We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Pleased”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I booked this hotel because I was running in the Montana Marathon, which this hotel sponsored. Originally it was around $130-$150 online. I was mostly looking for a place to crash the night before the marathon so I was not interested in paying that much for a hotel room. I decided to call and ask if they had any special rates for runners and Misook was incredibly helpful and friendly. She gave us a $90 rate, which I greatly appreciated.

I expected an average hotel. Something not too fancy or impressive, but my expectations were exceeded. I could tell the hotel was a little bit older, but they have greatly strived to make it a 5 star hotel. The room was clean and updated with nice furnishings. We wished we could have stayed another night! We loved the pool and garden area. It was very welcoming and a relaxing place to stay. Misook was also wonderful at check in. Very friendly and helpful. If and when we come to stay in Billings again, this will be our go-to hotel!

BTW, the Crowne Plaza which is right across the street is about the same price but they require full payment when you make the reservation and it's non-refundable. We decided not to stay there for that simple fact. Clocktower Inn stood up well to this hotel and only had a 24hr cancellation policy. I recommend this place highly!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Our owner is an avid runner and enjoys all the fun events which help promote a healthy lifestyle which is why we want to make traveling for the marathon as economical as possible. Misook is a very lively and incredible person. We always joke just 5 minutes with Misook will make your day just that much brighter. As for the room I am glad you enjoyed it and was surprisingly pleased. I hope you come back again and make sure to call the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    282
    104
    42
    26
See reviews for
226
285
86
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were arriving late at night after a very long day traveling and needed a place to stay before going to Yellowstone. The shuttle met us at the airport and it was only a short drive to the hotel. The hotel has a very peculiar layout but our room (2 Queens), in the pool area, was comfortable for the 4 of us (couple and 2 young-adult sons) and the staff were friendly. Our breakfast at Stellas will be remembered for a long time for its quantity and value for money. The aircon was noisy, but this seems to be a common problem in American hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
The fact that you would stay here again means a great deal to myself and the employees who strive to make each guests experience an enjoyable one. I will agree our property is unique and can make for an adventure for people who have just checked in. I am very glad to hear you took advantage of Stella's as it really is an amazing breakfast. As for the A/C unit the newer models are very quiet and we are continuing to make note of which units increase in the decibel level and replace them. Very glad you enjoyed your stay and would visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

As long-time BestWestern Gold Club members, we choose this hotel for an overnight stop on the way east from Yellowstone. The check-in although efficient was not very friendly with the desk clerk apparently in a surly mood.
After check-in we received directions for parking the car, which proved to be a nightmare!!! The guest parking area is totally inadequate for the hotel and required driving an obstacle course to find a spot. Getting luggage from the car to the room was another unpleasant job as the entrance to an elevator from the parking area leads you to rather narrow hallway.
The room was clean with comfortable beds. The bathroom was spotless. The overall decor of the room was pleasant.
Check-out as usual with Best Western was easy and fast.
This hotel is not bad, but the parking facilities make it difficult to rate it any better than average!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
As a Best Western Rewards member I appreciate the honest feedback. We try hard to ensure every guest, especially our rewards members, have an efficient and pleasant experience which starts at check-in. I am very sorry to hear the front desk agent did not convey the personality you have come to expect from Best Westerns and I will make sure to notify them that attitudes can be infectious. I can only apologize about the parking; being a property located centrally in downtown we are unable to have the luxury of large parking lots though we do boast the largest parking lot downtown outside of the parking garages which the other downtown hotels have to use. We try our best to maximize our parking and making sure large vehicles are not being double parked. I personally drive a large SUV and can sympathize with the parking.

I am glad though that once you made it to the room you found the room and amenities pleasant and enjoyable. It is hard for us to change the bones of the property but we try very hard to make your experience a superb one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This Motel doesn't look particularly special from the outside but it is the inside that counts:-) We have stayed here on more than one occasion and have found it to be clean, comfortable and quiet. Free wifi is good, so are the beds. Staff are very helpful and friendly and they run an airport shuttle as part of the service. Last visit the usual shuttle driver was not available so one of the Executive staff drove us out to the airport, most impressive service. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We love it when guests come back and stay with us again as we get to know you more each visit. As travelers ourselves we try to make sure we our service and quality of rooms reflects what we hope when we travel. We have actually just finished the renovation of our secondary entrance adding another clock tower as well as stoning the wall to make the secondary entrance another great looking entrance. We also had all our hanging planter boxes exploding with color this summer and I hope you enjoyed those as well. I am also glad to see that we accommodated your airport shuttle and that one of our managers stepped up to provide you with a ride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Room was tiny. Two of us were on top of each other. Very nice furnishings and tv. Very clean. Really tight parking lot to get in and out of. Lots of great restaurants near by. Nice bathroom with big fluffy towels.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MTHockeyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I want to thank you for your review and letting others know about your stay. Our parking spaces do seem to be a little tight though believe it or not they are actually the standards width;however, some are a little more challenging than others. I personally drive a large SUV and have found backing into spots makes it much easier. I see you travel for hockey and hope you stay with us again this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I was driving through Billings and was not sure where to stay with the lack of many hotel chains I sped more nights with. I of course knew of this one and stayed in more then one in years past. The room seemed to initially be of okay value, but then there was an AAA discount and we received discounts on dinner an breakfast at other nearby venues. Upon check in the outside of the building had a motel from the 60's feel to it, but the room had been redone and wa nice with a few jets in the tub. The front desk staff were very helpful everytime we stopped in

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorsburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Talk about pressure. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we did not let you down. I hope your experience with us will hopefully change your mind about other BW properties. Each Best Western in independently owned which allows for owners, such as ours, to keep up with trends and try new things such as jetted tubs, rain showers, or our Key to the City program which gives you a 10% at all the local downtown restaurants within walking distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived there on the Sunday before Labor Day. The receptionist was not friendly at all, unlike any other hotel receptionist in the rest of the America. We were very hungry and looked at the in-house menu, which can only be ordered by phoning a toll free number and they will deliver it. So we asked the receptionist and who gave us a list of restaurants, but unfortunately we couldn't find any open. We asked a passerby who suggested that Burger King might be open and we walked there. On the way there, there were lots of homeless people, people drinking on the street, a group of kids on the skateboards and no one else on the street. This is definitely not a tourist town. We went back to the room after our meal and I started to have allergic reaction, as the hotel allows pets to stay and we didn't know this the time we booked. I had breathing problems the whole night and could not wait to get out of the place. We have stayed in many Best Western hotels and this was the only hotel so far we have not been happy with. The hotel also looks run down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eitar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our property or Billings in general. Labor day is one of the largest holidays in America, where a majority of businesses are closed, much like your bank holidays where everything is closed. I can only apologize about kids on skateboards and the people drinking on the streets by burger king located 5 blocks from the hotel. As the largest city in Montana we have the same problems London, New York, and all other major cities have from people down on their luck to people enjoying the holiday possibly a little too much. Lastly, as for the pets we are proud to be a pet friendly hotel even giving a percentage of the pet fee to the local humane society. However, we do understand many guests may be allergic to animals which is why half our property is not pet friendly and can be guaranteed upon request. We want every guest to enjoy their stay and if a guest notifies the front desk they are having an allergic reaction due to them being in a pet friendly room we will make sure they are moved if a room is available.

We are always remodeling our facility and we have just completed our second entrance of the property and are in the process of remodeling 30 more rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn & Suites
6.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Billings, MT
1.8 mi away
Boothill Inn & Suites
Boothill Inn & Suites
#2 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#6 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Billings West I-90
0.2 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#8 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn

Property: Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn
Address: 2511 1st Avenue N, Billings, MT 59101-2320 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS ClockTower Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Billings
#8 Family Hotel in Billings
#10 Romantic Hotel in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an outdoor pool, Best Western PLUS Clocktower Inn is conveniently in the center of the city of Billings, Montana. Guests of the hotel can enjoy freshly baked goods at Stella's Kitchen and Bakery, on-site. Comfortably designed, each guest room at the hotel features a refrigerator, cable TV, and free Wi-Fi access. The private bathrooms come with a bathtub or shower and free toiletries. After a long day of exploring the sights of Billings, guests at Best Western PLUS Clocktower Inn can unwind in the hotel's sauna. Added amenities available here include a complimentary airport shuttle, a 24-hour front desk, and a business center. Yellowstone Art Museum is a 7-minute walk away, and a number of federal and state government buildings, as well as financial institutions, can be reached in a 5-minute walk. Zoo Montana is 12.2 miles from the hotel. Free parking is offered at this Best Western. Billings Logan International Airport is 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus ClockTower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Clocktower Hotel Billings
Best Western Billings
Best Western Clock Hotel
Billings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing