We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our room was so gross we could not eat here.”
Review of Swan River Inn

Swan River Inn
Ranked #42 of 55 Restaurants in Bigfork
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our room was so gross we could not eat here.”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were so disapointed in the room that we were not going to eat any meals here. I would not advise anyone coming near this place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    5
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ronan Montana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The lunches , served with a European flair, have been consistantly good.

Helpful?
Thank plink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Menu choices limited”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Menu choices are limitedand sporadic, we have tried this place several times and each time they were always out of something. The service is not up to par with other restaurants in town.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, MT
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not Bad, Reminded Me Of Country Club Food”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We were looking for something casual on the water while on our way to Kalispell. It was Friday night and the top-rated restaurants all seemed too upscale and/or busy for what we were looking for. Swan River looked fairly casual from the outside and not too packed so we wandered in.

We immediately realized that we had missed the "casual" mark we were looking for but were welcomed all the same. There was a private party arriving about the same time which seemed to be coming from a golf outing.
Service was enthusiastic, attentive and genuine. Food was a solid "good". My wife's lamb rack was nicely done if a little over-herbed, though I never understand why you'd roast a rack whole, then cut it into chops for presentation. Seems to defeat the purpose of rack of lamb.

Stuffed pork chop was 86'd (sounds like a chronic problem here), so I went with the pork tenderloin. A little over done, a little over seasoned, but generally good.

French onion soup was very tasty but presentation was laughable. Soup in bowl, slice of bread floated with slice of cheese laid on top and served. Caesar salad was excellent.

All in all, food was good, but not exactly cutting edge and it seemed like they were trying just a little too hard in the kitchen. There's better for the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank docbigsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE with a view...”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We just went to eat at the Swan River Inn and our experience was horrible. Things went bad from the very beginning starting with serving us the wrong drinks, then waiting an hour and a half to get our food, ounce the food arrived it was way over cooked. So we decided to grab the owner to let her know about our experience this evening, and her response was that were being nit-picky, and she had excuses and she then grabbed the waitress that served us and threw her under the bus! We have been here quite a few times, and will probably never go back because of this experience. Its too bad because they have a great view, but terrible food and lack CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelin_da_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan River Inn also viewed

 

Been to Swan River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing