We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were passing through on a road trip and wanted to stay in the city centre, but nothing had good reviews, so we ended up here. The area isn't great: there is a discount liquor place next door, and nowhere to eat better than Applebee's. But this is a nice place to stay. It is an average hotel with excellent staff.

Rooms are large and clean. The toilet in our room completely broke down - eg the first time we used it, went to flush and the handle broke off. It was a cheap plastic fitting. But management dealt with it well - we were immediately moved to the room next door, which was fine, and they were very apologetic. This really is a fairly basic hotel, but so well-managed that it isn't an issue.

I'd stay here again. We generally go for Westins, Hilton Garden Inns, and MArriotts, but this does a good job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teachers_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBillingsMT, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for writing a review! Hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    142
    36
    17
    24
See reviews for
197
125
24
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Watford City, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went to Billings Thanksgiving weekend for some shopping. This Hotel is up in the heights area which is nice on black friday weekend because it is away from the main shopping area so less hetic. Easy to find, this was our 2nd time to Billings. Take exit 452 and follow it toward the metra which is north or I-90, when there is a fork in the road go to the right. The hotel staff was so friendly, especially house keeping on the 3rd floor. We stayed in a suite which was perfect for us since we have 2 tweens. The room was clean and up to date. For the most part it was quiet. Our neighbor did have their dog and it was barking one morning, I think the family went to breakfast. We didn't mine because we have dogs and can block out their barking..lol but others may not of liked it. the breakfast was the best buffet I had at a hotel. The next time we come to Billings we will stay here. Our family loved our stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBillingsMT, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you real soon!
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent 5 days at the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson in Billings. It felt like home away from home. The staff is very warm and accommodating.
The breakfast is unbelievable. A different entree every morning plus all the normal continental breakfast items. There are a couple types of coffee and teas available. We always started the day with a good breakfast.
If you have a sweet tooth, then this is the place for you. There are freshly baked cookies always available for the taking. mmm good.
The location is very close to the airport which made traveling very convenient. There are many restaurants and stores nearby.
We had a wonderful time and we will definitely go back the next time we are in Billings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBillingsMT, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Lovely and clean room, gorgeous pillows and bed. It's also conveniently located about 5 minutes from downtown.

Buffet breakfast was nice and was very happy they used china crockery and silver cutlery. Yay! And the staff were very friendly.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetenilorac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBillingsMT, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is a little bit off the freeway (maybe a 10 minute drive). They do have a couple of signs on telephone poles to direct you, but I think we would have had trouble finding the place if we hadn't of had our GPS (of course we're from Canada and had never been here before). Once you find the hotel, you'd think "that was easy". As you pull up to the hotel, on each side of the glass doors they have an outdoor patio sitting area with lots of beautiful hanging baskets around. The lobby is quite nice with a beautiful fireplace in the center. Our room was very large and clean with great bathroom amenities. There are a number of restaurants within walking distance. We loved the breakfast here as they really give you a number of choices (including doughnuts). Lastly, it is a really busy 4 lane highway out front but even though our room faced the road we didn't hear any traffic noise. Also smoker friendly outdoors.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBillingsMT, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I got this hotel after naming my own price and I couldn't be happier. We needed something for our last night, near the airport. The outside was well lit and welcoming. The lobby was spacious and they were offering warm cookies and coffee/tea -- all the time! There were nice places to sit and even a lending library, which would have been great if I needed a night time story for my kids. The front desk folks were very nice and we checked in quickly. She even told us the hour for breakfast and the pool without of having to ask.

We were put into the handicap accessible room, which had really tall ceilings (I think all 1st floor rooms did). It was very clean and quiet even though it was close to the lobby. The bathroom was spacious (no surprise) and while the floor did get wet b/c there wasn't a large lip (for wheelchairs) it wasn't that bad. No tub, but a handicap shower seat if you needed it.

We were in and out in one night, but we liked that there was a gas station right across the street and a Subway and lots of other places to eat within walking distance. I think if I paid full freight I would still be pretty happy b/c it was a nice leap above 2 or 2 1/2 star hotels.

We didn't stay for breakfast, but grabbed some stuff to go. There were waffles and eggs (both scrambled and hard boiled) so it looked pretty good for continental. The room was large and pleasant. Everything felt relatively new. All in all, both my husband and I were very impressed with this hotel (recognizing it is 3 stars and not 5) and would easily stay here again.

Room Tip: We liked the ones in the back, not on the front overlooking the more active parking lot. The back r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smiledoctorsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBillingsMT, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The rooms are such a nice size to work or just rest. Breakfasts are very good and the staff doesn't let anything run out or even get very low. Coffee and cookies are available around the clock and there are papers to read with breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Any standard room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBillingsMT, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your awesome review! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.1 mi away
Boothill Inn & Suites
Boothill Inn & Suites
#2 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Billings West I-90
7.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Billings, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn & Suites
4.3 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#4 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings
Address: 231 Main St, Billings, MT 59105-3231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Billings
#11 Family Hotel in Billings
#15 Business Hotel in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson _ Billings
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson _ Billings Hotel Billings
Country Inn Billings
Billings Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing