We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howe’s Fishing – A Able/Mo Fisch Charters and Tours
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Big Rainbow expedition

I have been fishing with Howe's many times over the years. A lot on Flathead Lake, pursuing Lake... read more

Reviewed October 25, 2018
Montlake33
,
Lakeside, Montana
Great time! Excellent guide!!

I've fished with a lot of guides in my lifetime, Cameron with Howe Fishing Charters is one of the... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2018
Timber K
via mobile
Read all 102 reviews
  
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
102
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain chris lake trout fish wild horse island great trip great captain half day trip perch large lake an amazing experience knew where his knowledge highly recommend this charter successful trip a wonderful job an amazing guide teenage boys
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 102 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Captain Matt was great. Great conversation and personality. He’s a keeper, wouldn’t throw him back. Ha ha!Lots of action on the lake.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Jborq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Owner at Howe’s Fishing – A Able/Mo Fisch Charters and Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Thanks for the review, and you are absolutely right, a bona fide keeper! Glad we could keep you up and out of your seat fighting fish!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

Our guide hooked it and handed to pole to me. I actually managed to reel in the 21 pound, 6 ounce, 37 inch lake trout.

It was hooked while jigging for white fish with a five foot pole/8 pound test line. What a fight!!! Amazing that the pole or line did not snap!

Big thanks to our guide Matt!!!

So fun!!!
And yes, we are having it mounted!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Darla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Owner at Howe’s Fishing – A Able/Mo Fisch Charters and Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

That is so awesome Darla, what a huge fish that was, and certainly on the tackle it bit. Great memories and a forever keeper! We llok forward to getting you out on a bigger one next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

On August 28, 2018, we fished for 5 hours with our guide, Cameron Hockett. He was courteous, patient, & encouraged taking pictures. When the water got too rough, he took us to a calmer place, & we still caught fish. He put out several lines at a time, watched the fish-finder, & knew what was happening under the water. We hooked 18 fish; a few escaped the hook before landing, but we were very successful, due to his knowledge of the lake & it's contents. He kept the boat clean & did a good job of preparing the fish for us to take home. Cameron was attentive to our needs & made our time on the lake fun & productive. I would recommend Howe's Fishing for anyone, regardless of age.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank coppercoin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeH6895, Owner at Howe’s Fishing – A Able/Mo Fisch Charters and Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Thanks so much for coming out fishing, and for the great review. I also very much appreciate your return/repeat business and your confidence in us to provide you the finest charter fishing in Montana! 18 fish in a half day fishing trip, with conditions like you experienced shows that we never give up, or let a little wind stop us from putting fish in the net! Hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Great day fishing on Flathead! Caught lots of fish and had a great time bonding. The guide was great! Will definitely do this again!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank mindi_payne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Owner at Howe’s Fishing – A Able/Mo Fisch Charters and Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thank you Mindi! We appreciate you coming out with us, and for posting this review. We hope to see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

We had an awesome day with Capt. Matt McComb out of Lakeside. He is incredibly knowledgeable and his boat is filled with technology....he was looking at 3 screens simultaneously to find fish. We caught about a dozen Lake Trout, including the 35 inch, 21 pound pictured below. We also appreciated that he encouraged us to keep only the fish that we planned to eat, and made sure that the 35 inch fish had a good re-entry, as he said it contained 350,000 eggs that would hatch in a month.
I have been coming to Flathead Lake for 35 years, and this was my first fishing trip on the Lake. I will definitely book each year in the future, including every time we have guests that visit.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Relax744428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Owner at Howe’s Fishing – A Able/Mo Fisch Charters and Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thanks for the review Matt, and for choosing Howe's Fishing for your first fishing adventure on Flathead Lake! Think we might have added a couple zeros on the egg count, but the science behind the releasing of the fish is sound. While the lake is being managed for two different objectives, one is to maintain a good sport fishery, and by releasing those 30"-36" "slot fish", we are hoping that fish will grow to a ripe old age and give you a shot at a state record in another 10 or so years. Plenty of small ones to eat as you also discovered! Looking forward to seeing you again next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews