We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Timber
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Big Timber B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Historic and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

A well preserved and updated facility. Some of the furniture in the room was well used but everything was clean and functional. The dining room was a wonderful experience (a little pricy) but a great place to eat. Walk around the downtown for a walk through history after your wonderful dinner. This is an excellent starting point for touring Yellowstone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbellin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    28
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
51
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Watford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

One night stop on way from Glacier to Yellowstone. We wanted to cross the Beartooth Highway so this wonderfully old fashioned hotel in the small town of Big Timber made for a great place to break the journey.

We "splurged" ($100) on one of the bigger rooms and found ourselves in a large suite complete with fridge and comfy settee. Great value and we only heard a couple of trains in the night so the bed must have been comfortable.

Amazing food as well considering we were in a tiny town. The chef Amy (who also cooked the tasty breakfast - included in the price) came round and made sure all was well. You could have mistaken her for a short order cook in a Manhattan diner but she cooked like an angel. Fine bar to boot with a wide range of beer and wine and to complete our Saturday, a trio of country musicians were entertaining locals and visitors alike in the small reception area.

The sort of place that you think has long disappeared but mercifully hasn't. We wanted to stay longer!

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are still very cheap. Room 10 at the back is really a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamhornets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Amazing place. Shared bathrooms no problem as there are so many one seems like your own! If you are there for more than a few days consider the apartment , more modern annexe at back but has own sitting room and kitchen etc. the restaurant and bar area is fantastic , with real cowboys in every night , you almost expect a shoot out! Also the food is so great you don't need to consider looking for elsewhere!
However so popular in the fishing season you need to book well in advance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We loved the hotel so much on our way to go backpacking that we booked a stay for after we were done camping as well. Don't think twice about the shared baths - its like staying at your friends' house with beautiful clawtooth antique bathtubs.

Make sure to eat dinner at the fab restaurant - we loved the house specialties of lamb (carved tableside nonetheless) and crepe flambe. Atmosphere in the bar is great. Hotel staff was incredibly friendly and very interesting to chat with and get to know.

Room Tip: #5 has a lot of character
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, TN
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

A little off the beaten path but enjoyed architecture and story of how the hotel is haunted. Rooms were clean but furnishings were a little worn. Rates are very affordable! It is considered a bed and breakfast so some rooms have shared baths. Jennifer at front desk will give you the available options.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nice simple hotel room but love the historic feel of an old building. Saloon was super for an afternoon beer & peanuts. Dinner on premises at restaurant was superb. Shared a knife tender filet and capped it with a terrific bottle of wine. Would return for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LanieSoldotna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulshear, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The Restaurant has great food and service!! The salmon and their poppyseed dressing was incredible.. We enjoyed every minute.. Loved the stories of films made right outside town.. Horse Whisperer.. And several more..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Celebrity-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Timber hotels
0.4 mi away
Big Timber River Valley Inn
Big Timber River Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Big Timber
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Big Timber
Super 8 Big Timber
#1 of 3 in Big Timber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 139 McLeod St, Big Timber, MT 59011-7600
Location: United States > Montana > Big Timber
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Big Timber
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic hotel with Victorian charm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing