We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time, but not the last”
Review of Northern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Northern Hotel
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“First time, but not the last”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Business meeting in the hotel brought me in for a pleasant surprise. Apparently a recent update had been effected and the results were positive. While the hallways appeared to not be fully completed/decorated, my room was spacious, well appointed and the bed was comfortable. As a frequent traveler small things make a difference, for example the window coverings actually allowed for total blockout of light -- important for uninterrupted sleep. Very little, if any, hall noise was apparent and the towels were fresh and clearly new, or nearly so.

Valet service was friendly and fast, front desk was effective, if on the giggly side and the adjoining throwback diner served a terrific lunch. I had previously always stayed at the Crowne Plaza a block away, now I have a new first choice in Billings. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anasoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Anasoll, we’re glad your business travels brought your our way! The dark rooms are wonderful for a bit of a late morning if needed. Bernie’s has a wonderful new dessert menu that you should try next time you’re in! Find us on Facebook to see all the updates and news around the hotel and restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    89
    28
    13
    13
See reviews for
67
134
19
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for work meetings. Found the place to be beautiful and the friendly staff even better! Nice up-to-date rooms, only complaint is that there was not a coffee maker in the room. Ate at TEN, it too was awesome with great service!

Room Tip: I had a corner room that provided multiple views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us lornal123. We do offer complimentary coffee to our guests in the lobby until 9 AM. We serve our signature Bernie’s blend as well as hot tea. We hope to see you again in the future and encourage you to keep up with events in the hotel on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The exemplary front-desk staff handled our difficult booking situation with grace and immediately made us feel at ease. The unfinished parking structure gave us the opportunity to deal with a fantastic group of valets. They were always ready and willing to accommodate us in a friendly and efficient manner, including the owner/general manager who retrieved our car on the last day of our stay.

The lobby and rooms are elegantly appointed with murals of Montana's big sky country. We enjoyed our five-nights sleeping on the most comfortable mattress imaginable, fitted with luxurious linens. Bernie's is a great place for breakfast.

As we were leaving, a fellow hotel guest commented on the beautiful renovation of the historic hotel. He told us he had been staying there for fifty years (minus a few during the remodeling). He expressed his opinion that the Northern is the best hotel in the four states of Montana, Wyoming, North and South Dakota.

Joe/Christie

Room Tip: Our room on the east side of the building's tenth floor allowed us to witness a spectacular ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
We take great pride in being a historic part of Billings Joseph G, so we are pleased to hear about your encounter with a fellow guest. We are proud of our valet team and will be sure to give them your compliments. We hope to see you the next time you pass though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Second time stayin here. The beds were incredible, clean and unique. So much better than the chain hotels we usually stay at when driving through. Had great breakfast at Bernie's next door! Highly recommend this for travelers too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzBob2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks for choosing us when you visit Billings Suzbob2011. Bernie’s has a new menu so make sure you check it out next time you come through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were so excited to find this place after days in national park lodges! Brand new, beautifully appointed, super clean. Mod with Montana big-sky murals. Definitely the best choice in the area. Great diner and lovely full-service restaurant on the premises. Walking distance to great restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks for the nice note WanderingTrio. Please stop by next time and see what is new at the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We pulled into Billings with no booking and walked into the Northern at around 1pm. The lobby is just beautiful and the desk clerk was very friendly and helpful and found us a room immediately. The rooms are cosy but well appointed, the bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was newly renovated and I liked that the handbasin was actually in the bathroom (not that common in my recent US travels). Hotel had good Wi-Fi and the best fitness room in any hotel I've stayed. The door staff were brilliant chauffeuring us around to drop our bike off and pick up again. In house restaurant looked good but we headed out for the night. Breakfast was at Bernies Diner in the hotel and again service was great. We love this hotel, it was at the upper end of what we paid for accommodation on this $220 but it was so worth it. Stagecoach Inn in West Yellowstone could learn something from the Northern Hotel. Well done team.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Lucy H we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you again the next time you trek across Montana. Find us on Facebook so you can keep up with all we have going on here in Big Sky Country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BILLINGS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Old classic hotel just re-opened after multi-million dollar restoration from the ground up. Lobby is very welcoming and unique. Friendly staff. Deluxe restaurant "TEN" was quite pricey for this area, but service was outstanding and food was quite good with terrific presentation. King room was very nice, although a little small and no refrig or coffee maker. Bernies diner was quite good and unique for breakfast - good service and old style 50's atmosphere. Nice downtown venue when attending events.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaTraveler4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Rande R, we appreciate your kind words! Our rooms do tend to be more cozy than newer hotels because we chose to preserve the historic layout of the hotel during renovations. During your future visits, we are able to provide a refrigerator upon request. Coffee is available in room day or night through our in-room dining service. We also have our signature Bernie’s blend in our lobby each morning for our guests. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next time! Find us on Facebook to keep up with hotel events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Billings
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Billings, MT
1.9 mi away
Boothill Inn & Suites
Boothill Inn & Suites
#1 of 51 in Billings
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Billings
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn & Suites
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Hotel

Property: Northern Hotel
Address: 19 N 28th St, Billings, MT 59101-2354
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Northern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a variety of rooms available for your discriminating taste. Our Classic rooms have one king bed or one or two queen beds. Suites have one or two bedrooms and either king or queen beds. Depending on your needs or preference, we have the perfect room for your next stay.Enjoy our big city accommodations and Montana small city charms, and we believe you won’t want to stay anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing