We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Lilac

Lilac
Reserve with OpenTable
Lilac is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 349 Restaurants in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 25th. St N
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Had wonderfully, delicious meal here six months ago. Potato soup with sautéed snails, sage crumbles and black truffles was outstanding. Pork loin was good but average and the swordfish was cold inside (need to completely thaw before cooking). Was expecting to repeat previous experience but didn't happen. Think chef/owner may becoming complacent and and not focusing on details. On the bright side, I wasn't charged for the swordfish. Restaurant will only survive with quality, creative food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    27
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Billings
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere and tasty food”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Pleasant service from a skilled server who didn't rush. Nice selection of Montana beers as well as wine by the glass. Food was well portioned and reasonably priced. The burger of all things was amazing. The skate fish special was presented with style, and tasted fresh. Best part of the evening was the chef coming to our table and sharing the bacon relish recipe. He went out of his way to refill my empty beer. Service, style, and good tasting fare. Looking forward to trying brunch!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoubleJ38Magiccity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a REALLY great meal here. The food was scrumptious, and the service was excellent. The prices were very reasonable. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Billings.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobca1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Brunch in Town”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I like to frequent Lilac as a favorite brunch spot. We usually end up having to make a reservation because the line to get in starts forming about a half hour after before the restaurant opens. My husband's favorite includes cornmeal pancake with the handmade sausage patty, and my favorite would either be the Irish turnover or the huckleberry blintz. I prefer bacon over sausage, and theirs is exceptionally delicious. It is sliced very thick and very savory. We also both like to order mimosas with breakfast, which comes in a very tall glass and made with champagne and comes in a variety of flavors.
The setting is a lively one, as the restaurant is usually busy, but this does not affect the wait staff. My husband and I have always had very friendly service. It is a nice way to start out the day :).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but take away the nice setting and its average”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Nothing special but very nice setting. Bacon was average. $20 included 2 French toast breakfasts with bacon and coffee. Not bad but $9 sparkling fruit based beverage??? Really?!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Sparklebunny1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lilac also viewed

 
Billings, MT
 

Been to Lilac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing