We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Find”
Review of Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Timber
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Big Timber B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed at the Grand Hotel on the last night on our tour de Montana. We've stayed at a number of historic inns in the west and the Grand ranks up there in comfortable, friendly and beautifully restored properties. We selected the hotel in part for its afordabilty and were pleasently surprised with the excellent service, comfortable rooms and great dining options (try the Trout Lips ale!).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsara11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 108 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2008

stayed in the small room w/full bath. yes it's small but very comfortable and well appointed. hotel and room are decorated with historic photos and tasteful artwork. breakfast is hearty and included; starts a bit late tho (8am). big timber itself has apparently a lot of artists; the galleries in town are interesting to check out.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank seamountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

The room was spacious, but dirty. Hair in the shower and trash in the wastebaskets. There was even leftover food in the fridge (we rented the apt.). Additionally, it was very hot with only a tiny window air conditioner that could not keep up. I don't expect air conditioning in an historic inn, but a fan would have been nice. We stayed there because we had stopped for lunch the previous year and had a great meal, as well as being impressed by the dining room decor and cleanliness. However, this time dinner was only edible, not outstanding, and the pristine condition of the dining room is in sharp contrast to the tacky, dirty rooms upstairs. The complimentary breakfast was an insult! Burned bacon and hard cooked eggs swimming in grease, really disgusting by any standards. We were not asked if we ate bacon and eggs or given any choice, the greasy plates were plopped down in front of us without ceremony or courtesy. Overall, we recieved the impression that we were an obligation, not welcome guests. The Grand enjoys the distinction of being one of the few places to get a decent meal in the vicinity, but my advice to any traveler is to stop in for lunch and keep going down the road to Billings or Bozeman for lodging and an evening meal. That's exactly what we will do in the future.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank goatpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2006

I have stayed at the Grand Hotel in Big Timber on 3 occasions. The first time was about 9 years ago when travelling through the Rockies. What a place! The rooms were extremely comfortable and the restaurant & wine list - 5 star! You would be hard pressed to find a better restaurant anywhere. Two years later we made a point of arranging our fly drive trip through Big Timber so we could stay there again.... And again two years later. After dinner you can stay in the bar till the wee hours of the morning.

My only regret is that I haven't had the opportunity to go back. I am working on it and hope one day to return to one of the greatest finds in the USA!

  • Stayed: September 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USALadyinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Wulfdominique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 139 McLeod St, Big Timber, MT 59011-7600
Location: United States > Montana > Big Timber
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Big Timber
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic hotel with Victorian charm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing