We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great "High End" food and service and "casually formal" atmosphere.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Saloon

Grand Hotel Saloon
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Big Timber
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great "High End" food and service and "casually formal" atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We drive a ways to dine and drink here with friends time to time from Bozeman, or if we are at a nearby RV park for the weekend. Great food and drinks (ample servings too!) but priced on the higher side for Montana small town fare. Menu has a good variety. Comfortable and friendly place. We recommend it! I do not recall outdoor seating, but we usually are there after dusk, so not sure I have asked.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    22
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
170 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Loved the old west feel of the dining room .
A bit expensive for dinner but steaks were very good as was their local beer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cruisesinc92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Timber, Montana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great dining in the bar or restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lucky for Big Timber to have a high quality restaurant/bar in such a small town. We like the bar atmosphere, a menu offering something for every palate and EXCELLENT local beef and speciality fish items daily. You can count on seasonal fresh menu items too. The restaurant also features an affordable and excellent Sunday brunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mtinnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Montana!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Delicious dinner- pork shank and buffalo tenderloin-great service, zippy spinach salad. Lucky choice!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Montana Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

we travel to Montana/Wyoming every few years and just had one of our best meals ever. The Grand Hotel is an 1890 building that still functions as a B&B and has the same menu in the bar or more formal - but not NY Formal! - dining room. For appetizers: Scallops wrapped in shrimp - beautifully done and Zuccini blossom stuffed with goat cheese and fried on a bed of fresh mozzarella, heirloom tomatoes, and reduced balsamic....entre: pork shank with a cherry glaze and meaty fried shrimp....various vegetables all done well.....large wine list, delicious chocolate dessert
Price: not cheap, but worth every penny
Lovely waitress

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frezman321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Hotel Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Grand Hotel Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing