We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try a picnic in a tipi and a walking tour of cave drawings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pictograph Cave State Park

Pictograph Cave State Park
Ranked #4 of 63 things to do in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Pictograph Cave State Park is a National Historic Landmark known for its importance to Northern Plains archaeology conducted in the late 1930s. Learn about the rock art and artifacts left behind for over 4,500 years. This 23 acre park features walking trails, a 'green' designed visitor's center, picnic grounds and museum displays; everything you need for a fun and educational get away! This unique site is a well-known place of spirit writing. Soluble minerals that have leached through the sandstone have veiled the rock art, but when heavy rains or snow-melt percolates down through the wall to saturate it, that veil of minerals will lift (becomes transparent) thus revealing what is beneath. On a dry day you may see 5-9 pictographs, but on the brief, wet occurrences, 10-15 images may appear in much more detail. The Crow people believe that many of these images are drawn by the spirits, and whichever ones you see are meant to give you a personal message or even suggest future events.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Try a picnic in a tipi and a walking tour of cave drawings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our family has been to Pictograph Cave several times, but yesterday was even more fun, as our somewhat dampened outlook on the chances of a dry picnic turned into a unique one under the canvas of a life-sized tipi on the grounds of state park. We stayed dry until the rain stopped and then enjoyed a walking tour of the Crow pictographs. Beautiful surroundings (huge U-shaped rimrock formation) and interesting displays in the interpretive center. Lots of other picnic spots, old cottonwoods to climb on, and a fun trail that kids will enjoy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank janevir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    91
    60
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williston, North Dakota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unless you like looking a rock walls, skip it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We saw NO major pictographs at any of the locations. What we did see were snakes. If you are not looking down this maybe the one thing that grabs your attention while at this park.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank gdcwilliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pictograph C, Public Relations Manager at Pictograph Cave State Park, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
A lot of our visitors actually take the time to read over the interpretive boards, stroll through the displays and speak first hand with our staff to understand something of the disappearing rock art and the cultures that created it. We're sorry that your expectations weren't met. As for the indigenous wildlife, they are protected like any of our natural and cultural resources. We support their freedom of movement and they are allowed to make a living in the Park. We regret that some visitor experiences with the natural world is out of our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I enjoyed the pictograph caves, the staff is friendly and informative. Nice area to visit. Great area to take the kids for a little exploring.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wranglers4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“ancient history up close”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is one of the most amazing sights in Billings! Prehistoric Native Americans, probably the ancestors of the Crow people, dwelt here. The pictographs were drawn using dyes made from charcoal, red dirt and other natural dyes. Some defacement has occurred by unscrupulous people but considering the age, the drawings are in fabulous condition!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Tourist Stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The geology of this location is quite impressive, with beautiful sandstone cliffs and huge caves. The pictographs are considerably worn away and difficult to view, but the visitor's center features some interesting samples of arrowheads and Indian artifacts found during the excavation process. $5.00 per out-of-state vehicle and no additional entrance fee.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pictograph Cave State Park also viewed

 

Been to Pictograph Cave State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing