We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”
Review of Big Horn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Big Horn Resort
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
Coal Valley, IL
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here for ZooGrass Festival and from the greeting when we arrived to the moment we left our stay was top notch. There was a group of 14 of us and everyone enjoyed their stay. The hot breakfast was great, rooms were clean, the snack machine with ice cream bars was a plus!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we love to hear that we have done a good job and we look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    74
    28
    20
    32
See reviews for
148
52
5
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend of July 6-8 to attend Zoofest at the Billings Zoo. I did read prior reviews of this hotel, and have walked away stunned that other people rated it the way they did.

Our service from all staff was wonderful. I thought the rooms were great, large, spacious. We had a room w/2 queens facing the water park (which we didn't use). Room was immaculate, beds very comfortable, in room coffee (you don't see that all the time).

Yes, there were lots of kids running around but I think it's due to the waterpark. Some kids were running thru the halls, but what can you do?

Great continental breakfast: eggs, sausage, potatoes, cereal, breads, but the highlight was the pancake making machine. My hubby wants one for home!

I would stay here again, no hesitation! Thanks for Montana for being so great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabsSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we strive to please our guests and it is wonderful to hear that we have hit that mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings mt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Came from Glendive to billings , I did not read reviews and should have . Lady at desk was so rude about credit card and rate when it had been held , also after she made a show out of us , in front of other people in lobby , she didn't have a clean queen room to put us in , despite reservation , acted like it was our fault , finally got settled in 3/4 size beds , not even fulls , thought we ll deal with this in a.m. . To my surprise assistant manager started out nice , than met with manager to investigate ,and came back rude , manager Ginny was called and did not respond , these folks don't care about service or customers and that's that! Also room was not clean ,understafffed , overworked emplyees,

Room Tip: I wouldn't even rate
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Again, I apologize that you felt our customer service was not up to your satisfaction even after we discounted your room and you went away happy with our solutions. To hold a room until late at night requires a valid credit card. You did not provide a valid card and your room was canceled at 6 pm as is the case with all hotel. When you arrived at 11 pm for a room the staff bent over backwards to find a room for you, and even gave it to you at a considerable discount. Our staff also put up with you verbal abuse not only that evening but for several hours the next morning. You were given what you ask for and yet you are still not happy. I am very disappointed that we could not solve your issues for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are way too noisy. You can hear every little thing going on in the rooms next to you, the only time you can get some relief is when the fan kicks on. Pray you don't have a baby next door in one room, and 5 teen boys in the other. If you do then bring earplugs or sleeping wont be a option.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

As a travel agent, I would recommend this property to my clients. The rooms are nicely designed, appointed, and amenitied. The service was gracious and inviting. The breakfast selections has a great variety and convenient scheduling. Although we did not use the attached indoor water park, I did walk over and think it would be great for families. And although there were many children around for the season opening, I did not notice any great noise increase in my room. This property is quite a ways west of downtown Billings, but does have great access to the Interstate and easy direct routes to the Rimrock Mall area, the zoo, and surface streets to other major attractions and downtown. It was a nice surprise for Billings.

Room Tip: Away from the Interstate and railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROYALTY_TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for you great comments. We love to hear when we have done a great job. I will pass your comments on to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We held a non-profit function in the convention center and it was great! The staff was very helpful nad professional. The facility itself was very classy and we had a great event! Thank you Brenda, Christy and the rest of the staff!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for your candid comments. We love to hear when we have done a great job. We hope your event was successful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Awesome rooms, great location, friendly staff all around, especially the gentleman that works in the Convention Center, he is one of a kind. The full breakfast is amazing and the Convention Center is very top-of-the-line in Billings, trust me, I've been to them all and The Big Horn Resort's takes the cake.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you for you comments. We love to hear when we have done a great job. I will pass on you comments to our staff. We look forward to you next visit to Billings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
7.7 mi away
Boothill Inn & Suites
Boothill Inn & Suites
#2 of 51 in Billings
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Billings, MT
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Billings West I-90
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Billings
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Resort

Property: Big Horn Resort
Address: 1801 Majestic Ln, Billings, MT 59102-6728 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Billings)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Billings
#8 Business Hotel in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Horn Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Horn Resort is your vacation destination with a 35,000 sq ft Indoor Water Park, trips arranged to horseback ride, tour the Big Horn Canyon by boat or the Wild Horse Range, trips to Custer's Battlefield or Yellowstone Park. We have a great vacation just waiting for you. Start your day with our one of a kind full hot breakfast buffet and end your day with a relaxing drink at our Big Horn Lounge before climbing into our custom made beds for a restful night's sleep. Truly a Montana destination awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Big Horn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel Billings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing