We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best trails available in the Billings area”
Review of The Rimrocks

The Rimrocks
Ranked #1 of 63 things to do in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kailua-Kona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best trails available in the Billings area”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This trail system is convenient to downtown Billings and offers nice views of the Billings valley (not that it's too impressive) and has some actual pine trees, which is rare in the Billings area. The Rimrocks are made of sandstone, which have ancient sea worm holes in certain levels of the stone, which is fun for rock hounds. The trail is fairly level, so there aren't many hills or uphill sections for those wanting a better exercise/hike. The park does allow dogs, so it's a great place to bring your dog to run around off leash if you are in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    57
    21
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“rimrocks”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

the views were fantastic. we played around going from rocks to rocks, took pictures, we had our dogs. there was a guy on a mountain bike which looked a little scary. it was hot and dusty but it is the end of summer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandy3251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
305 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A nice view”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

It's only a short drive up to the Rim Rocks where you can take photos of the city of Billings below. There is also a path that you can ride a bike or hike. It was nice to get out of the car and walk around.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MomDtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“So much wasted potential”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I've lived in Billings my entire life and have always enjoyed the rims. I have however been quite disappointed in the lack of improvements and maintenance over the years. Lets face it, the parks department in Billings is the worst around. The only good thing to come to the rims over the decades is the bike path a few years ago, which I believe was all donated money. When you're up there besides the view of town it's just very dry and dusty and an eye sore. They should plant lots of trees between the trail and the highway. They should also put in tons more landscaping like bark or grass. They need lots more picnic tables and benches. There should also be public restrooms on both sides of the trail.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank granitepeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hot and dusty in August”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I stopped here while traveling to Glacier National Park. Frankly, I was disappointed. The park is not well marked and is hard to find. We had planned to picnic here as a break on our journey. Being August it was hot and dry with very little shade. The views were mainly of rooftops.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rimrocks also viewed

 

Been to The Rimrocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing