We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Pryor Mountains

Ranked #18 of 63 things to do in Billings
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located south of Billings, these mountains boast beautiful vistas, spectacular canyons and high mountain meadows for hiking, camping and hunting.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was really following Indian Wars battles from Sheridan but one day my guide asked if I'd like to see wild mustangs. Would I? Of course! I know there is a big push to try and save wild mustanges in the south of the country, but these ponies up here in the Prior Mountains were just wonderful. We got close enough to see the stripes on their legs. And when you hear about how they are descended from the Crow and Cheyenne pony herds you get a different view of special history.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank SanGeorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wild Horses”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It was a wonderful trip, we used Fun Montana Adventures to book it. Max was a guide extraordinaire, and his son was wonderful too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OhtheplacesPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greybull, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you are looking for a remote, off the beaten path place to relax and get away from the crowds, then look no further. Access is rugged and 4wd is highly recommended. The slow going in is worth every minute.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place in nearly pristine state”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

You won't find many tourists here (and not many tourist amenities), but that's what makes this out-of-the-way place so great. If you're lucky you'll see the wild horses.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank EcoArtTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Only saw 3 wild horses”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I know they are free to roam and you just never know. There were some pretty views out there, but don't go out of your way to visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank melt774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pryor Mountains also viewed

 

Been to Pryor Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing