We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standard chain hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, MT
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“High standard chain hotel”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was an unscheduled stop after we found the B&B we had chosen to stay in at Billings appeared to have gone bust. After doing a quick search on Trip Advisor we found this hotel on the eastern side of Billings. It is not in a picturesque part of town ( if there is one in Billings- it seems full of chemical plants) but it is pleasant enough inside and the staff were very helpful.

The front of the hotel looks out on a major junction so it is probably better and quieter to get a room at the back. We had one on the third floor overlooking the pool complex which in itself was quite nice.

Given we were quite late by this time the handy food delivery service by a local firm was a real benefit - slightly expensive for what it was but not seriously so. We bought some beer from the liquor store right next door and watched Where Eagles Dare - a perfect evening!

Room Tip: A room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybil_Fawlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBillingsMT, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, MT, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Sybil_Fawtly ~ Your feedback is great. Thank you for writing a review! Michelle Breitwiser, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    155
    46
    22
    26
See reviews for
229
136
30
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Michigan Center, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here recently and everything was very nice. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the pool and hot tub were great also. I would have given 5 stars except for the front desk. When I first arrived, I had to wait quite a long time for the front desk person to complete a personal conversation she was having with either a friend or another employee. She saw I was waiting but that didn't stop her. It wasn't a business related issue either. Then, I needed to go to a store and buy some medicine so I went to the front desk to ask directions but there was a sign stating she was helping another customer. I waited a while, but then just ventured on my own. Fortunately, I found a Target store very close by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwtimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBillingsMT, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, MT, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
rwtimmer ~ Thank you for bringing the employee issue to my attention. Glad you otherwise found the hotel to be awesome. See you soon. Michelle Breitwiser, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willington, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Traveling through Montana, stopping in Bilings. Disappointed in the city, but the hotel - Country Inn by Carlson was beautiful. Immaculate, beautifully appointed, quiet. The breakfast was lovely.
The staff was exceptional, especially the little girl that checked us in - Katrina - extremely helpfu
and very cheery, made our stay a delight. If you find yourself in Billings, Mt, go to the east side
of the city on I90 and book your stay, you won't be dissappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plama l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBillingsMT, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, MT, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
plama I ~ Great Review! Sorry you didn't have a positive experience in Billings but glad you loved our Country Inn & Suites in Billings. Come back soon. Michelle Breitwiser, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was a very comfortable facility, a notch up from the usual chain hotel. My only complaint is that our "King" room did not have an easy chair with footstool or a small couch, such as we have come to expect in the more thoughtful establishments. The "easy chair" was a stiff armchair, not comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madinpursuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBillingsMT, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, MT, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Madinpursuit ~ Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I love your awesome comments. Michelle Breitwiser, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a convenient location but lacked when it came to the beds. The room was dirty, the"queen" beds were really only doubles and so uncomfortable we couldn't sleep. Staff was fabulous and it was close to a casino but was extremely overpriced. Would not recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadianwannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBillingsMT, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, MT, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Canadianwannab ~ Thank you for your review. I do apologize if your stay was anything other than fantastic. I would like to address that our beds are not doubles as you posted, they are definitely queens made by Serta. Please call me directly to discuss any issue (cleanliness) as this is not normally an issue for this hotel and we would make it right. My number is 406-245-9995. Michelle Breitwiser, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Unfortunately when we turned up at the B&B booked last March (Somewhere in Time, Hogan Road, Billings), there was no-one there, no cars parked and what looked like the family's own accommodation had been cleared of most furniture. (Yes - we looked in through the windows - it was gone 5pm, pouring with rain and we had nowhere to stay!). Our phone call to the B&B could not be connected (had they maybe gone out of business and not bothered to mention it to people travelling 5000 miles? Possibly!). Naturally we turned to Tripadvisor for help (and thank heavens for 3G). This hotel looked promising and was showing availability on-line at a good price so off we went. They were wonderful, suitably sympathetic about our plight and we were in our room almost before we knew it. It was huge, had a king-sized bed and was very well-equipped as described by other reviewers. The location looked pretty grim (not quite sure where "Country" comes into it!), being surrounded by roads, but that didn't matter a bit. The room was extremely comfortable and very quiet.

The one downside appeared to be that there was no restaurant within walking distance so we were resigned to yet more driving. No need, there is an independently-run room service menu just a (free) phone call away. There was plenty of choice; they said 45 mins - 1hour and that was exactly right, 50 mins later came the tap on the door and hot food as ordered. Not cheap but not ridiculous for the convenience. They don't sell alcohol but there is an off-licence (liquor store) next to the hotel. Vast range, including several local beers and friendly service. Back to the hotel: it has a good indoor pool which I had to myself at 07.10 and we thought the breakfast was superior to what you get in other, similar establishments. Particularly good coffee.

So thank you, Billings Country Inn and Suites and particularly Theresa, we didn't plan to stay with you but we were really glad we did.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forgergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBillingsMT, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, MT, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Forgegirl ~ Thank you for taking the time to write an awesome review! Michelle Breitwiser, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pequot Lakes
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our family of five stayed and had plenty of room. It is a bit off of the main area but there is an Applebee's, liquor store and Cherry Berry next door. Breakfast is normal Country Inn so decent and nice to have it included for those who need to get up and go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FritzyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBillingsMT, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, MT, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
FritzyMom~ Thank you for your comments on how clean our rooms are!! Michelle Breitwiser, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.1 mi away
Boothill Inn & Suites
Boothill Inn & Suites
#2 of 51 in Billings
571 reviews
7.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Billings, MT
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Billings West I-90
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Billings
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, MT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, MT

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, MT
Address: 231 Main Street, Billings, MT 59105-3231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Billings
#11 Family Hotel in Billings
#15 Business Hotel in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, MT 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near I-90, just 10 minutes from Billings Logan International Airport (BIL), the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson®, Billings, MT is ideally positioned for exploring Montana. Less than one mile from MetraPark, our location makes it easy for you to attend concerts and trade shows. Be sure to view the impressive Northern Plains art at the Yellowstone Art Museum and learn about the area’s rich culture at the Western Heritage Center, both about three miles away. Traveling to Yellowstone National Park? The park’s headquarters is a three-hour drive from our property. After a day of exploration, head back to the Country Inn & Suites to unwind with a novel from the Read It & Return Lending LibrarySM, or enjoy a soak in the whirlpool tub. Additional amenities and services include: Complimentary, Hot Be Our Guest Breakfast, Free High-Speed Internet Access, Indoor Swimming Pool, and Free On-Site Parking. Our hotel rooms and suites are equipped with comfortable beds and blackout drapes to help you sleep well. Before you head out for the day, plan the day’s schedule using free Internet while you sip a fresh cup of coffee. Standard room highlights include: Free High-Speed Internet Access, 32"" Flat-Screen TV, Microwave and Refrigerator, and Coffeemaker with Complimentary Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, MT reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson _ Billings Hotel Billings
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson _ Billings
Country Inn Billings
Billings Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing