We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and basic, fit our needs just fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whitewater Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Whitewater Inn to your Saves list
Whitewater Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47214 Gallatin Rd, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Big Sky
Federalsburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and basic, fit our needs just fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed here a couple of years ago (August 2010) while I was taking my niece to visit Yellowstone. It's a hotel room, much like any other, nothing spectacular, but comfortable enough. Our room had a view of the parking lot, but at least I could keep an eye on our rental car and there was a side entrance that was more convenient than using the main entrance at times. The staff was friendly. We stayed during the summer hours, which is off-season for this snow sport based resort town, so our rates were pretty cheap (through Hot Wire). It is about an hour from the entrance to Yellowstone Park, so be prepared for that, but it is a beautiful drive at least! At the time I was there, I found the selection in the Continental breakfast to be sadly lacking. There were some muffins, but lacking in flavor and seemed purchased in bulk from a box store or something. But if you're reallly there to see the park like I was, these are but small details. I'm sort of a traveler of low standards. I prefer to save money on the room (as long as it's clean with a bed and hot water, I'm happy) and spend my money doing things instead. So, as I said, it met our needs just fine.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great hotel! We had a 3 queen room and loved it! Very large with lots of room to move around. The room had 2 air conditioners which was a good thing because the public areas of the hotel were quite warm. Great western decor, comfortable lobby and rooms. Kids loved the pool and slide. The housekeeping leaves a bit to be desired. Upon returning to our room after our first night, we had to ask for towels as housekeeping did not do our room. They did the next day. If you're in the area to visit Yellowstone, I'd think twice. While it's less than 50 miles to the west entrance of the park, it's a long drive, especially at night. We would stay here again if there weren't closer options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We were not able to get a reservation closer to or in Yellowstone, so we chose this hotel because it was on the way and said it had a pool with a tall waterslide. The hotel wasn't anything spectacular on the outside or it's surroundings, but the hotel was clean and the rooms were nice on the inside. The staff was nice and friendly and gave us a place that we could call to have pizza delivered to us (and plates, napkins, and forks), since there wasn't an on site restaurant or one walking distance or too close
by us.
What we really enjoyed was the pool, hot tub, and TALL, smooth water slide! It wasn't the generic 3-5 foot pool with hot tub and no slide like most chain hotels in which we stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillybeaninMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Well if you like camping indoors i would recommend this place for you. Our room got the half [--] clean job. I stepped in weed on the floor, we found a bracelet and a sock on the floor and the shower still had hair in it. The only bright side is the pool and there is a free bus up to big sky. I would say that it is worth it to spend a little extra money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam42190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Sky hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

This was our second stay there and it was great. Grandson loved the slide and pool. The water could have been a little bit warmer. Room was clean and there was enough variety for the breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RiverRose16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Checking in at the hotel was a nightmare. They couldn't find the reservation. They said they didn't have reservations, even after confirming the reservation personally. After calling the service I booked the room through, a miracle, they had a room. The girl at the counter was terrible.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Murphyb301069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The sheets had not been changed when we checked in. Unfortunately, it was late and I wasn't sure at first, so we slept on dirty sheets. We asked them to change the sheets the next morning, but they still didn't change the sheets! I could still see the same spots and hairs as before... I had to get one of the desk staff to come to my room the next night to change them.

Then, to top it off, we checked out one day early and they still charged me for the extra day. Even after all the trouble and unsanitary conditions. Unbelievable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snowwolf-JediMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
7.5 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 14 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 14 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
7.5 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#7 of 14 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
2.9 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#8 of 14 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
7.4 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#10 of 14 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitewater Inn

Address: 47214 Gallatin Rd, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is conveniently located on Highway 191 midway between Bozeman and West Yellowstone near the turn off to Big Sky, MT. Its family and dog friendly, with continental breakfast included. The Whitewater Inn on the banks of the Gallatin River is open year round within a few minutes' drive to local restaurants, and within 15 minutes of Big Sky Resort's Mountain Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Whitewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel Big Sky
Whitewater Inn Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing