We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save yourself a headache book someplace else.”
Review of Big Horn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Big Horn Resort
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Save yourself a headache book someplace else.”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

A beautiful hotel but not worth the hassels. We paid 120$ a night plus 40$ for our children to swim also 21$ for a roll away bed because the queen suite wasn't available. The first night we were there we were locked out of our room for a half hour waiting for maintenence to fix it. When we returned on our second day our room wasn't cleaned. We called the front desk they said they would send someone up. The maintenence Guy showed up emptied trashes and replaced towels. Nothing else. When we went to check out we spoke to them about discounting our bill due to all the problems. We were told by the manager on duty all she could give us was 21$ discount. If we wanted more we had to speak to the general manager. Turns out that if we spoke to the GM the 21$ was added back on to my credit card. So I called the GM, after a week of phone tag we finally spoke. After everything we had gone through our customer satisfactions was only worth 27$ and i was basically told i was lying about the do not disturb sign not even being in our room. It seems that a lazy, lying housekeeper and an incompetent front desk staff is more valuable than satisfied happy customers. Do yourself a favor and book a different hotel and save yourself the headache.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blacktribe95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
I am sorry that you were not satified with your stay. We take do not disturb sign on your room seriously as that tells us that our guests do not want to be touched by hotel services and we verify all reports of no service twice to assure we do not have a lazy staff member, and at any time that the sign is removed during our service time we make sure to attend to your needs. We are not accusing you of anything, but apologize for our misunderstanding of your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    74
    28
    21
    32
See reviews for
150
52
5
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Clean room, friendly staff...QUICK service when our tv clicker didnt work. LOL We got the water park package. Boys spent 5 hours playing, closed down the place. Yummy pizza in the water park kept them going. Breakfast was the best we have had in a hotel, so many choices. We will definately stay here next time through Billings!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VeryHappyFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I will pass along your praises to the staff as they appreciate hearing when they have made our guests stay so great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

One of my requisites for any hotel is that it be very clean. This hotel met my expectations. I did have a problem with a child running back and forth across the room above us but asked the front desk to see if they could resolve the issue and the rest of the evening was fantastic. We left before breakfast was ready but there were some cold items out that we were able to grab (yogurt, fruit, bagels, etc). We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank powelltnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We love to hear when we are doing a good job and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay. We were there for one night only but it was super comfy, rooms are large and spacious. We may have paid a bit more on this one but it was so worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteD606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband could not get through when calling for our reservations, the phone rang and rang and rang, we called back several times and it just kept ringing and ringing and ringing, until.............someone answered and guess what...........they picked up and said Big Horn Resort can you please hold? And then we were on hold for another 15 minutes, no lie. We thought the place was on fire or something. When they picked up there was no apology, or thank you for your patience. Things happen I know, with that being said we are still going to stay there and hope the face to face service is better than our 1st impression.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BECKY b B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I will certainly look into this phone issue as our staff are not trained to allow the phone to ring off the hook nor to put you on hold for 15 minutes. That is unacceptable and will be corrected. I am sure your stay will be night and day different, and thank you for allowing us to prove your first impression wrong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal Valley, IL
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here for ZooGrass Festival and from the greeting when we arrived to the moment we left our stay was top notch. There was a group of 14 of us and everyone enjoyed their stay. The hot breakfast was great, rooms were clean, the snack machine with ice cream bars was a plus!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we love to hear that we have done a good job and we look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend of July 6-8 to attend Zoofest at the Billings Zoo. I did read prior reviews of this hotel, and have walked away stunned that other people rated it the way they did.

Our service from all staff was wonderful. I thought the rooms were great, large, spacious. We had a room w/2 queens facing the water park (which we didn't use). Room was immaculate, beds very comfortable, in room coffee (you don't see that all the time).

Yes, there were lots of kids running around but I think it's due to the waterpark. Some kids were running thru the halls, but what can you do?

Great continental breakfast: eggs, sausage, potatoes, cereal, breads, but the highlight was the pancake making machine. My hubby wants one for home!

I would stay here again, no hesitation! Thanks for Montana for being so great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabsSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we strive to please our guests and it is wonderful to hear that we have hit that mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
7.7 mi away
Boothill Inn & Suites
Boothill Inn & Suites
#2 of 51 in Billings
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Billings, MT
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Billings
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Billings West I-90
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Resort

Property: Big Horn Resort
Address: 1801 Majestic Ln, Billings, MT 59102-6728 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Billings)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Billings
#8 Business Hotel in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Horn Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Horn Resort is your vacation destination with a 35,000 sq ft Indoor Water Park, trips arranged to horseback ride, tour the Big Horn Canyon by boat or the Wild Horse Range, trips to Custer's Battlefield or Yellowstone Park. We have a great vacation just waiting for you. Start your day with our one of a kind full hot breakfast buffet and end your day with a relaxing drink at our Big Horn Lounge before climbing into our custom made beds for a restful night's sleep. Truly a Montana destination awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Horn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel Billings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing