We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Huntley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huntley Lodge
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place at a good price”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I were a little bit skeptical of the Huntley Lodge after reading some reviews, but decided it would be at least at the level of the place we stayed in West Yellowstone the previous night. As we headed onto the Big Sky resort property, we figured we'd done well with our blind booking (we booked via Hotwire).

We've had good and not great service experiences with using Hotwire. This was a good experience. The hotels are always at a certain level, but sometimes the staff seems to take a Hotwire booking personally. The desk staff at Huntley Lodge didn't care that we booked via Hotwire, they were helpful and courteous. Our room was nice (sometimes Hotwire and Priceline customers wind up in the least desirable rooms) and wasn't in a noisy location. We even learned that our room rate came with a complimentary breakfast for each of us in the restaurant.

The breakfast was a full-service menu, not a buffet. It wasn't the best meal we've had in our lives, but it was decent and better than the oatmeal we were going to eat in our room. Summer in Big Sky is not a busy time, so we had a really attentive server and were the only patrons in the restaurant for most of our meal.

Overall, it was a nice stay. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean, and everyone was nice. If we're in the area again, we'll go back to Huntley. Other reviewers mentioned noise levels - I can see how the busy ski season would be noisy. Since we were there at the end of the summer, things were very quiet.

Room Tip: Using Hotwire or Priceline will probably get you a double queen room instead of a single king, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    106
    77
    37
    14
See reviews for
65
46
9
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I had Fall meetings at the Big Sky Resort.
The location is beautiful. The front entrance was not easy for me to find; especially following the signs to the lodge parking area. The parking is a gravel lot down hill from the (still unseen) lodge. So I drive through and up to the entrance where I am quickly greeted by doormen. Check-in is swift and my reservation and room type are correct.
The room is of generous size but on the plain side. The bathroom shows a recent attempt at refubishing with ill fitting slate tile surround in a tub that feels as if it has had a recent liner and a shower head at a height of only 5 feet.
Beds are reasonably comfortable but the floors squeak badly. I was on the upper floor and I can't imagine what that creaking must have sounded like in the room below. You can hear people talking as they pass in the corridor outside the room and there is NO air conditioning.
The rest of the hotel is a little dark with the exception of the new conference center which is nice and bright.
If you're here in winter for the skiing it is conveniently located next to the slopes and AC will not be needed.
Any other time of year I can't see much value in staying here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheOtherChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOISE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Very pretty up here and quiet in the summer but lots to do if you like outdoors and adventure. Front desk and housekeeping are very helpful. Room was clean and pool and hot tubs are very nice. I was able to bring my dog and room was in a pet friendly location. The area, itself is high end (pricey) but the Huntly was one of the more reasonable options. Also, Huntly is rich in history dating ack to the early days of the resort. I worked here in the 1980's and it was fun to return. I will be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LORI N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying here at the Huntley. Nice place to stay:) We ask for a late checkout because we were there for a XC race and they gave us until 4 pm! The food was really good at whiskey jacks. Lots of options at the grocery store.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmontana5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We only had one day in Big Sky and stayed at the Huntley Lodge. Our room was spacious and nicely decorated. The staff was wonderful and went out of their way to make sure your stay was comfortable. The location is also great - right on the mountain and only a short drive down to the meadow, which offers more restaurants. My husband and I are hoping to get back for ski season and if we do, we'll be booking our stay at the Huntley Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPNagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
480 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a fan in our room and that was it. We moved it by the window since the low for the night was supposed to be in the 50's, but we were still hot. Other than that the hotel was lovely. The floors creaked significantly. We did eat in the bar at the hotel and had a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 46749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresher, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was accompanying a friend on a business trip to Big Sky. We stayed at the Huntley Lodge for three nights. The hotel lobby was nicely appointed and the room was large and comfortable.
My bed was really comfortable and I slept great each evening. The pool areas were clean and well situated. The only complaint I had was that the walls were thin and we heard noises from the adjoining room. Also the hair dryer was burned out but that happened on our last day so it was not a problem.
I treated myself to a trip to the a solace spa for a massage which was wonderful... I highly recommend the splurge if you can swing it. All in all a good experience.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellevets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
234 reviews
7.8 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
4.7 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
115 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lone Mountain Ranch
Lone Mountain Ranch
#3 of 13 in Big Sky
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Lodge

Property: Huntley Lodge
Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Rd., Big Sky, MT 59716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huntley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Big Sky's Mountain Village, this three-story hotel was part of the late NBC News broadcaster Chet Huntley's original vision for Big Sky Resort. It is as tasteful as it is convenient: the Explorer Lift is just out the back door. Under the same roof are concierge, dining, shopping, ski storage, meeting rooms, and spa. The Huntley Lodge features Boyne Beds and flat panel televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huntley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntley Hotel Big Sky
Huntley Lodge Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing