We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs update!”
Review of Western Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Western Inn Motel
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“needs update!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here because of the glowing reviews on trip Advisor. Yes, the owners are incredibly friendly and helpful BUt that does not make up for the need for updating basic amenities, My blanket had holes and the carpet was filthy. We are camping most of the time so obviously we are not terribly fussy. The plumbing fixtures needed work as well as the electric., Great owners but if they need ot do a bit of work updating or people won't return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennmckown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninnbillings, Guest Relations Manager at Western Inn Motel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. We are still in the process of remodeling, and by next year we will be 100% remodeled, but all of our sheets and blankets have been replaced with new ones. We are glad that you atleast enjoyed our service and hospitality! If any of these issues were addressed to us, we would have been more than happy to assist you!
Thanks once again, and we hope next year you will visit once we are completely remodeled! "Your Home Away From Home!"
Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    40
    23
    19
    47
See reviews for
48
40
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brugge, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed 1 night in Western Inn Motel, Billings, on our drive from Rapid City to Glacier NP. The owner is very kindly. We liked to leave early in the morning, and so, he prepared us the evening before a breakfast that we could place in the refrigrator of our room untill the following morning (sweets, juice, milk, yohourt, fruits, cereals..). The room has for it's price the necessary comfort (refrigerator, coffee-maker...), but you see that everything is cheap, looks old and needs some upgrade or renovation. The room was clean. Location is good, near supermarket (little drive to Albertson's) and downtown resto's. Should I recommend the motel? I give it 3/5, because the owner is so friendly, but for the room I give only 2/5 and I should not recommend it. I should say, pay a little more and take another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liesenluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninnbillings, Guest Relations Manager at Western Inn Motel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, we definitely appreciate it! We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast tray provided, and our friendliness and hospitality as well! We are still in the process of remodeling and by next year we will be completely remodeled. We definitely hope you come and visit once we are completely remodeled! Thanks again! "Your Home Away From Home!"
Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We booked the Western Inn Motel based on the budget price and good reviews on TA - ordinarily we book mid-range chain hotels. I'm not sure why so many rave reviews are posted - the only really good thing we can say is that it was clean. We didn't find the owners overly friendly like so many seem to, just average or maybe even a bit below average. For the price we paid it was a place to sleep, but the negatives made us cancel our reservation for our return travel and pay a bit more for a better night sleep elsewhere. We got a good price because we booked well in advance - I would not pay more for this property.

Not impressed with the cancellation policy - most hotels have a rate that allows you to cancel up to 4:00 p.m. the day before your booking - here it's 3 full days or you pay for the night. Should weather or an emergency require cancellation later than that you're out of luck. For that reason I'd never book here during winter when weather can change drastically in 72 hours hours.

We knew this going in, but getting to/from the motel is tricky with all the one way streets - we managed it only once without driving around a few blocks and that time was a fluke. Not a fault of the motel, but people need to be aware of the tricky location.

Our biggest issue was that both mattress and box spring were encased in a plastic cover too large for them which made for a very uncomfortable night of wrinkles, ridges, crackling noise with every move and retained body heat. I understand the sanitary issue for this, but most hotels use a fabric mattress pad not plastic. If we could have we'd have removed them during our stay.

The breakfast left a lot to be desired, We weren't expecting more than the usual included continental breakfast. There are two tables seating 6 people total in the lobby. Other than corn flakes the cereals offered were mostly sugary kid-type. Coffee was tasteless. Pastries were run-of-the-mill for hotel breakfasts. Juices and milk were in original containers and kept in the fridge holding beverages for sale.Another issue for us was the milk used is UHT milk and tastes like evaporated milk. Never have had that issue at any mid-price hotel. The feeling we had re: breakfast was that they have to do it to compete and little effort or pride is put into it.

I understand the security issue and do appreciate that the parking lot at the back of the building is well lit at night. However it does make for a well-lit room - possibly light blocking curtains should be considered?

I wouldn't stay here again nor would I recommend this motel to anyone without advising them of our negative findings, but if you're looking for something cheap(as long as you book early) and are willing to tolerate an uncomfortable bed, it works.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canadabeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninnbillings, General Manager at Western Inn Motel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate the many hours you took to give us your feedback. We are not a big, fancy, corporate owned hotel, but a small, family owned place. We also apalogize on behalf of the City of Billings concerning the tricky streets. Out of the thousands of satisfied guests, you are the first guest to be concerned about our breakfast. The pastries for breakfast are delivered from a local bakery, and the milk is local as well, we definitely take pride in our breakfast. There is also a breakfast host in the morning providing bagels, and fresh toast. One of our highest priorities are to please our guests, and make sure they are comfortable. We wish you would have told us about these concerns you had, and we would have been more than happy to help you. Thank you once again! "Your Home Away From Home!"
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Billings hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The motel surprised me because the outside did not look too welcoming, but it was remodeled and when I stepped in to my room I was shocked. There I was surrunded by a chic new mountain west look. It was comforting with a modern twist. The area was quiet and 2 minutes from downtown night life. I will definitely come stay here again on my next visit to Billings. Excellent hospitality and service. Five stars!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niodor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninnbillings, Guest Relations Manager at Western Inn Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this wonderful review, and all the great feedback! We appreciate it! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, and the service we provided! We definitely cant wait to see you again! Thanks once again! "Your Home Away From Home!"
Sincerely,
Sarah
Guest Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My Family and I arrived at this motel around 8pm. We checked in and were never asked for identification or my CC card, which was odd to us but we just let it go as we were sure they would ask at check out. We went up to our room to find that they were Full size beds not Queen like we had reserved. The room was very hot as the Air was not working, went to open the window to find an empty pop can in the window seal. Windows were a privacy glass so we couldn't see out the windows. We opened the window to see that there were no screens. (dangerous for children!) Pulled down one of the comforters to be greeted by a short black hair... When we decided we weren't going to stay here we were greeted by a very angry staff. Man said he would refund us our money but charge us for the time we used his facility to find somewhere else to stay. He then said it will cost you 84.00 for the 45 min we were in the room. He then proceeded to say that, how did he know we didn't bring the pop can up to the room. The man accused me of being racsist. My mom took David and his wife to show her the room and she wiped the hair off the pillow and remade the bed never changing the sheets or anything. To top off the ordeal. Come to find out this motel charged our credit card for the room 10 days prior to our arrival and it took them 7 days to refund our money. The saying you get what you pay for is definitly true for this motel. After My first review to trip advisor, David the owner called my mother and told her that he was going to charge her for the room because I had posted a review. David Charged my mothers CC card $240.27 for nothing. Please be very careful when leaving your CC info with this motel as you never know when they may decide to charge it for whatever they want and then DENY it! You cannot fake a bank statement!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WyoFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha,Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

All you need and within walking distance to City Center shopping and great food. Nice breakfast selection. Rooms have flat screen TV, coffee maker, micro wave and frige. The owners live on site and are so willing to help with any questions you may have. I would suggest this place to others looking for a fair market price with all the extra touches some other chains do not offer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jknopik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninnbillings, Guest Relations Manager at Western Inn Motel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this good review! We appreciate the time you took out of your day to give us your feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and all the great places near us! We do our best to provide our customers with what ever they need! Thank you once again, and we hope to see you back soon! "Your Home Away From Home!"
Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the western inn on September 7 the mgmt was very rude and the rooms were dirty and had bugs over the beds when we told the owners wife about them she told us it was a thread from the blanket or dirt she was very rude about the situation and when we called the owner about a refund the owner told us to [--] Off and hung up the phone I would never advise anyone to stay here and mgmt needs to work on providing a cleaner atmosphere for their customers

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Thehutz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#38 of 51 in Billings
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dude Rancher Lodge
Dude Rancher Lodge
#33 of 51 in Billings
289 reviews
2.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Billings - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
#26 of 51 in Billings
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riversage Billings Inn
Riversage Billings Inn
#13 of 51 in Billings
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn Motel

Property: Western Inn Motel
Address: 3311 2nd Ave N, Billings, MT 59101-2006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Western Inn Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ATTENTION: WE ARE CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR REMODELING. WE WILL UPDATE THIS DESCRIPTION WHEN ALL RENOVATIONS ARE DONE. Sorry for any inconveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Western Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing