We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper-thin walls - hear every footstep & conversation”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Huntley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huntley Lodge
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paper-thin walls - hear every footstep & conversation”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This summertime stay would have been heavenly except for the fact that I had neighbors in the hotel. I could hear every word and footstep in 3D, whether the guest was next to me or above me....If you're the one making the noise, it won't bother you. If you're trying to sleep, I guarantee you won't get any.

If the design team cared so little, why didn't they just throw up a sheet between rooms? At least then they would have avoided pretense.

I was travelling with a dog, which placed me in a specific wing which was inspected a moment before I was allowed to check in.

When I opened my room door for the first time, it looked like someone had sat down on one of the beds. Granted, this doesn't much matter but I irrationally walk into hotel rooms and hope they look like no one has ever stayed there before. I was irrationally disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maternitymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    106
    77
    37
    14
See reviews for
65
46
9
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Craig
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Friendly staff, great food, excellent wine/beer selection, comfy bed and nice rooms

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckaep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stay at the Huntley Lodge or many of the other properties available. Summer time fun includes rafting, biking, hiking, or relaxing. Stayed in a very spacious Huntley Lodge condo with full kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SassyRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
174 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

If you want beautiful scenery close to lots of summer activities, Huntley Lodge can fill that need. However, when room rates were $269 + approximately $46 in room fees and taxes per night--I was a bit surprised at what we got for our money. I've stayed in a lot of hotels, and I don't squack at the cost of the room if I feel that it is worth it, but I seriously think that this room would have been overpriced at $120/nt. The reception area was beautiful and inviting, but once you headed to the guest rooms, it was like walking into another era. The hallway was just that--a hallway--nothing to make you feel welcome as you were walking to your room. It almost had an institutional feel.

The walls were so thin that when the room neighbor took a shower, I thought someone from my family was up really early showering in our room. We heard several conversations that were going on in the adjacent rooms. The "wet-bar" that is in the room seems like nothing more than the additional sink area in the room where they cut down part of the wall to open it to the rest of the room--a bad attempt at making the room look larger. The counter space for the "wet-bar" was non-existant. The fridge was a dorm-sized applicance that did not hold much of anything. I will say, however, that the fridge did keep the soda cans cold. The beds and pillows were comfortable, and there were extra pillows and blankets int he room for each bed.
The girl that checked us in didn't give us a good explanation of the facilities, so we weren't sure whether or not admission to the healthclub was included in the room rate or if there was an additionall cost. We never got that figured out. My key to the outdoor pools did not work, and I gave up on a swim--taking to the mountain instead for a vigoruous hike. The golf course was in great shape, and the views of Lone Mountain were spectacular.
There are options for dining, but be aware that they close early. We ate at Whiskey Jacks and had probably the worst burgers we have ever tasted. I can't even describe the flavor other than it tasted nothing like beef. The service was wonderful, however!
The doorman at the Huntley Lodge was so friendly and cheerful--made us feel welcome from arrival until we departed.
Parking is not close to the hotel, and I can imagine that during ski season it is a real fun adventure finding a spot to park with all the day skiiers in the area. There is a tunnel from a parking area to the front door of the hotel, but there is no elevator. Difficult to carry luggage up.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wewannagoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here for a business meeting. The resort overall is great - the skiing looks like it would be fantastic and there were a wide array of seasonal activities available including ziplining and river rafting that I would have loved to have tried. Staff were friendly and helpful. Lobby spaces and other public spaces were very nice. The room I was in was a bit run down and could use a facelift, and the heater in the room (yes I needed a heater in June) was creaky and loud and made it a bit hard to sleep. Would love to come back sometime with the kids and do a family vacation, and maybe request a renovated room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerinva801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Very close to skiing/village, nice pool, nice fireplace in lobby, and good free breakfasts were the pros.

But on the flip side...

Room was dirty. Carpet looked like it had not been cleaned in some time.

Hotel is noisy. Floors squeak, irritating at night. Plus you could hear neighbors.

Furniture is old.

No ski lockers, just a high-traffic storage room for equipment that did not seem safe. Attendant not really supervising it.

Parking is a bit of a walk in public lots for the ski hills.

Would not recommend this hotel. It is dingy. Spend a little more and stay elsewhere in the ski village if you want to ski Big Sky and thoroughly enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkgoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Sky hotels

Big Timber, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Beautiful common areas and reception, however room was lacking. Room was below expectations...electric baseboard heat was touchy, walls were thin heard snoring in next room, paint chipping, and bed had stains on duvet (wine) and dust ruffle (blood). Location is excellent, easy walking distance to restaurants and ski hill.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at end of hallways, loud access doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbacklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
234 reviews
7.8 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
4.7 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
115 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lone Mountain Ranch
Lone Mountain Ranch
#3 of 13 in Big Sky
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Lodge

Property: Huntley Lodge
Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Rd., Big Sky, MT 59716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huntley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Big Sky's Mountain Village, this three-story hotel was part of the late NBC News broadcaster Chet Huntley's original vision for Big Sky Resort. It is as tasteful as it is convenient: the Explorer Lift is just out the back door. Under the same roof are concierge, dining, shopping, ski storage, meeting rooms, and spa. The Huntley Lodge features Boyne Beds and flat panel televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huntley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntley Hotel Big Sky
Huntley Lodge Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing