We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, scanky waitresses”
Review of Ciao Mambo

Ciao Mambo
Ranked #15 of 342 Restaurants in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: With creative twists on classic recipes there is something for everyone in the family. It's Italian Nachos, Minestrone, Lasagne, Tiramisu, Chianti, Frank Sinatra, Great Fun, Wonderful Service and a whole lot more... Ciao Mambo atmosphere works just as well for romantic couples as it does for a cozy table of family, friends and children too. At Mambo's, we serve up immigrant style Italian cuisine in a happening family ambiance. Our pasta dishes with rich, savory sauces and fresh ingredients, thin crust pizzas baked to perfection, and unmatchable service will keep you coming back for more. Bring your friends, family and appetite for fun, and we'll handle the rest.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food, scanky waitresses”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The food is decent but the waitresses are dressed like street walkers, which makes it uncomfortable to take younger or aged family members.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank janadian3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    36
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A place to feel special”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Ciao Mambo's is probably the number 1 place in all of Billings that I recommend people go to if they are in town. The prices are great and the menu is fantastic. Every choice on the menu is great. Black granite counter tops, table cloths and you can watch the cooks build a masterpiece behind the counter.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billings
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“best overall”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This restaurant is great! They have an amazing atmosphere, nice art and decor. The wine is good, the motza balls are great! They have wood grilled pizza, and evrything on the menu is great. The service has always been good as well. I recomend reservations if they take them, it can be a wait. Nice italian food, good date spot, and a great value!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Their food is why we come back!”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We have eaten here on three separate occasions. The first time we visited, they were very busy, but there was an open seat in the bar area. They have tables in the bar area so it was completely fine with us to sit and eat there. We had a wonderful experience! There is only one bartender so the service can be a little slow, but she was very helpful and accommodating! Our meals were incredible! It was a birthday celebration so we also got a dessert. We ordered the pistachio ice cream filled cannolis. Absolutely delicious!
We visited Ciao Mambo and two more occasions and every time we have visited, we have been very happy with our meals. The only thing we would suggest they improve on is their wait staff. Our servers seem to be very forgetful and not genuine. One of our servers had too much cleavage in my opinion (I am sure it helps with tips on tables with just men, but I felt it was a bit inappropriate for the restaurant to allow her to have that much showing - I would hate for her to burn herself!) We had to ask her to bring us a forgotten item more than once. Our other server, while fully clothed, had too many table for her to keep track of and she would say that she was bringing us something, and completely forget...more than once.
As for the food, I high recommend the Chicken Parmesan. They do an amazing job! Anything that comes with ricotta cheese on it has also been very good! The cannoli and the tiramisu were great desserts, but the zeppolis (little donuts) looked fun, but were not as good tasting as they looked.
I would definitely say this place is worth the trip! Enjoy the food and hopefully you get better servers than we have had.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VickiandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Amazing food, atmosphere, and service. Our group had a wonderful night. Thank you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Billings1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Mambo also viewed

 
Billings, MT
 

Been to Ciao Mambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing