We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Run Horseback Riding in Red Lodge, Montana”

Elk River Outfitters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We offer great horseback riding on great horses in spectacular country. Our guests frequently comment that our horses are the best they have ridden. We offer rides in Billings and Red Lodge, Montana. Many of our guests have commented that horseback riding with us was their favorite thing they did while on vacation. Our rides are simply the best. Items to bring: · Boots (or enclosed shoes) · Hat or Cap (if desired) · Raincoat (as needed) · Sunglasses · Jeans · Water Bottle
Reviewed August 3, 2015

This is the nicest family run horseback riding outfit in Montana! We loved out 2 hour ride with Brad and his sons Chase and Tanner, both of whom ride in the rodeo and went to University on rodeo scholarships. Our kids loved riding with "real cowboys." They were wonderful with the kids who ranged in age from 6 - 14. They even made special arrangements to take our teenage girls out a few days later. Flexible, easy to find, gorgeous riding outside Red Lodge, Montana. Such a nice family outing and wonderful family run business. I highly recommend it. Mom Cyndi makes booking easy!

2  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 5, 2015

Jennifer,

Thank you so very much for such a nice review! We enjoyed taking your family very much. We will see you on Fox News! Our favorite channel. We hope you'll be back to visit us again.

Regards,
Cyndi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"red lodge"
in 21 reviews
"hour ride"
in 14 reviews
"horseback riding"
in 9 reviews
"christmas lights"
in 4 reviews
"experienced riders"
in 4 reviews
"christmas music playing"
in 2 reviews
"headless horseman"
in 2 reviews
"horse drawn wagon"
in 2 reviews
"can't remember the last time"
in 2 reviews
"big thumbs"
in 2 reviews
"amazing ride"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful countryside"
in 2 reviews
"christmas season"
in 2 reviews
"small group"
in 2 reviews
"great adventure"
in 2 reviews
"whole family"
in 2 reviews
"brad"
in 32 reviews
Filter

123 - 127 of 129 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

If you love horseback riding or want to try it for the first time, you have to go here. Chase and Jesse were terrific. We took the 2 hour ride through the mountains. The ride was breathtaking the whole way through. Going uphill, through cow pastures and small streams. You can see forever from the top on a clear day. We compared other places, but they make you feel like family.

2  Thank Honestly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 3, 2015

Thank you for such a nice review. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Montana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2015

Brad, Chase, and the horses were great! This trail ride is the best I've been on and will be hard to beat in the future. The views were amazing.

1  Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 3, 2015

Thank you for such a nice review. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Montana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2015

Hi Brad,
We had a fabulous day yesterday! It has been the highlight of our journey so far. We are still talking about the wonderful scenery, your patience and your assurances that we would feel comfortable before we were finished with the ride. Charity had a smile from ear to ear and Greg was in his glory. Austin loved it. I promised myself when I left Victoria, BC that I would ride a horse in Montana with a 'real' Cowboy. I am terrified of horses!! The circumstances of being 'broken' down here in Billings has made for a Cole family memory that we will forever cherish. Our photos from yesterday has been sent across Canada via Facebook of course, and even our family in Newfoundland!! We have friends right across the country of Canada. I have amazing pictures and video and I would love to share some of my favorites with you. We have told everyone that if you want to meet some amazing, friendly and down to earth folks to come to Billings, Montana and check out Elk River Outfitter!! Thank You for the great afternoon yesterday and taking those family photos for us. Once home in Nova Scotia the family photo of us will be enlarged in our living room for all to see so we will forever talk about the amazing scenery and the fun we had crossing the creek. I was so scared and I hung on for dear life...but, like John Wayne said...Courage is when you are scared to death but you saddle up anyway!! That's what this Momma did for her family yesterday. Thank you so much!!
Cheers,
Dana Cole

1  Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 24, 2015

Thank you so much for the nice review. Hope to see you on the trail again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2015 via mobile

What a fabulous ride we had. Chase was our guide and he lead the way. He took us to the top of a hill to see all 8 mountain tops. It was truly amazing. The horses were very calm as well. Thanks for the great ride. We will be back for sure

1  Thank trupe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 24, 2015

Thank you so much for the nice review. We hope to see you on the trail again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk River Outfitters also viewed

 

Been to Elk River Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing