We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines Day Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bigfork Mountain Lake Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Bigfork B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I surprised my wife with a weekend stay at this wonderful location. We had been here once before, in the summer, and loved it. This trip, right before Valentines Day, was a surprise to my wife and I combined it with a business trip in Missoula.

The room we had was HUGE and brought big smiles to our faces from the moment we entered the room. A wonderful fireplace (needs a bearskin rug..haha). VIEW was AWESOME! Looked over the courtyard and into the lake. We enjoyed the spa the following morning, even though it snowed. What a great experience!

One of the things I like the best about this lodge, is that there is both a Pub and a Nice Restaurant on site! I dont get to drink when we go out for dinner as I am the driver. However, here I could. Try the Long Island Ice Teas...they are KILLER! Meal at the pub our first night was good and reasonably priced. We had the Prime Rib Sunday Buffet the next morning, and could barely move afterwards. It was SOOO good! My only recommendation, is that if you stay for the Sunday Brunch, stay another night so you don't have to drive with a full belly! I would have rather had a nice nap and another jaunt in the spa!

You cannot imagine how difficult it is to surprise your wife after 26 years, and this lodge delivered! THANKS!

Room Tip: Top Floor Room had the BEST View! I think it was in the 300 series, but they will help you pick it...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Bigfork Mountain Lake Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 130 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

I want to add a note on my experience with my boyfriend. First of all, our stay was excellent. Before going however, I happened to read two or three posts on here (out of 30, so not many) that gave a less than favorable rating...yet the majority were great reviews. Nevertheless I was somewhat skeptical from the couple of negative reviews I read. I was very happy to find the lodge was beautiful, clean, and had really great views. I'm a fairly picky person when it comes to cleanliness in a hotel room and our Ponderosa room (this one is dog friendly) was spotless, attractive, and even provided a really nice dog bed. We had a great kitchen, cozy fireplace, the best view of the lake amongst all the rooms since we were highest up on the third floor...the bed was extremely comfortable, and the bathroom (sink inside and outside bathroom) was just right. We had a lot of privacy (although winter is definitely a down-time for Flathead lake travel) which made for a super romantic and relaxed stay. While not right on the lake the place has commanding views of the mountains and lake both. The hot tub did not disappoint and was perfectly warm...we had a good soak. The little bar/restaurant named Rileys had alright food (good enough) for dinner...and our waitress was one of the nicest people we'd had waiting on us in years. She was so sweet. The morning was great because we had signed up for the brunch special that came with the room and was well worth it. The brunch was a complete feast- anything you could want was there including bottomless mimosas and great coffee. Our servers were top-notch. We stayed extra long to take advantage of the brunch, and accidentally overstayed the 11 AM checkout time. No problem- the front desk was more than kind and did not make us feel unwelcome. Overall- I highly recommend this place as a comfortable, pretty, sweet getaway with good value. They could update their curtains and bedspread just to improve the sleek look of the place- but other than that it was totally clean, and we were so happy. Thanks!

Room Tip: Try 3rd floor, best views of all!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We have been going to Mtn Lake Lodge for several years and have never had any of the poor experiences listed in the reviews. We just got back from the "Riley's special"--a great room (with gas fireplace, which we love!) and $25 voucher for Riley's Pub, which is on the property. The staff was friendly--and especially fun at Rileys. Next time we go, I will request a room that has the large walk in shower--we have always gotten that, and were surprised this time to just have a regular shower. There is an outside hot tub, but I just don't enjoy the walk back to the room in January! We have in the past gotten the Sunday brunch offered, which is good too. Clean room, great bed, nice accommodations, and a great winter get-away. (Fun in the summer too--my son really enjoyed the putting green on the property. And the infinity pool and view is amazing! )

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the walk in shower.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a charming lake lodge in Bigfork for a 3 night getaway, pet friendly. We were attracted by pictures of the lodge, two conversations with the front desk detailing amenities and booked the room on an attractive off season rate. On arrival after a 14 hour drive, we couldn't have been more shocked by the furnishings, or lack there of in the room. Literally, the room appeared to have been stripped bare. No end tables next to the sofa or reading lamps, extremely basic, low end bathroom, not even the barest of decoration or charm. The bed had a thin foam rubber style blanket covered by a tired bedspread. This property needs to hire a decorator to upgrade the property if it wants to command the high per room rates in the area. We were so disappointed we checked out the next morning and rebooked at lovely cabins in Whitefish.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Champagne-Powdergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigfokMtnLakeLodg, General Manager at Bigfork Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Room advertised as:

Ponderosa - KING EXECUTIVE one bedroom suite located on the upper level with a separate bedroom featuring a king bed and a living room with a queen sofa sleeper, gas fireplace, wet bar and large deck for enjoying the expansive views of Flathead Lake.

$129 Special for a One Night Stay in a Spacious Fireplace Suite and a $25 food/beverage voucher to Riley’s Pub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Mountain Lake Lodge was amazing! The people were friendly, the rooms were clean, and the amenities were great. It was also nice being next door to a convenience store. In Montana, it seems to take forever to get anywhere so it was nice to be able to run next door for drinks and snacks. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LKStremple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Too bad we were booked in for only one night. The place was gorgeous. Well appointed rooms and manicured grounds. Beautiful setting for the pool and hot tub. Staff at the pub looked after our needs. Family friendly accomodations without a doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rob o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stop between Glacier and Missoula...and it was a good idea since we have been stopped for 3 hours on iceberg lake trail cause of bears and so the trip to Missoula should have been too long...
The lodge even if entrance is on the road is very quiet as rooms rae face to lake and the garden.
They are large, with very large bathrooms.
Amenity are perfect, the poll of good size and open from 7am to 11pm.
Nights here are quiet and plenty of dreams.
We'll be back for more .
Bigfork has nice resaurants.
only complain is about breakfast : use the local products and it will be perfect. Thre are berries, cherries,local fish ansd it would be better than melon, strawberry, industrial granola,....

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice....
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Monpetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bigfork
4.1 mi away
Marina Cay Resort and Conference Center
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
22.0 mi away
KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
0.3 mi away
Flathead Lake Resort
Flathead Lake Resort
#5 of 9 in Bigfork
23 reviews
0.7 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#4 of 9 in Bigfork
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bigfork Mountain Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bigfork Mountain Lake Lodge

Address: 14735 Sylvan Dr, Bigfork, MT 59911-8422
Location: United States > Montana > Bigfork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bigfork
Price Range: $146 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bigfork Mountain Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Lake Lodge offers 30 fireplace suites with spectacular views of Flathead Lake. Located 5 miles south of Bigfork, MT. Outdoor infinity pool and hot tubs. Shaffer's Restaurant for dinner, and Sunday brunch. Riley's Pub and Sports Bar - wood-fired pizza, burgers, sandwiches and microbrews. Group Events - function space available! Special winter getaway packages - available October 1st - April 30th. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Bigfork Mountain Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bigfork Mountain Lake Hotel Bigfork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing