We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Piece of Montana history” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boot Hill Cemetery

Boot Hill Cemetery
Ranked #22 of 63 things to do in Billings
Attraction details
Kingwood, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Piece of Montana history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Fortunately Boot Hill cemetery was across the street from my hotel or I might not have found it, but I look up and saw the marker that I recognized from TripAdvisor. History is always interesting and so was Boothill Cemetery, will only take a few minutes of your time, but worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    13
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,404 reviews
865 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
“Hard to Find !!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Like others we got bamboozled by the directions & lack of adequate signage. But as part of the Scenic Overlook and Swords Park we finally got there and it was interesting. The best feature was the great view down onto Billings MT. Learnt about Yellowstone Kelly but thought his Grave was a bit tawdry & tacky and not a good site! He appears to have been forgotten by the City Fathers ? The Cemetery had a bit of history to it and was worth the stop after about 4 wrong turns, u-turns & several cuss words !!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boot Hill unseen”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Would have liked to have seen Boot Hill. Directions were wrong & we ended up half way to Hardin. Boot Hill is by the fair grounds. We learned that from a native.

Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I concur with the other reviews other than there is additional parking across the street. Take a hike up the hill to the Rims and get a great view of the city while you're there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Just Off Airport Road”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This site is on a narrow strip of land adjacent to Airport Road. As I recall there is a marker telling the story of Boot Hill Cemetery. It's so rocky there it's hard to believe it was ever a cemetery!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boot Hill Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Boot Hill Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing