We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Express Stay @ HIE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here on our way through from Calgary Alberta Canada to Mt. Rushmore SD (approx halfway) and the HIE fit the bill perfectly. Dbl Queen room was modern, spaciaous, clean & just off highway enroute to the east & our destination. Pool was perfect for kids (realy what pool isn't). Hot tub was HOT (ironically with a cool blue light that I recall) and perfect after a long day of driving. Morning breafast had typical variety with the exception of a pancake maker that created 2 perfectly portioned cakes. We were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21Jackie1974, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us,we strive to make each one of our guest's stay with us an memoriable one, we look forward to seeing you the next time you stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 105 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have stayed in 4 different hotels in Billings now(Comfort Inn, Quality Inn, Fairfield Inn and HIE) and overall I feel like this one was the best of the bunch.

This is a nice property that I would say has been completely remodeled fairly recently. The room was spacious and clean, bathroom was spacious and had great lighting, everything was in good working order and condition. Room had a microwave and fridge and a huge LCD TV with a good selection of channels.

Internet was excellent, speed tests showed 15 Mbps download and 5 Mbps upload speeds, which is much, much better then you get at most hotels.

Bed was awesome, mattress was a new Serta Diamond Suite, which is a comfy, plush, high quality mattress.

Cheri at the front desk was great, very friendly and a real customer service pro.

Hotel also delivers the Billings Gazette newspaper to your room in the AM which was a nice touch.

The only real negative was that my room was on the 2nd floor and had some weird vibration going on constantly in it, it basically sounded as though you had 5 semi-trucks idling beneath you, the whole floor vibrated and it got to the point where I had to use ear plugs to sleep because the noise from the vibration was so bad. So that's something to be careful of if you decide to stay here because it was really bad, try and get ground floor if possible. I don't know if it happens in all the rooms on the 2nd floor or just mine, I have no idea what it was but it went on all night 24/7.

All in all this is a nice hotel but I would check the room for vibration before bringing my luggage in next time, I would NEVER accept another room like that as it would have been miserable had I not had ear plugs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlCzervik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21Jackie1974, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We certainly apreciate your business. We have found the source of the noisy vibrations and hopefully have it fixed. Your room was directly above a maintence room and one of the pumps wa having a issue. We do apologize for the noise and want to thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express recently for a basketball tournament in Billings. We travel quite a bit and can always count on the Holiday Inn Express for clean room, nice staff and a good breakfast!! Cortney went out of her way to be helpful and was very friendly and patient with all the guests!! We will stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKH0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've stayed here twice, once in August 2011 and again tonight. It's a nice hotel, clean, friendly staff, quiet. It's right off the I90 E, but tucked back a little from the surrounding gas stations and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Usafgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in room 226 which had a lovely king size bed, but the room is situated at the very end of the hall way, and we could hear people going up & down the stairs from the side exit. Sounds in hallway carry as well. Don't know what guests were doing down the hall but they were coming & going at 2:30 a.m., so is was disruptive to say the least. The hotel is situated right off the interstate for the traveller that just needs a place that's easy to set off from the next day. The restaurants are about 1.5 miles from the hotel, so just a quick trip away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winnerManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Fantastic service! Reasonable rates. Very clean and spacious rooms. Staff very friendly and accommadating. Very quiet rooms and comfortable beds. Lots of good restaurants nearby, so you don't have to drive all over town just to find a place to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I booked this room - and prepaid for it, before I came here to check out the reviews (bad, I know). Some of the reviews were so bad that I thought I might just eat the money and find another hotel. But I stuck with this one, and I'm glad I did.

1. The property is now fully renovated. No construction noise. Great appearance in keeping with other hotels in this chain.

2. The property is now fully non-smoking, so no worries there, either.

The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, and it was clean. There was a blood spot on the sheets that was a little disconcerting, but I was frankly too tired to report it, and it was clear that the sheets were clean, despite the little stain.

My only complaint is that the common areas were not clean enough - dirt and handprints on the exterior doors, the elevator doors, etc. But for the price, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aardvark1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Aardvark1223,

Thank you for your stay, and providing feedback. I'm happy to hear you were pleased with the room accommodations and quiet property. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. However, please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had due to the condition and the cleanliness of the hotel and facilities. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
8.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Billings
SpringHill Suites Billings
#22 of 51 in Billings
224 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Billings West I-90
10.8 mi away
Big Horn Resort
Big Horn Resort
#20 of 51 in Billings
365 reviews
5.1 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#11 of 51 in Billings
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 430 Cole St, Billings, MT 59101-6821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range: $118 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Billings Hotel is a beautiful hotel located on the east side of Billings, MT. Easy access from I-90, take exit 455. We are located just West of the I-90, I94 junction.Looking to travel scenic Montana? We are an ideal stay over point to take day trips to see Yellowstone National Park, Beartooth Pass, Little Bighorn and Pompey's Pillar We have a complimentary breakfast bar, business center with high speed Internet.We are just 3 miles from the Metra Park. Forty-five minutes from Little Big Horn Battlefield, thirty minutes from Pompey's Pillar and one hour from Red Lodge ski resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Billings
Holiday Inn Billings
Billings Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing