bathroom, and plenty of extra space to spread out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night only as we had to leave from Billings airport to Seattle. Found it to be clean and the staff was very helpful. They arranged a very early shuttle(4:30am) to take us to the airport and even offered us early morning coffee!

Room Tip: We had 6 suitcases for 3 people...they unfortunately did not know this so we were stuck in a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marynafromSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

You will be happy to know we really take comments by our guests seriously and after comments of not having elevator access to a section of the hotel this winter we will be putting in a second elevator which will now give us elevator access to 90% of the property. We are always trying to improve our property and honest feedback from guests such as yourself is invaluable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had and early morning flight out of Billings after spending several days at Custer State Park. We just wanted a clean room and some dinner. We got so much more. The hotel is only about 10 minutes from the airport. It is also just a block from a street lined with restaurants. The hotel will give you a map of the restaurants,
The breakfast at Stella's is a real treat!
I don't know how they did it, but the hotel lobby smells like a pine forest!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Custer State Park is a great place and I am glad that we capped on your travels with an enjoyable experience. As a traveler myself I know how a hotel at the end of the stay can make a long trip just a little bit longer. I hope you were able to actually enjoy one of the many restaurants we have within 2 blocks of us. Hope you come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well 2 negatives I have on this hotel is the room we stayed in had a tricky door lock and it was difficult to get in to the room and the parking lot is tight. The location is great for experiencing downtown Billings. I only had one night there and was able to walk from the hotel and find lots of choices for dinner. We ate at the Montana Brewing Co and had a great diner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oregongolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the location. We like to joke we are walking distance from some of the best restaurants and stumbling distance from some of the best bars. With regards the two negatives we are currently in the process of purchasing all new locks and going with new RFID locks which which don't require you to even insert your keys into the lock, but just touch it. We are also working on improving the parking as I drive a large SUV and park every day though I have found backing to be the easiest way to park. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I was initially upset about having to stay here I thought the downtown area was pretty sketchy. After checking in I realized downtown is just as safe as the rest of Billings and mostly a historic area. I loved my hotel room. BW Plus' are always so nice. The pool area was pretty all though I didn't use it. Heard many guests compliment the restaurant onsite, did not use it myself. Love the "key to the city" you recieve upon check in (includes discounts at many stores and restaurants close by). Great, friendly staff. Already booked two more reservations here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britvand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

I am really glad you gave us a chance make your stay a pleasant one and I am especially glad to hear we didn't disappoint. Many people hear downtown and instantly think negative thoughts. As you have found out downtown is probably one of the nicest and safest parts of Billings. All within walking distance you have locally owned restaurants, which rank among the top rated in Billings, as well as some really great boutique stores from Antique to Diamond stores there is a little of everything. Lastly I am glad you enjoyed the Key to the City program and took advantage of it. many people forget that great little perk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
1.7 mi away
Boothill Inn & Suites
Boothill Inn & Suites
#2 of 51 in Billings
607 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#11 of 51 in Billings
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Billings
4.9 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn

Address: 2511 1st Ave N, Billings, MT 59101-2320 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS ClockTower Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Billings
#8 Family Hotel in Billings
#10 Romantic Hotel in Billings
Price Range: $79 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an outdoor pool, Best Western PLUS Clocktower Inn is conveniently in the center of the city of Billings, Montana. Guests of the hotel can enjoy freshly baked goods at Stella's Kitchen and Bakery, on-site. Comfortably designed, each guest room at the hotel features a refrigerator, cable TV, and free Wi-Fi access. The private bathrooms come with a bathtub or shower and free toiletries. After a long day of exploring the sights of Billings, guests at Best Western PLUS Clocktower Inn can unwind in the hotel's sauna. Added amenities available here include a complimentary airport shuttle, a 24-hour front desk, and a business center. Yellowstone Art Museum is a 7-minute walk away, and a number of federal and state government buildings, as well as financial institutions, can be reached in a 5-minute walk. Zoo Montana is 12.2 miles from the hotel. Free parking is offered at this Best Western. Billings Logan International Airport is 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Clocktower Hotel Billings
Best Western Billings
Best Western Clock Hotel
Billings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing