We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Skip this place!”
Reviewed September 28, 2009

The reviews for this hotel sounded good so we booked this on our way to Yellowstone. I don't know where the friendly and helpful employees have gone, but they were not there the evening and morning we were. They charged us $15 more for booking through AAA, had a sign on the counter to remove everything from the car because there was a possibility of car break-ins, and had limited vision of the hotel sign which made it difficult to locate. The refrigerator, microwave and closet area looked good, but the TV and phone were antiquated and the room looked dingy even if it was clean. The breakfast was far below par with very limited seating. Skip this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OklahomaEliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himanagerBillings, General Manager at Hilltop Inn by Riversage, responded to this review, October 9, 2009
I have had 2 very nice conversations with this guest since she left the Hilltop Inn. I would like to address a few of her concerns.
The reason we could not lower her rate was due to the fact she was at a commissionable rate.
As far as the sign at the front desk concerning car break-ins, the hotel at this time has had no break-ins. We like to remind everyone not to have any valuables left in their car to try to prevent any car break ins. Like any other city, Billings has had a fair amount of car break-ins and at the Hilltop Inn we do try to protect our guests and give them a friendly reminder to remove items from their car.
We take comments very serious at the Hilltop Inn and try to provide exceptional service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    47
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
30
34
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
missoula, mt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel several times while in Billings and NOT once have I had any problems with smoke, in fact it's a no smoking facility. I have serious issues w/ smoking/smokers and NEVER have had an issue while staying there. The hospitality at this hotel is by far one of the very few that they really care about their customers. The continental breakfast was awesome too!! I would recommend this to anyone and I can promise you will enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridger
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

I frequently stay with the fine folks at the Hilltop (about once a week or more for the last 5-6 years). This place is almost a second home for me. It is within a short walking distance to both hospitals, other medical specialities and a very short ride to and from the airport (which the staff will arrange for you if you need a ride). A couple of the things I enjoy is the lack of a TV blaring away in the lobby and the frehly popped popcorn in the afternoon. It has a very calming, quiet atmosphere about it , however it is occasionaly broken by helicopters responding to and from both hospitals, but that noise factor can be said of all the hotels in the area. I find the rooms comfortable and clean. I have yet to hear loud noises from adjoining rooms or the hallways. I can safely say that it is a good place to hang your hat for the night.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank BB_of_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

I have the great pleasure of staying at this hotel every week, sometimes for two or three days weekly. I am on call at the nearby hospital and stay here when I am on call. I am able to always get a reservation at a very good rate, the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and mostly it is very quiet. I can work all night and still be able to sleep during the day without being disturbed. I can also walk here in the middle of the night and feel safe. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone travelling here and to anyone, especially our patients and their families. It is very accomodating to persons staying at the hospital or for families with loved ones in the hospital. Besides, they have nice floweres and a fireplace for those cold Montana evenings!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank scrubs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
135 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

The Hilltop Inn is located next to a hospital and there's something about the place that feels medical. It's target clientèle obviously is the family members of people who are hospitalized and the room was furnished for extended stays (small refrigerator, small round table for dining, recliner).

The continental breakfast was below average - not many choices and crowded seating.

It was a bit difficult to find the property, the street was torn up on 1 side of the block and because it was next to several medical buildings, including the hospital, it was not easy to see the hotel building.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MspTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

I had to come up to Billings to vist some family that ended up in the hospital. It was a very hard time for me but the staff at the Hilltop were so sweet it made the stay so much nicer. It was also very nice that I was able to walk to the hospital anytime I needed. The rooms were very clean and everyone was willing to help any way they could. Hopefully next time I make it to Billings it will be for a better reason, but whatever the reason I will be comeing back to the hilltop

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Madisonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Close to airport and downtown. Clean, quiet, some rooms with microwave and refrigerator. Welcoming staff. Pet friendly. Work out room on first floor. I stay here every time I'm in town.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank ZPOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.3 mi away
Riversage Billings Inn
Riversage Billings Inn
#20 of 51 in Billings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Billings
2.8 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#6 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
My Place Hotel-Billings, MT
0.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Billings
1.9 mi away
Boothill Inn & Suites
Boothill Inn & Suites
#2 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Inn by Riversage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn by Riversage

Property: Hilltop Inn by Riversage
Address: 1116 N 28th St, Billings, MT 59101-0110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilltop Inn by Riversage 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilltop Inn by Riversage, Clean, Quiet, Friendly, Situated next to St. Vincent Healthcare, Close to Downtown, Shopping, Restaurants and Entertainment, Free Breakfast, Pet Friendly, Affordable Lodging, Free Wi-Fi, In-room Microwaves & Refrigerators, Irons & Board, Hair Driers, Individually controlled HVAC, Completely Non-Smoking Facility, Just 5 minutes from airport, Room service meals available from the hospital, delivered to the patient's hotel room, for a charge. Less than 5 minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilltop Inn by Riversage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel Billings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing