We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy!!!”
Review of Western Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Western Inn Motel
Ranked #47 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Filthy!!!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Furniture needed to be dusted. Floors needed to be vaccumed. Stains all over the floor! Stains on the walls! Filth in the sink! After 20 minutes my son had been bitten by bugs! We didn't stay and nothing in return! I wasn't aware that we were expected to live in such disgust. Not expectable not ever...

Thank you for nothing Western Inn!

$95.59 still needs to be refunded.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninnbillings, Public Relations Manager at Western Inn Motel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this incorrect review. Upon staying at our hotel, we remember all the great things you said about our hotel like the good breakfast in the morning, big flat screen t.v, and amazing customer service. We understand this review was written as payback for not letting you have a late checkout without a charge. Please do not spread false information to our future guests. Thank you once again! "Your Home Away From Home"
Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    39
    23
    19
    47
See reviews for
48
40
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in room 210

Positives: Sarah, the night desk clerk, is very friendly and helpful. Room was quiet. Bed was comfortable. Plenty of water pressure and hot water for showers. Fridge kept items cold. Microwave worked well. Coin laundry on site. Coffee and rolls/donuts available in morning.

Negatives: Floors in our room needed a good vacuuming. Lots of crumbs under the dining table in the room. Wall paper coming off in bath and bedroom. Screw holes in the wall in the bath. Only a shower in our room. Toilet would continue to run after flushing. Towels are very thin, but adequate. Our bedroom door was missing the security latch.

Special Note: We inquired about availability due to a $44 rate on TripAdvisor with generally good reviews. We called and were quoted a $59 rate for the night. $13 dollars was added to the rate (22%) stating it was state and local taxes and a service fee paid to the government. I asked for a detailed breakdown at the desk in the morning and the male clerk danced around the issue and pretty much told me the same story.

We called other properties and found out the state and local governments charge a total of 7%. So the additional 15% was a fee assessed by the property. We even called the property to dispute the fee, and were told part of the fee was an AMX service fee for using AMX. The story kept changing.

I don't fault the property for wanting to make additional money, but the way it was presented to us was unethical, in my opinion.

Should you decided to stay here, ask for a detailed breakdown of all your additional fees in writing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2MTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninnbillings, Guest Relations Manager at Western Inn Motel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Western Inn. None of these issues about the room were addressed to the front desk clerk, and if they were she would have been happy to assist you. Concerning the issue about taxes, the taxes and fees were explained to you before the credit card was processed, and you agreed to the rate including the taxes and fees. Even after you agreed to the rate, you still argued about the price. At Western Inn we always explain the taxes and fees to the guests before the credit card is processed, and we are always fair with our customers. Businesses are here to do business and cater to their guest's needs, and they are not about ethics or "unethical" doings.
Thanks,
Western Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Filthiest, scariest place i almost ever stayed in---i say almost because we changed hotels once we saw it---there is 10yrs worth of scum hanging from airvent, a pitbull in lobby, a drug deal going on in front of motel, door lock broken --- should have filmed The Shining here as it will really scare you to death

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Revence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninnbillings, Guest Relations Manager at Western Inn Motel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this incorrect review. This is the first time we have ever received a review that has ever said something like this. I'm sorry but you have this hotel confused with Bourbon Street on 1st avenue that is 4 blocks away. We apologize for your experience at Bourbon Street, but we hope the next time you are in Billings you come and stay at Western Inn. "Your Home Away From Home!"
Thanks,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Billings hotels

Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

After booking a queen size room, on line and recieving confirmantion. I was called 30 minutes later and told the reserved queen room was not available. King available for an additional $16. That should have been a clue but I fell for it. Motel is old and in need of upgrades. Small very thin bath towels. Parking spots are very small. Continential breakfast area is very small and with a very limited selection. Staff was friendly. Room was not worth the price.

Room Tip: Motels near the hospital are much better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninnbillings, Guest Relations Manager at Western Inn Motel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Any of these issues could have been told to the front desk but they were not. We try our hardest to give our guests the best service, and we will work with our guests if they are not satisfied. Here at Western Inn customer service is our top most priority. We hope you visit next time! "Your Home Away From Home!"
Thanks,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a cheap place to stay if you need to get to the airport the next morning. We should have looked elsewhere. The staff was great, can help you with flight problems if necessary, the rooms were clean, but there is no insulation from the sounds inside or outside of your room.
I slept 2 hours total. If you need to catch an early flight to the airport, you won't get sleep the night before and there will not be a shuttle to take you without a cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BozemanMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninnbillings, Guest Relations Manager at Western Inn Motel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this review, we appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and friendly service. Concerning the noise issue, we did have many kids staying here that night of the basketball tournament, but the issue should have been adressed to the front desk so they could have done something about it. Also, our shuttle does not run 24/7 therefore that's why there is a charge. Other than that, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you visit soon! "Your Home Away From Home!"
Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, MT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had booked a room since this hotel was close to downtown, instead of the cheaper hotels near King Ave. Thought maybe we would give it a try since they were advertising remodeled rooms and new plush beds. Walked in to one of the 'before rooms' mentioned by previous reviews. Wall paper peeling off the walls. Bathroom counter missing trim, floor trim peeling from wall. While shower was a nice tile, not sure what the black specks were on some of the grout. Floor hadn't been vacuumed under the tables and chairs, the dog found some stuff to eat that didn't sit well with her. Beds were springy. Curtains were basicly sheer so the neighbors could probably get a good view, also didn't help with getting any sleep with the sun reflecting in. We were too tired to go down and cancel our stay and go somewhere else. Now the good things about it. The heat worked, although we either had the fan going hot or not at all. The shower pressure was good. Towels were rather thin and pilled. They had a fridge and microwave. Don't remember a coffee pot there, although they did have coffee available at breakfast. The staff was very friendly, although they failed to mention the largest pet you can have is 25 lbs. Hotel was quiet enough. Don't know if we would give it another try till they get their pet policy revised, all rooms updated, and floors properly cleaned. Otherwise, it would be a nice hotel within walking distance of downtown Billings.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room, the old rooms are falling apart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SnowSpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uncle2sam, Guest Relations Manager at Western Inn Motel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review. We hope to see you back soon.
Thanks,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

.I had forgotten how shady people could be until I stayed at this hotel. What was originally just an expected stay at a low-grade, dingy hotel has turned into a time-consuming battle of cancelling credit cards, disputing charges and contacting regulatory agencies. Without getting into specifics, I was charged for damages I did not commit, was spoken condescendingly to, and hung up on when I attempted to address with management. Every hotel has their share of negative reviews, but if you read the reviews of other travelers you will notice a costly pattern. More telling than the traveler reviews is the owner/manager response to concerns. You can learn a lot about this hotel from the manner in which the owner addresses complaints and speaks with unsatisfied customers. I would love to support small, local businesses but this experience has taught me to stay at hotels where there is a chain of command as well as a concern for reputation. The customer is never right at this establishment, so if you stay don’t plan on complaining. I urge you not to risk this hassle. If you do experience bogus charges appearing on your accounts after you check out, contact the authorities! This behavior has continued because it is easier for people to write off a couple hundred dollars than deal with the hassle of recovering their money. Have your bank’s fraud department stop payment, contact the Better Business Bureau, inform the Chamber of Commerce and law enforcement, write about your experience, but most importantly, contact the Montana Department of Justice, Consumer Protection Agency. There is concern when a pattern of scamming affects this many people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bethany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#35 of 51 in Billings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riversage Billings Inn
Riversage Billings Inn
#22 of 51 in Billings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dude Rancher Lodge
Dude Rancher Lodge
#32 of 51 in Billings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Billings
0.9 mi away
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
#27 of 51 in Billings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Billings - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn Motel

Property: Western Inn Motel
Address: 3311 2nd Ave N, Billings, MT 59101-2006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Western Inn Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ATTENTION: WE ARE CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR REMODELING. WE WILL UPDATE THIS DESCRIPTION WHEN ALL RENOVATIONS ARE DONE. Sorry for any inconveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelsClick so you can book your Western Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing