We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“moss mansion”
Review of Moss Mansion

Moss Mansion
Ranked #3 of 63 things to do in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We invite you to visit this beautiful historic home in the heart of Billings, Montana. Our summer hours end on Labor Day and are 10am to 3pm. Regular (winter) hours are 1pm to 3pm. We are closed Mondays. In 1903, entrepreneur Preston Boyd Moss (better known as "P.B.") built the Moss Mansion, greatly influencing the culture of Billings, Montana. Designed by New York architect, Henry Janeway Hardenbergh, designer of the original Waldorf Astoria and Plaza Hotels, the mansion showcases inspired architecture, unrivaled craftsmanship and exquisite decor. The mansion is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and has graced the silver screen on several occasions as the perfect site for period films such as Son of the Morning Star and Return to Lonesome Dove. Although the youngest daughter, Melville Moss, resided in the home until the mid-80's, the house and its original fixtures remain intact. Modern day visitors marvel at the home's amenities which include a call button system for the servants, among other impressive feats of technology for the period. The home not only records the activities of early Billings development but also interprets the inner workings of the family through letters shared among its members. Today the mission of the Billings Preservation Society (the operating entity), symbolized by the Moss Mansion, is to inspire, to educate and to facilitate historic and cultural preservation activities for the community and for its future generations. The Moss Mansion welcomes thousands of visitors each year to enjoy a guided or group tour, explore the gardens and gift shop and experience a variety of signature community events. Many volunteers and a small staff are responsible for daily operations of the Moss Mansion. The museum and gift shop are open Tuesday through Sunday - summer hours include daily guided tours that start on the hour from 10am to 3pm, regular hours (Sept through May) 1pm to 3pm. The beautifully landscaped grounds and gardens are free to the public and are also open year-round.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“moss mansion”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

its very interesting with many original furnishings. our guide was very good. my only complaint was that it is dark and it would be nice if some things were highlighted.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy3251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    60
    10
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cody, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting Mansion, Great People”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

All I can say is the Moss Mansion is a little gem hidden in the middle of Billings. The story of the Mansion and the Mansion itself are fun but it is the volunteers and their passion for what they present that is priceless. A stop well worth the time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinna S, Public Relations Manager at Moss Mansion, responded to this review, July 7, 2015
We have just recently begun to fully use our TripAdvisor account and have begun to slowly respond to reviews that are years old. What a wonderful thing to see so many compliments to our docents, front desk personnel, and gift shop attendants! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit, and very grateful that you took the time to write such a kind note. We have a small staff and our volunteers are the face of the Moss - thanks for helping us praise them for the wonderful job they do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new london, nh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful red stone pile...superb docent made the day”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went on the first tour of the day on a Tuesday, and were delighted to find the place exactly as it was 40 years ago. The Moss family line has died out, but when he was around he was quite the entrepreneur, and is mainly responsible for Billings being the great place it is today. House was designed by the same folks who did the earlier Waldorf in New York, and still had all the original furnishings...but sadly it is suffering from lack of A/C and fading from light penetration. AS well, the pool table never got installed..pity. The place is a gem of a time capsule from 1910 and the original lighting is still in place...this alone is worth the visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank roadtriprobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great tour of a historic home”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I've seen this before. Twice.

We had friends in from out-of-state and this was a short tour for the final day. They thoroughly enjoyed it, my wife enjoyed it even after having toured once before and I learned something new on the third tour.

This home, dating from 1904, was built by PB Moss--in many ways, the man that built Billings, MT. Owner of a bank, developer of the Northern Hotel, builder of the steam plant supplying heat to most of Billings, PB had his finger in most business that mattered.

His home, in which his daughter lived until 1984, is almost completely original and with the family's furniture, china, and original paint and decor.

Tours run hourly and last about 50 minutes. Each guide is knowledgeable and each has a bit of information that you haven't heard before. A great tour for residents and no better place to take your guests.

This could be a bit dull for the very young and it's vital that little hands remain off the woodwork. Lots of stairs, some rather steep and narrow.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stop”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We enjoyed the tour of the Moss Mansion and caught the flavor and history of Billings from the information our tour guide gave us. Mr. Moss had vision and without him, Billings would be a lessor spot on the map. Well worth the time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank judeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moss Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Moss Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing