We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, poor service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Northern Hotel
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great property, poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I spent the weekend at the Northern Hotel. The hotel is in a great location downtown. The room was perfect and very quiet. The hotel itself seemed new with a great lobby area. This would have been a 5/5 hotel without a doubt except for the service. Most of the people working the front desk were not friendly. There was no robe in our room. Our towels were not replaced nor was the soap or shampoo on our second day. When we called to get this corrected we were not treated as would be expected in such a fine hotel and were made to feel we were bothering them. Luckily all this can be fixed with more emphasis placed on customer service. If the service can be brought to the level of the property, this truly will be the best hotel in Billings.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 67584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Director of Sales at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
67584,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your visit with us at The Northern Hotel. I shared your review with the team at our meeting yesterday. What we put in place during the meeting is a mandatory weekly training for all agents. We will be participating in roll-playing and exceeding guest expectation activities. It's our responsibility to you while hosting you as our guest to exceed your expectations and reading your review, we did not achieve that objective. An apology is in line from the team and on behalf of the entire staff, I apologize to you. If by chance you find your way back to Billings, Montana, I would like for you to be my VIP. Please reach out to me directly (Director of Sales & Marketing). Safe travels!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    85
    26
    13
    13
See reviews for
64
131
18
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enumclaw, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed one night, arriving after midnight, but what a joy it was to stay at the Northern! The rooms are small but functional, clean, and beautifully adorned. There was noise out on the street when I arrived, but the windows totally blocked it out, and I was on the facing side to the Crystal Casino across the street. The bed was perfect - firm with plenty of pillows. I normally stay in the Hilton Garden Inn, but the Northern is very comparable in rates and quality. In fact the stay was so nice and comfy that I will return to the Northern instead of the HGI. One block from Starbucks, and another block to Stella's which is my favorite breakfast place in Billings. I read the two terrible reviews for this place, but did not experience anything like that. In short, I've been gob struck by their quality and excellence. Keep it up!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enjineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Director of Sales at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
William T,

I am glad to hear you got a chance to experience this newly renovated gem of a hotel. Chris and Mike Nelson are the owners and they mixed the old with the new to give travelers a one of a kind hotel located in downtown Billings, Montana. Everything that you can enjoy while visiting downtown as you mentioned are a block away. Places like Starbucks, Stella's, Bernie's Diner, TEN and downtown summer street concerts are within a block of the hotel. When you book your next stay, ask for me directly, (Director of Sales & Marketing) as I would like to have you as my VIP to exceed your expectations even more. The best compliment is to tell someone else about us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon here at The Northern Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. The staff is friendly, the room was clean. The have a resturant hooked with the hotel it was nice and good breakfast. We had a horrible experience at 2 other hotels before coming to this hotel and the were able to find us a room even at 10 am.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outdoors1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Director of Sales at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Outdoors1988,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us here at The Northern Hotel. I shared your review with the team to let them know they did an awesome job in ensuring your stay with us was enjoyable. Comments like yours allow us to measure how we are doing. I see you got a chance to enjoy a nice hot breakfast in Bernie's as well. I'm excited to share with you that we will be rolling out a new menu this month in Bernie's and would like to invite you back to try it out on your next visit to Billings, Montana. On behalf of the entire staff here at The Northern Hotel, we look forward to seeing you soon. Until then, safe travels!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado springs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

On our way to canada with kids. Never been in Billings. Did a search and stayed here. I always try to stay downtown and this place is simply remarkable. Free and accommodating valet? Yep. Like a big city hotel in every way. Sorry Billings I know not a thing about you. But I was impressed with everything. Will bring my beautiful spouse here. Thanks for a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruckerco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Director of Sales at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Ruckerco,

Thanks for taking time to share your experience with us here at The Northern Hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself during your visit to Billings, MT. Billings is the largest city within a 500 mile radius and when guest visit and spend a night downtown to enjoy the shops and history that's embedded, they get to truly see what the locals love so much about the city itself. When you do come back to The Northern Hotel, please contact me (Louis-Director of Sales & Marketing) as I would love to exceed you and your fiancé's expectations. Also when visiting again, please ask the front desk for a list of things to see and do while here. You will be amazed at the history that's in Billings, Montana. Until then, safe travels!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

My sister and I were in town the last weekend in June for a family event. We were intrigued by the renovation of the Northern and we both remember it from childhood. However, I, too, think it's over-priced and over-rated.
Positives:
Valet staff was very friendly and helpful.
Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.
Negatives:
Their website says "covered valet or self parking". When we asked where the self parking was, we were told we could park across the street in the bank parking lot but would have to be out by 9am the following morning when they opened. We valet parked one night and waited about 20 minutes for the car.
Our first room had not been cleaned properly. This is the biggest issue we have with the hotel. We had a room with two queen beds. When my sister pulled back the covers, it was obvious the bed sheets had not been changed. They were very prompt when moving us to a new room which was larger. We had room service the next morning and then left for the day. Upon our return, the room had not been serviced. Our breakfast dishes were still on the table and the bathroom hadn't been cleaned. It's likely the change in rooms wasn't communicated so we called and they cleaned it right away. The next morning, we noticed dirt between the drapes and the wall (the drapes are floor to ceiling), dirty bathroom floors, and items on the floor under the table.
Along with other complaints I saw regarding no in-room coffee service, why only one robe? Usually there are two people staying in a room. Why not a robe for each? That certainly seems standard in other hotels we've stayed.
In summary, the Northern really needs to get their housekeeping in order. It's extremely uncomfortable staying in a place you feel has not been cleaned properly. Very definitely not 4 star service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Director of Sales at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Peggy720,

Thank you for your review and allowing us the opportunity to address the issues you mentioned during your stay with us here at The Northern Hotel. I met with the Department Heads and spoke of each mishap that did not allow you to enjoy our stay fully. I wish I could have a do over with you to show you how we have improved and addressed those issues. If by chance you find your way back to Billings, Montana, please reach out to me directly (Louis - Director of Sales & Marketing) as I would like for you to be my VIP. Once again I am truly sorry we did not exceed your expectations during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel had a wide range of issues, from the online booking process to the on-site restaurant, to the room itself. For a newly renovated hotel, there were many things lacking. I booked online under the "spring special" which was supposed to include a free half bottle of wine and a room upgrade and a 25% discount off the room. I never got the wine and had to complain to two different managers to get the room upgrade and 25% off that I should have received without the additional trouble.

The restaurant was a total let down. The chicken on my chicken Caesar salad was barely cooked and hardly seasoned; the dressing was almost non-existent and did not even taste like Caesar dressing. The croutons and parmesan were on the bottom of the plate, so the croutons came soggy.

In the room, the sink basin was raised atop the bathroom counter, which was cumbersome and very limiting to the functionality of the counter. The bathroom fan didn't work (in the original room I was given OR the upgraded room I switched to), so I had to wait an additional 45 minutes for the bathroom mirror to clear up. The "new" TV cable system was extremely difficult to figure out and there was no TV guide or instructions to follow. The view from my room was horrible, as it faced the construction area near the hotel. On a Tuesday night, one would think that side of the hotel would be the last rooms assigned. The most disappointing, was picking up the phone to call the valet, only to find that there was no cord connecting the handset to the base of the phone. I would never recommend this hotel, even to someone I don't like.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Director of Sales at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Jennifer C,

I read your review and couldn't help but think to myself I wish we had a chance to do this over for Jennifer. On behalf of the entire staff here at The Northern Hotel, I wanted to say I am so sorry for everything that transpired to you during your stay. Everything you mentioned in your review has been shared with each Department Heads here at the hotel and corrective actions have been put in place so this does not happen again. If by chance you ever find your way back to Billing, Montana please contact me directly (Louis Riley - Director of Sales & Marketing) as I would like to have you as my VIP. Once again I am truly sorry for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax NS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Had a great 2 night stay at the Northern Hotel in Billings. My flight arrived at about 7:30 on Sunday evening, and I proceeded directly to the courtesy phone in the airport lobby (near bag check) dialed 20 to connect to the Northern, and was connected to the hotel in short order. They said the shuttle would be there soon, after waiting about 40+ minutes, I called again to make sure I wasn't forgotten. About 5 minutes later the shuttle arrived and took me to the hotel. At the hotel the checkin was quick and everyone was very nice. My room was a little on the loud side with the street noise, but nothing they can do there.

I went to the hotel bar for dinner (TEN), and it was AMAZING, but a little on the pricey side. Went back and had a great sleep on the comfy bed.

For breakfast I went to their Diner (Bernies) and had a great breakfast, I'd totally recommend this for breakfast. Good coffee, decent portion sizes.

After getting back from work that day, I scheduled a shuttle for the following morning back to the airport. Then I had another great sleep in the hotel. Check out was equally quick and easy, and the shuttle back to the airport was fast and efficient.

Do yourself a favor and stay here if you go to Billings!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Director of Sales at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Ryan B,

Thanks for taking to share your experience with us here at The Northern Hotel. Comments like your allow us to make changes and train on concerns that are brought to our attention. I can't begin to apologize enough on how sorry I am that you were not picked up from the airport until your second call in to the hotel. I have shared this with the Department Head and we have identified the person that took the call and have put something in place to ensure this does not happen again. I'm also glad to hear you got a chance to take advantage of Ten and Bernie's during your stay. When your plans find you back in Billings, Montana, please contact me directly (Director of Sales & Marketing) as I would like to have you as my VIP to exceed your expectations. The best compliment is to tell someone else about us. Enjoy your day and we look forward to seeing you back at The Northern Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Billings
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Billings, MT
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Billings West I-90
1.9 mi away
Boothill Inn & Suites
Boothill Inn & Suites
#2 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#4 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Hotel

Property: Northern Hotel
Address: 19 N 28th St, Billings, MT 59101-2354
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Northern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a variety of rooms available for your discriminating taste. Our Classic rooms have one king bed or one or two queen beds. Suites have one or two bedrooms and either king or queen beds. Depending on your needs or preference, we have the perfect room for your next stay.Enjoy our big city accommodations and Montana small city charms, and we believe you won’t want to stay anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing